Skip to content

Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #34

August 23, 2020

ArtistoftheweekIV

Exceptional Artist of the Week IV Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2020 Artists of the Week (so far):

The CurePublic Enemy, Steely Dan, Taylor Swift, Venom, Chuck Berry, Dixie Chicks, Billy Idol, Randy Newman, Jay-Z, Alanis Morissette, Pulp, The Byrds, Love, Queen Latifah, Muddy Waters, Robbie Williams, Rage Against the Machine, The Cars, Janet Jackson, King Crimson, Arcade Fire, James Brown, Daft Punk, PJ Harvey, Soundgarden, Dave Matthews Band, Stephen Stills, New Order, The Wallflowers, Billie Holiday, Earth Wind & Fire, Nirvana

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Nirvana last week.

The results after 33 weeks (as of Monday morning – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

after week 33

.

Ready for Quiz #34?

Time Has Told Me that yes, yes you are!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #34
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………English singer-songwriter, born June 19th, 1948 & died November 25th, 1974. All 3 of the albums released during his lifetime are on the 1001 list: Five Leaves Left (1969), Bryter Layter (1970)…

.

.

.

.

.

400 points…………………and (with the exception of a piano overdub on the title track) the entirely vocals + acoustic guitar Pink Moon (1972)

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………As per usual, the artist’s name is the solution to the photo puzzle below:

Untitled presentation (31)

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..What could possibly be more helpful than one puzzle clue?

Untitled presentation (32)

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is N____ D______

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: نيك دريك

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

What a hat trick of albums!

From → Uncategorized

70 Comments
  1. 500 – Time Has Told Me was enough, actually…

  2. 500 for Mika, 300 for me.

  3. 200.😔😔 But, New Girl reference!!!! One of my all time favourite shows!! You should definitely include them if you do a quiz or a review on Prince. Their reaction to meeting him for the first time was priceless.

    • Just rewatched that episode recently – I enjoyed when Prince insisted that Jess finish her pancakes!

      • I was a bit disappointed with Schmidt’s reaction, but Nick’s reaction is priceless!
        Did you know Prince did not want any Kardashians on the episode, so they literally had to get rid of them?

      • I had heard something about that – given that he was used to being writer/producer/arranger/performer/etc. on his music, I’m guessing he wasn’t the easiest person to collaborate with.
        I liked Nick’s dramatic pause while he was processing seeing Prince – and I must admit, I’ve started over-pronouncing words like Schmidt, like Youths!

      • Schmidt is the best!! “Chut-tuh-ney” kills me!! And Prank Sinatra’s great too!! I seem to be writing only exclamatory sentences, but I just love New Girl so much! Nearly as good as Friends, though not as many people watch it.

      • His pronunciation of Nick’s Cargo Pan-ts is right up there too!

      • I thought you may not have seen the theme song music video either. They had made it interactive, but I could never watch all the options (maybe it’s not available in my country). Nick’s dancing is the best thing ever. I also appreciated their Bollywood dance.

      • He plays a mean air guitar!
        I hadn’t seen that before, fun!

      • Have you seen Schmidt’s dating profile?

      • You can just imagine how many dollars went into the douchebag jar once he made the gang watch this!

      • haha, the jar would be overflowing!

  4. Zack permalink

    Gonna have to go with 100. I can’t believe I didn’t know the name of a male duck 😳.

  5. 200 for me. Don’t know him and never really watched New Girl.

  6. 200 ugh…
    Oh well there’s always next Sunday.

  7. jprobichaud permalink

    500 for me. Love his stuff. And love that I learn stuff while playing your quizzes. Never knew the name for a male duck!

    • Cheers, JP – you never know when such seemingly extraneous knowledge may come in handy!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Truer words were never typed

  8. Oof. 200 for me. Never heard of this person, blanked on the name of a male duck, never seen New Girl.

  9. 200. I don’t recognize the name at all.

  10. I was working at the Record Store in 2001 when I first heard of Degrassi Man’s namesake. A girlfriend of mine said “you have to hear him. Very short career. Not very well known.” So I listened and liked.

  11. 500 please. Not a bundle of chuckles.

  12. Hmm. Name for a male duck… Mr duck? Great, so I came up with ‘Mr. Bungle’ after eliminating Mr. Mister 😦
    OJ. Great clues. The male duck came thru for 300 points this week. Quack!

  13. 500 and feeling very melancholy

  14. 500 — the artist inferred here is one of my all-time favourites! The latter album mentioned in the 500 clue has been playing on repeat here for the past few months, and I have always found it to be quite underrated!
    (I LOVE your 200 clue rebus, by the way!!!)

    • Much appreciated!
      I didn’t know him at all before starting the 1001 list – so I was delighted he ended up being on here 3 times. I think Pink Moon is my favourite but he might be one of those artists where whichever one I listened to the most recently ends up being the current favourite!

      • I feel the exact same way!! I only recently discovered Pink Moon (maybe at the beginning of the lockdown?) and I think that it is definitely becoming one of my favourite albums of all time too! I love how austere and intimate it is…and I also really love the name!

  15. 500. I actually bought a disc of his stuff on your recommend!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week IV – The Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment