Skip to content

Artist of the Week – Quiz #30

July 30, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Artists of the week (so far): Brian Eno, U2, Stevie Wonder, Everything But The Girl, Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, CSNY, Bob Marley, Miles Davis, Pavement, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, Deep Purple, Leonard Cohen, Marianne Faithfull, Cream, James Taylor, The Eagles, The B-52s, LL Cool J, The Dictators, Judas Priest, Johnny Cash, Alice Cooper, Bob Dylan, Christina Aguilera, Jane’s Addiction, The Doors, The Beta Band

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified The Beta Band last week.

The results after 29 weeks…will have to wait until next week as I’m without excel again this weekend (if you can call that a weekend ;))

Ready for Quiz #30?

The 30th of 50, the official 3/5ths of the way there quiz!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #30
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..American group formed in 1975, featuring bassist Tina Weymouth

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..In the film 13 Going on 30, as a 30 year-old, Mark Ruffalo’s character sported a t-shirt featuring this group (and as a 13 year-old, the character also danced around to this band’s hit about setting fire to one’s personal residence)

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………Their first four albums (released in 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980) are all on the 1001 list.

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….The lead singer’s name is David Byrne & the band name is also a term used to describe pundits on TV

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is T________ H______

 

.

.

.

.

Answer: يتحدث رؤساء
(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I believe this group and Led Zeppelin are the only groups to go 4 for 4 out of the gate on the 1001 list – well done to this week’s artist of the week!

From → Uncategorized

63 Comments
  1. 500. Knew the bass players name,

  2. That initial clue spoke volumes. 500.
    Oh, just realised I’m logged in with my other blog persona. It’s Bruce here!

    • I think you’re “Bruce” on the standings – points will be awarded to Bruce, regardless of blogging persona login!

  3. 500 for me. Makes up for me missing last week’s!

  4. 500 – Tina Weymouth is one of my heroes!!!!

  5. I get 100 today.

  6. FINALLY 500!

  7. Yup, 500. This is fun!

    • Stellar Aaron!

      • I was given a cassette of the work of this band by a (now-ex-)girlfriend years ago. But this band has nothing to do with why she’s now an ex. In fact, she had (and probably still has, wherever she is) excellent taste in music. Just saying I was introduced to their stuff ages ago, so this one was a cinch for me – no pee test required again…

      • Not to worry – I think by this point it’s clear there have been no performance enhancements used, the scores are clean!

  8. With deep shame 300 and just the other night I was drunkenly defending this very band.

  9. jprobichaud permalink

    500. Great band.

  10. 500 ..one of the very first female names I ever read in Creem Magazine decades ago that played Bass…
    Blew my mind back in 1979 as I thought Tom Petersson and Gene Simmons were the only 2 bass players in the world! hahaha

    Beta Boys..wow….never heard of em…now I know…
    Good lesson!

  11. Zack permalink

    400!

  12. 500! All of the credit goes to Always Sunny in Philadelphia for sending me down a rabbit hole one knight to figure out who sings that “What you gonna do when you get out of jail?” song.

    • I’ve heard nothing but good things about that show – and there’s nothing but good things about 500 points too!

  13. Hooray for me. Another easy 500. I just posted about their debut a couple of weeks ago, and I wrote a series on their discography back in 2011. These are “true stories.”

    Looking forward to your posts on this group.

    • I saw the post Rich – I think I may have even ‘liked’ it but I intentionally haven’t read it yet. I will be doing so immediately after clicking ‘publish’ later this week!

  14. Hurrah! 500!!

  15. Oh yeah! 500 points! I’m on a road to somewhere.

  16. Much better this week 500 points

  17. 100 only. Perhaps I’m not awake yet. And I didn’t know so many albums of theirs were on the list!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week – Quiz #31 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

