Skip to content

Artist of the Week: Quiz #4

January 29, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Stevie Wonder last week.

Here are the results after 3 quizzes:

.

week-3

.

Ready for Quiz #4?

To quote the Mandlebaums on Seinfeld, it’s go time!

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #4
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………An English musical duo formed in 1982

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..Electronica, though not Pet Shop Boys

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………A male/female duo, though not Eurythmics

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….Their song, Missing, was ubiquitous in the mid-90s

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist initials are E_________ B___ T__ G___.

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: كل شيء ماعدا الفتاة
(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciated The Old Grey Cat’s recent look back at the year in music that was 1992. With a Top 5 no less!

From → Uncategorized

60 Comments
  1. Hot damn, I totally guessed and got 400! But I got there oddly…

    True story: I thought of the band name because of a GBV connection, but then it turned out it was another band that had the GBV connection, but I still guessed this one first!

    I dunno if you can even award points for that, haha!

    • That sounds like 400 points to me – almost more impressive given that you got the name given those circumstances, well played!

  2. fyfeopedia permalink

    300!

  3. 0 😦 I’ve never even heard of them.

    • I hadn’t heard of them outside the one big single – but they’ve got 2 albums on the 1001, so apparently not a one-hit wonder!

  4. 100 points again. Change my name to LeDunce.

  5. Zack permalink

    100

  6. Lock me in for a Crisp High 5! ….Nada nothing …..

  7. Just a lowly hunner for me! Ppffttbbt

  8. 200. I just saw this band on a watch mojo top ten yesterday. Still didn’t get it sooner! My fault, because I was thinking of another male female electronic duo from 1982 (if you slightly alter the word “yahoo”, you get their name). This was even harder than before Geoff, especially because I’m otherwise reasonably knowledgeable in this genre! Keep up the good work!

    • If I hadn’t made the quiz, I think I would have scored 200 too – that tune ‘missing’ was a massive hit in Canada in the mid 90s, thanks Amrita!

  9. 200 for me. I read her autobiography last year, very good. I prefer her contributions to Massive Attack to EBTG.

    • And Massive Attack will likely be an artist of the week later this year as they’ve also got 2 records on the 1001.
      I’d be keen to read that autobiography!

  10. 300 boom! ✌

  11. A lowly 100. Tough one, that.

    But a big “Oo-ee!” for Sarca. Nicely played.

  12. 200! The Missing song did the trick 🙂

  13. ouch! 100 points, I’d convinced myself it was Yazoo

  14. Zero. Ouch! Lol 🙂

  15. 0 for me 😔 (though after googling I have realised that I do in fact know them – just not very well!)

  16. Only a 100 for me. Was not familiar with them at all. However, I knew it once I saw the initials.

  17. Mark me up for 200, Geoff!

  18. I’ll rack up a big ZERO for this week 😦

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week: Quiz #5 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #6 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #7 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #8 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #9 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week – Quiz #10 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week – Quiz #11 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week – Quiz #12 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week – Quiz #13 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week – Quiz #14 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week – Quiz #15 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week – Quiz #16 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week – Quiz #17 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week – Quiz #18 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week – Quiz #19 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week – Quiz #20 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week – Quiz #21 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week – Quiz #22 | 1001albumsin10years
  19. Artist of the Week – Quiz #23 | 1001albumsin10years
  20. Artist of the Week – Quiz #24 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

