Skip to content

Artist of the Week – Quiz #33

August 20, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Artists of the week (so far): Brian Eno, U2, Stevie Wonder, Everything But The Girl, Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, CSNY, Bob Marley, Miles Davis, Pavement, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, Deep Purple, Leonard Cohen, Marianne Faithfull, Cream, James Taylor, The Eagles, The B-52s, LL Cool J, The Dictators, Judas Priest, Johnny Cash, Alice Cooper, Bob Dylan, Christina Aguilera, Jane’s Addiction, The Doors, The Beta Band, Talking Heads, Bee Gees, Megadeth

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Megadeth last week.

The results after 32 weeks:

.

32 weeks

.

Ready for Quiz #33?

Then let’s begin!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #33
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..An American band, the lead singer’s birth name was Jeffrey Ross Hyman

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..Although most popular in the 70s, the group enjoyed some success in the mid-90s with covers of I Don’t Want to Grow Up & the Spider-Man theme song

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………The opening track, The Miracle (of J___ R______), of U2’s 2014 album/iTunes experiment, is a tribute to the aforementioned lead singer of this NYC band

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….Although not actually related, the band members Joey, Johnny, Dee Dee, and Tommy shared a stage surname

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is The R____________

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: ال التعريف، رامونيس

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Cheers to my longtime friend Andy for introducing me to these guys back in the day.

And an even larger cheers to Andy for surprising me & getting us GNR tickets to tomorrow’s show, can’t wait!

From → Uncategorized

70 Comments
  1. 500. You see, as long as there are no illustrated mascots I’m fine.

    • And I could not picture a mascot that would adequately represent these guys!
      I could maybe picture a set of 4 bobbleheads though, recreating that self-titled album cover 🙂

  2. 500. Hey! Ho! Let’s Go!👊
    So excited for having one of my faves this week. Was bewildered that the U2 song about Jeff Hyman sounded nothing like him…

    • When I saw U2 in 2001, it happened to be on Jeffrey Ross Hyman’s birthday (and Bono wished him happy birthday, perhaps even namechecked him a couple times during the show) – admittedly, I still haven’t heard that song though!
      Nice work Amrita!

      • I did hear that album when it came out on someone’s Apple device (I am yet to support that establishment monetarily, though I have spent considerably on Apple Corps). It was meh, though I’d say that for a number of U2 albums. They did a cover of “Beat on The Brat” by today’s artists, and I’ve never heard a cover so completely devoid of the original’s personality or wit.
        Jeff Hyman shares his birthday with Pete Townsend (one of his heroes) on the 19th of May!
        Gabba Gabba Hey!

      • I prefer that other Apple corporation as well!

  3. After a few good weeks I’m back to 200. Pretty ignorant on this band… and U2 for that matter!

    • Not to worry HMO – I was tempted to put ‘malware’ (your term I believe!) on the U2 question, ended up softening it to ‘experiment’!

  4. 300 for me. I had forgotten about those covers in the 90’s.

    • They were my introduction to the group – it wasn’t until later I learned I don’t wanna grow up was a cover, it just sounded like one of their songs.
      I did suspect the spiderman one was a cover!

  5. Zack permalink

    500

  6. Easy peasy 500 lemon squeezie.

  7. 500! Went to a theatre decades ago and seen the movie they were in! Also Motorhead did a song as well which I reviewed a ways back…..
    Mr Books is out of town this week supposedly without wifi….
    Let’s see!

    • Depending how long he’s without wifi, the pack could start catching up – nice work this week Deke!

  8. 300!

  9. Jordan Richardson permalink

    Gah, 400. I wanna be sedated.

    • I’m afraid there’s still slightly more than twenty, twenty, twenty four hours to go before the next quiz Jordan!

  10. 500. Makers of my my favourite LP of all-time, ever, in the history of all human culture and stuff. Ever.

  11. jprobichaud permalink

    400! Loved the compilation that Spider-Man cover was on!

    • It was a fun one – I remember enjoying the Liz Phair banana song!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Haha yes. I also really liked Frente’s turn at “Open up your heart (and let the sunshine in)”, though it drove a few of my friends insane.

  12. 500. The singer’s name was one that you tended to remember, once having heard it!

  13. 500!! One of my favourite bands, though I haven’t been able to listen to them lately due to a recent viewing of Rock’n’Roll High School (not the best movie I’ve ever seen I must admit)… (And that cover of ‘I Don’t Wanna Grow Up’ might have been the first punk song I ever heard, my Grade 7 teacher played it to my class in English once!)

  14. 400 for me!

  15. 400. Never thought about his real name….

  16. 400 because we’ll just because.

  17. oooh 300, great questions Geoff!

  18. 400! Now that’s right up my alley

  19. 400…I was way off at first!

  20. 500 this week for a great band

  21. I missed this one, back when it posted. It’s a 500 for me, but only because I read about about them. And because their first four records are essential to everyone! 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week Series – The Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment