Skip to content

Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #36

September 6, 2020

ArtistoftheweekIV

Exceptional Artist of the Week IV Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2020 Artists of the Week (so far):

The CurePublic Enemy, Steely Dan, Taylor Swift, Venom, Chuck Berry, Dixie Chicks, Billy Idol, Randy Newman, Jay-Z, Alanis Morissette, Pulp, The Byrds, Love, Queen Latifah, Muddy Waters, Robbie Williams, Rage Against the Machine, The Cars, Janet Jackson, King Crimson, Arcade Fire, James Brown, Daft Punk, PJ Harvey, Soundgarden, Dave Matthews Band, Stephen Stills, New Order, The Wallflowers, Billie Holiday, Earth Wind & Fire, Nirvana, Nick Drake, The Guess Who

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified The Guess Who last week.

The results after 35 weeks…will have to wait until next week. Alas, I ran out of time this week to assemble, thanks for your patience! 

.

Ready for Quiz #36?

I’m Feelin’ the Same Way!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #36
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………American artist, born in Manhattan in 1979. Her 2002 debut album is on the 1001 list & her birth name is Geethali _____ ______ Shankar.

.

.

.

.

.

400 points…………………That debut album is called Come Away With Me – I Don’t Know Why I didn’t mention that in the first clue!

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………In addition to her talents as a singer / songwriter / pianist, she demonstrated her sense of humour by making a cameo in the movie Ted (as shown below):

Untitled presentation (40)

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..Could it really be a 200 clue without a photo puzzle?

Untitled presentation (41)

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is N______ J______

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: نوراه جونز

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Her debut is a keeper!

From → Uncategorized

71 Comments
  1. 500. Born the same year as me.

  2. 200 and well that was lucky

  3. Harrison permalink

    Not a clue, other than the previous five that were clear as mud.

  4. I’ll settle for the crisp high five today. The album title rang a bell but that was it! Forgot this person even exists.

  5. 400 for me. Almost had it for 500 as it was on the tip of my tongue, but 400 clinched it.

  6. 500, I like that she has a personal history with Ted the teddy bear.

  7. I fluked a 500 this week — I am very, very happy! (May I just say that I LOVE your 200 clue!! And, I had completely forgotten about that Ted movie — there was a time where my father used to watch it all the time!)

  8. 200. My 500 guess was way off.

  9. Thank goodness for pictures! 200!

    • And I noticed this morning the pictures were all resized – even though I made the post a few weeks ago, the new wordpress ‘block’ editor seems to need me to ‘convert the images to blocks’ for them to show up properly.
      I’m glad the pics were fixed in time for the 200, Deke!

      • I’m still using the classic editor Geoff. Still figuring that one out and it’s been only 6 years! lol
        Are you still following hockey? It’s been pretty good considering. Kinda wish Vancouver coud have snuck in there.

      • I find I’m becoming the crotchety person that complains whenever a platform (facebook, wordpress) changes its interface!
        I’m still somewhat aware of the playoffs, I haven’t watched any games since the first round – Vancouver was a good story for sure.
        I think I’d like to see the Lightning win, they’ve just been so solid for so long, they’re probably due!

      • I’m liking Dallas. I like West Coast teams as they seem to play with a quicker tempo. That could be just me lol

      • It would have been nice to see Mackinnon keep going – not many of Gretzky’s records are going to be broken, but he was keeping up the pace at least!

      • I think Greztky could give up a record or 2 as he has what is it 61 NHL records!??
        That’s about as many KISS Greatest Hits comps that are available! lol

      • Something like that, yes!
        I don’t think anyone will come close to his 50 goals in 39 games – scoring 50 these days in 82 games is hard enough!

      • I still remember the year before we were all following Bossy who did 50 in 50 games and than comes Wayne 50 in 39!
        Amazing for both guys to acheive that.

      • For sure – it’s too bad Bossy’s career ended due to injuries. He was mostly before my time but by all accounts, he was among the best pure goal scorers of all time!

      • Basically the Islanders won the cup almost every year I was in high school! Dynasty comes to mind.

  10. jprobichaud permalink

    200. I’m only vaguely aware of this artist, though I think I did see part of her live set at Bluesfest one year.

    • I’m pleased the vague awareness still resulted in some points this week, JP!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Yeah. I suppose 200 points are better than none.

      • There’s a week coming up where I don’t think you’ll even require the entire first clue!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Nice. Looking forward to it.

  11. 200 though I should have had it from the last name in the first clue.

  12. 500 thanks to the family name. Never saw her live but did see her famous sister performing with even more famous dad in concert once.

    • I would have enjoyed seeing him in concert – the sitar is such an intriguing instrument!

      • It was enchanting. The concert was at a large symphony hall, and when you closed your eyes you got transported. So glad I got to see him, thanks to a friend who got me a surprise ticket 🙂

      • Surprise tickets are among the best kinds of surprises!

  13. 500 for Mika, 400 for me. I had no idea that her dad was who her dad is, but Mika knew.

  14. Am I too late to claim 3oo?

    • the later the greater!
      Though I already made this week’s spreadsheet, so it won’t show up until next week

  15. 500. Interestingly, no clues on famous father and sister. Or former brother-in-law, who directed films like Pride and Prejudice and Atonement!

    • Admittedly – I try to avoid clues about spouses / family members. I remember Jakob Dylan had no interest in being interviewed about his father so if possible, I try to focus on the artist on their own.

      And of equal, if not more importance, well done on the quiz, Amrita!

      • That’s a very good stance Geoff, very fair and liberating for the artist as well. Like I had no idea John David Washington is the son of Denzel Washington and he’s doing well for himself!

        However, being Bengali, today’s artist’s family is a huge part of my culture. In fact, their extended family are influential artists as well. Thus, it was a thrill for 13 year old me to find out this hit, grammy winning artist was finally someone my family approved of my listening! However, because we had an old CRT television set with not the best of in-built speakers, I could hardly hear this artist at the time!

      • We had that style of TV set at one point – I recall neither the audio nor video were all that reliable, but exciting when the clear picture & sound came through!
        It would be tricky following in Denzel’s footsteps but it looks like it’s working out ok for John David Washington!

  16. 500, and the greatest song about an unfulfilling one-night stand ever.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week IV – The Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment