Skip to content

Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #49

December 6, 2020
 
ArtistoftheweekIV

Exceptional Artist of the Week IV Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2020 Artists of the Week (so far):

The CurePublic Enemy, Steely Dan, Taylor Swift, Venom, Chuck Berry, Dixie Chicks, Billy Idol, Randy Newman, Jay-Z, Alanis Morissette, Pulp, The Byrds, Love, Queen Latifah, Muddy Waters, Robbie Williams, Rage Against the Machine, The Cars, Janet Jackson, King Crimson, Arcade Fire, James Brown, Daft Punk, PJ Harvey, Soundgarden, Dave Matthews Band, Stephen Stills, New Order, The Wallflowers, Billie Holiday, Earth Wind & Fire, Nirvana, Nick Drake, The Guess Who, Norah Jones, Cat Stevens, Blur, Faith No More, The Carpenters, Marilyn Manson, Run DMC, The Clash, Van Morrison, Tracy Chapman, Grateful Dead, Barenaked Ladies, Huey Lewis and the News

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Huey Lewis and the News last week.

The results after 48 weeks (as of Friday evening – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

.

Ready for Quiz #49?

You’ll never hear me complain!

.

Quiz Rules/Format (Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #49
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………American singer / songwriter, born in Oklahoma in 1962.

He doesn’t have any albums on the 1001 list but according to the Recording Industry Association of America, he is the best-selling solo albums artist in the USA (ahead of Elvis Presley / Billy Joel / Michael Jackson…), with 157 million units sold…so I guess he’ll be OK!

.

.

.

. .

400 points…………………Though his solo country albums (like No Fences & Ropin’ the Wind) released under his usual stage name sold in larger quantities, in the late 90s, he also released a pop-rock album as his short-lived alter-ego, Chris Gaines

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………From time to time, even those who follow a strict ABC (Anything But Country) policy when it comes to music, many may still find themselves singing along with Friends in Low Places

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..His first name is the same as Wayne’s best friend. His last name is the same as the running shoe brand featured below.

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is G______ B________

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: جارث بروكس

(Please post your points earned in the comments section) Thanks for playing! …..

Verbalize the Positive

Sometimes, a single chord makes a song. In this artist’s case, that second chord (Bbdim7) in Friends in Low Places is a beaut!

From → Uncategorized

53 Comments
  1. Harrison permalink

    200 please

  2. 500, but had to rack my brains a bit.

  3. 400 but I particularly enjoy the 200 one

  4. 400 for me and I just bought something of his. Should’ve been 500…dang it.

  5. Shoot, I have a long way to go if I’m going to score at least 100 for these quizzes. Now that I know the answer, I can see it. Dang it! Maybe next time, this was fun though, thanks Geoff!

  6. Umm 100 please. Still not sure I know who he is

    • If you are a Kiss fan, you will be interested in a live performance they did with this singer on Hard Luck Woman.

      • Oh yeah. He did that on the Kiss My Ass covers album. I have that.

      • Yes he did! There’s a live version on Youtube with the full band behind him, it’s cool. I’m not a fan of his, but HE is a massive Kiss fan. He has always said “I do a big live show because of Kiss.”

      • And from what I gather, he charges reasonable prices for tickets & always puts on a ‘show’ rather than a concert

    • I believe he’s one that those who like him, like him a lot!

  7. 400 blasts of The Thunder Rolls please!

  8. Damn only 400 this week.

  9. jprobichaud permalink

    400. But only because I remember when he first started playing with the alter ego bit.

  10. 400. I wasn’t thinking Country in the first clue, but Oklahoma should have suggested it.

  11. Hold onto yer hat (coughcough) Geoff, I’m about to do 49 of these today and get all caught up! 500 on this one!

    • wowzers, and now I’m all caught up too!

      • You are a true gent for going through all of that. I said to my lovely, wife I felt bad because I think I just made a pile of work for you!

  12. 500! I couldn’t tell you any of his songs but I know he sold a boat load of records.

  13. Yikes. 200. Thank goodness for Wayne’s World 🙂

  14. 500 each for me and Mika

  15. 400! Who can forget Chris Gaines?!

  16. Zack permalink

    500. He’s not on the list?

  17. May I claim 100 please. ABC.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week IV – The Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment