Skip to content

Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #23

June 7, 2020

ArtistoftheweekIV

Exceptional Artist of the Week IV Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2020 Artists of the Week (so far):

The CurePublic Enemy, Steely Dan, Taylor Swift, Venom, Chuck Berry, Dixie Chicks, Billy Idol, Randy Newman, Jay-Z, Alanis Morissette, Pulp, The Byrds, Love, Queen Latifah, Muddy Waters, Robbie Williams, Rage Against the Machine, The Cars, Janet Jackson, King Crimson, Arcade Fire

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Arcade Fire last week.

The results after 22 weeks (as of Monday evening – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

after week 22

.

Ready for Quiz #23?

Say it Loud !

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #23
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………American artist, born in South Carolina in 1933 (he died on Christmas day in 2006), his album, Live at the Apollo* (1963) is on the 1001 list

.

.

.

.

.

400 points……………….He was a singer/bandleader with many nicknames: The Godfather of Soul, Soul Brother No. 1, and The Hardest Working Man in Show Business (to name but a few)…

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………Surprisingly, his highest charting single is actually called I Got You (with the memorable “I Feel Good” lyric included in parentheses)

 

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..This week’s artist, as himself, appearing on The Simpsons:

Presentation6

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is J_______ B________

.

.

.

.

Answer: جيمس براون

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

*If I ever have to appear on stage somewhere, I would like someone like Fats Gonder to introduce me to the audience.

His Live at the Apollo introduction for this artist is something else!

From → Uncategorized

79 Comments
  1. 500. Get on up!

  2. Harrison permalink

    100 please

  3. 500 and stred cred restored. How many times can one man leave the stage?

  4. jprobichaud permalink

    500. Though it took me a moment. Hot tub!!!

  5. Zack permalink

    400. Eddie Murphy did great impressions on SNL.

    • I don’t know if I’ve seen them, but based on some of his other SNL characters, I bet they were indeed great!

  6. 500 — ’twas rather cool to go past the place mentioned in the 500 clue when in NYC!

    • I can imagine, Adela! And I’m so glad you got your trip in when you did, hard to believe that was only a few months ago

      • Thank you so much, Stephen — I am finding it quite hard to believe, too! It’s just so surreal to see images of places that I remember so vividly so incredibly quiet in the lockdown, and now with the protests — January feels like a different time! We flew home about 3 weeks before the lockdown started in Australia!

        In the midst of COVID, I must say that I am very glad to be living in a small city on the other side of the world! COVID has been pretty much eradicated in my state — there hasn’t been any community transmission, and hardly any cases at all, since April, and life is almost back to normal (big gatherings are apparently going to be permitted from July).

      • Surreal would be an understatement – the Pre-Covid time does seem like ages ago!
        And that’s terrific news about your city (we’ve been pretty fortunate here too), hopefully everyone keeps behaving & following the rules

  7. 500 For me!! I think he was awesome!! So entertaining and such a showman.

  8. Super highway! Coast to coast! Livin’ with 500 points today.

  9. 400 High 5’s

    • Nice work, Deke – there’s no rain in the forecast here for today (it hailed yesterday!) so after seeing your delicious burger pic the other day, I think we may do burgers on the bbq tonight!

      • Nice. I think they are calling for rain for the next 4 days! Thats ok I have to go back to work on Monday. lol
        That Burger was massive I never do double patties but I did and it almost did me in. lol

      • I’ll maybe stick with the single patty then – that’s good advice!

      • Well your a lot younger than me so I say go for it! lol

  10. 500 foot shuffling spinning gyrating dazzling points please!
    His 1964 T.A.M.I show spot before the Rolling Stones come on is just jaw-droppingly incredibly awesome!

    • Terrific (and apt) adjectives for the points, TVTA – I can imagine that performance would have been something else!

  11. 500 please, please, please ….

  12. WHEW! I almost blew this question. But I paused before moving onto #2 because I know I need those 500s to stay at the top! So I paused and said, “Hmm, Christmas day 2006…that reminds me of Jen’s dad…he WON tickets to go see J____ B____ but he died! That had to be Christmas of 2006!”

    500! By a HAIR. Just a thread!

  13. I’ll take 400 today.

  14. 300. I was just wondering, looking at the scoresheet, whether one can come up with some stats on the basis of it. I think I’ve always scored middlingly in the last three years. Now that it’s almost the half year, I feel it’s going to be the same. What does that say about the quiz, as well as the quizzee? Maybe, some stats on what musical genres/decades have featured more frequently in a year and consequently, who performs better on those genres? And speaking of participants, can stats say who answers on the basis of ‘taste’ or ‘knowledge’? And on the basis of such stats can you predict future scores and positions of participants?

    Did I just geek out way too much?😅 I suppose it all comes from wanting to climb up the charts!

    • One can never geek out too much around here, Amrita – not to worry!
      I’d be in favour of such an in-depth statistical analysis!

      • I read The Power of Habit recently, and am now sort of into Predictive Analytics. Also, I loved the section on how Outkast’s hey ya became a hit in the book. I’d love it if you applied statistical analysis to why some songs have “hit” potential and still don’t become one. Pop music and stats is your niche for sure!

      • I sound like precisely the target audience for that, Amrita!

  15. 500 for me, 400 for Mika

  16. Taking 500 to the bridge!

  17. 500 of course. Great concert, I was right at the stage and he was wearing blue suede shoes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #24 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #25 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #26 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #27 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #28 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #29 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #30 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #31 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  19. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  20. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  21. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  22. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  23. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  24. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  25. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  26. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  27. Artist of the Week IV – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  28. Artist of the Week IV – The Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment