Skip to content

Artist of the Week IV – The Final Standings

December 20, 2020
ArtistoftheweekIV

Exceptional Artist of the Week IV Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2020 Artists of the Week:

The CurePublic Enemy, Steely Dan, Taylor Swift, Venom, Chuck Berry, Dixie Chicks, Billy Idol, Randy Newman, Jay-Z, Alanis Morissette, Pulp, The Byrds, Love, Queen Latifah, Muddy Waters, Robbie Williams, Rage Against the Machine, The Cars, Janet Jackson, King Crimson, Arcade Fire, James Brown, Daft Punk, PJ Harvey, Soundgarden, Dave Matthews Band, Stephen Stills, New Order, The Wallflowers, Billie Holiday, Earth Wind & Fire, Nirvana, Nick Drake, The Guess Who, Norah Jones, Cat Stevens, Blur, Faith No More, The Carpenters, Marilyn Manson, Run DMC, The Clash, Van Morrison, Tracy Chapman, Grateful Dead, Barenaked Ladies, Huey Lewis and the News, Garth Brooks, weezer

.

My thanks to all who participated in the 2020 “Artist of the Week” quizzes.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified =w=eezer last week.

And without further adieu, the Final Standings:

.

.

And of course, the obligatory graphs/unnecessarily detailed statistical analysis:

.

.

.

.

.

.

Verbalize the Positive

Thank you all for participating, I’ve really enjoyed putting these together over the last 4 years!

From → Uncategorized

54 Comments
  1. I’m pretty dang happy with a Top 20 finish. The graphs are necessary when your around this part of the neighbourhood Geoff.
    Cheers pal thanks for putting a 53 year old mind to work every Sunday am!

    • My thanks, Deke – hope the holidays are off to a good start!

      • Yes they are. Keeping low and staying out of places. Last night though I went with Lex to Chapters and Staples in and out in both places in under 10 minutes

      • That’s the way to do it, Deke – and if we have to go out, we’re trying to shop at ridiculous times to avoid crowds. Did a 630pm Costco run yesterday, it was deserted, just the way I like it!

      • Exactly Geoff. Me and Lex were at Staples and Chapters at around 7pm. When we pulled into the parking lot I thought Staples was closed. Lex said no they are open we went in and it was just staff and 2 other customers. Chapters was a little busier but we knew what we needed to do!

      • Lex and the girls ‘gift giving guide’ just added a new chapter: not only What excellent gifts to buy but also When to buy them!

      • They should really write a book on how to keep there Dad happy and calm, lol

      • Which reminds me – I’ve been meaning to thank you and Mike, I invested in the kindle version of All My Favourite People are Broken.
        They’ve arrived at the cabin, so far so good!

      • That is awesome Geoff. I will let Brent know.

      • My thanks to you & Mike for letting me know about it – No Sleep til Sudbury/Madrid will likely be my next read!

      • Nice. Brent will appreciate the support.

  2. So this is the last one? My 100 for Venom early in the year made it pretty tough for me to come back this year.

  3. THREE CHEERS FOR AARON!! I saw he was responding recently, I didn’t expect that win from behind! Well done my friend.

  4. Geoff, in my silly brain I imagine a time in the not so distance future where a few of us will be making road trips and meeting others. Sarca and Kevin are not far from me — it has to happen eventually. Deke is coming down in a few summers and it would be a crime if he didn’t meet Aaron while we were on our way to Sausagefest in, say, 2024!

    • When it’s safe to do so, there’s nothing silly about those ideas – sign me up for all of the above!

  5. Still can’t catch that Sarca Sim. And I almost passed Deke! Maybe 2021 will be my year!

  6. I just missed the Top 20. Next year…Top 10!!! Hopefully someday, we can all have like a Blog Convention and meet up! That would be a fun weekend!!

  7. jprobichaud permalink

    Just outside the top ten. I’m going file with the Supreme Court to get some votes discounted.

  8. Just in the top 20, this may be my greatest achievement this year. This has become the weird highlight of my Saturday night on some level. Thanks for doing this.

    • Cheers, Neil – congrats on the Top 20 finish, the Wayne’s World viewings paid off!

      • I will be watching again over the holiday to fully prepare for next year.

  9. Stayed in the top twenty all year and finished 17 in my first full season. Really pleased with that. Thanks so much for hosting this and coming up with all those inventive clues you find. You make each Sunday a fun little challenge 🙂 Well played everyone.

  10. Those graphs and pie charts are awesome Geoff!

  11. I’d like to thank the Academy… 🙂 I’d like to thank Geoff for all of his hard work putting these together every week! I know I swooped in at the end, there, but I didn’t credit I’d win. I was just trying to get caught up!

  12. I WON THIS QUIZ. THIS IS FAKE NEWS AND I WILL BE INSTRUCTING MY ATTURNEE GENERIL TO LAUNCH LAWSUITS TO PROVE THAT I DID WIN IT!! Make quizzing great again, again.

  13. Harrison permalink

    I thought future spouse was the 6 for a second and got a little confused until I looked closer at the colours.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week V – Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment