Skip to content

Artist of the Week – Quiz #3

January 22, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Artists of the Week (so far): Brian Eno, U2

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified U2 last week.

Here are the results after 2 quizzes:

.

week-2

.

Ready for Quiz #3?

Let’s begin!

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #3
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points…………………Born May 13, 1950 in Saginaw, Michigan, USA

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..Signed his first record contract with Motown’s Tamla label at age eleven

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………This artist’s stage name was also the nickname of the Detroit Red Wings captain from 1986-2006.

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….His birth name is Stevland Hardaway Judkins

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..His stage name initials are S____ W____.

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: ستيفي ووندر
(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate everyone who’s been playing along with these quizzes, I’m really enjoying this new weekly routine!

From → Uncategorized

107 Comments
  1. Zack permalink

    100. The initials gave it away.

  2. 400. I knew the first album was at a very young age. Then the Motown mention gave it away.

  3. I guessed wrong from the get go and so I only got it at 100.

  4. Just a crappy 100 for me too!

  5. 100 for me as well Geoff……..I was trying to hard to figure out a Metal Motowner hahaha

    • There will definitely be more Rawk before the year is done Deke – thanks for playing!

      • Hey Geoff thats ok…..it was good Brain Teaser(well for me) anyways…..

  6. 0 points. I’m still stumped. All I could think of is fake blues names like Blind Lemon Chittlin’!

  7. Wait no just got it. Gimme 100.

    • I’ll give you both 100 and praise for your Blues name Mike!

      • Blind Lemon Pye is my favourite…he was in the movie the Rutles: All You Need is Cash. (Have you seen it? Eric Idle.)

      • I haven’t seen it….yet, but it sounds promising!

      • Oh! Geoff you’d love it. It’s the cast of SNL with the cast of Monty Python. The Rutles are the Beatles obviously. Here’s my favourite song “Ouch!” See if you can guess which Beatles song this is…

      • That’s a 500 right there.

      • Another ones…”Get Up and Go”! Can you guess it?

      • Get Back! These guys did their homework, nice rooftop recreation too!

      • The whole movie is like that. George Harrison did a cameo as a news reporter. Mick Jagger and Paul Simon played themselves. Jagger says he quit school to be a rock star because of the Rutles!

      • Though I can’t condone dropping out of school, interesting to hear the parody band could have that kind of impact!

      • The good news is that Mick fellow seems to have done OK for himself.

      • Oh Ronnie Wood…he played a punk rocker. And the guitar player of the Rutles, Ricky Fatar…I believe he was in the Beach Boys in the 1970s.

      • I actually made a “Blind Lemon Pye” header card for the blues section at work. I wonder if it’s still there. LOL

  8. 400. I get nervous about these questions! Btw, I took your advice for a multiple-choice exam I had today – when in doubt, pick ‘c’. Hope it works!

    • Well done Amrita!
      I think the theory with the multiple choice is, ‘it won’t be A because then the reader won’t bother to read the remaining options’ ‘B? still too early’ ‘C? any longer would be dragging it out!’

  9. Wow, I though this would have been easy for others because I was sure there’d be super fans here, or that people would know clue no. 2 because it’s pretty famous. Guess I got lucky – something I won’t be when metal bands show up in this series!

    • There will definitely be some more obscure ones as the year goes on – but for some, those obscure ones may be their everyday listening & pick up the 500 points accordingly!

      • I’m guessing there won’t be Kate Bush questions! You probably blogged her albums on the 1001, being a fan yourself. I’d be very ashamed if you feature Indian artists mentioned on the 1001, because I’m sure I won’t get them! I think I should actually start studying for the quiz because I’m feeling surprisingly competitive!

      • I definitely got to all 3 1001-listed Kate Bush albums early on!
        And I fully encourage studying! As a ‘spoiler-alert’ – the artists featured this year will have at least 2 albums on the 1001 list 😉

      • Right away, sir! I need to get a hold of the 1001 albums book. There’s a 1001 songs book that I’ve seen at the library, but that’s too easy, right? Rolling Stone has a 500 albums list too. Hmm, why did you pick this list to blog about? Is there a post which explores that?

      • I received the book years ago (probably somewhere around 2006) as a gift from my inlaws, talk about knowing your audience!
        And then when I was about to turn 30 in 2011, it just felt like a good project to complete over the next decade.
        But I loaned the physical copy of the book to a friend a few years ago, so I’ve just been relying on my spreadsheets since then!

      • Wow, you put so much into this project and you don’t even have the book around?Did the commentary on it (when you had it) affect your opinions about the album, because I don’t find you referring to it in your posts.

        Based on what I know about the ‘audience’ here, I’d say the Music Listography book is a good idea for them! In case they don’t have it already, that is.

      • I played guitar at a friend’s wedding & they gave me that Listography book as part of a thank you – I’m glad you brought it up Amrita, another one that could not have been a more appropriate gift!

        It’s possible my current reviews are based on things I read from the book (I had read through it many times between 2011-2014) and I don’t realize it.
        When I eventually get it back, it’ll be fun to see where I agreed/disagreed with the journalists that were featured in the book!

  10. 400 Boom! 👌

    • Nifty Danica!

      • A better showing than 100. 🙂
        Thanks for hosting these quizzes! I can imagine the prep time that went into them.

      • I’m enjoying hosting!
        It’s a fun weekly tradition for me & I appreciate you guys playing along, whether it’s a 400 point or a participant ribbon performance!

      • Labors of love are the best.:)
        It’s a lot of fun to play along!

  11. fyfeopedia permalink

    400. i was racking my brains on the first clue, trying to think of someone from the USA who made their first album between 1970 and 1975, but of course he made his first outside of that time.

    • Well done fyfeopedia – and then he released a bunch more (and great ones at that) in that ’70-’75 timeframe!

  12. 100. Can’t brag, but I did hesitate at the 400 pts question though. I’ve been listening to one of his CDs a bit recently, so I look forward to your review!

    • Thanks Jo – I’m curious to see if the CD you’ve been listening to was one of the ones I’m looking at this week!

      • It’s most probable… Hint : it’s on my best album covers list, to be published soon.

  13. 400 points for me!

  14. 500 for me. I knew it because I looked up where Saginaw was last time I posted about him.

  15. A mere 100 for me, no surprise.

  16. 100 for me. Eh… boom!?

  17. 400 for me, Mr Music.
    (BTW, what happened to my Eno points? I demand a recount!)

    • The Eno points were there – but the 500 U2 points were missing! I shall send a strongly worded email to the accounting department 🙂

  18. Jenn permalink

    100 for me too. Alas. I had no idea that this artist got started recording that early. Wow!

  19. 200 points. The ice hockey clue completely threw me!

    • But you did use ‘hat trick’ in a recent comment, I was happy to see that hockey reference Geoff!

  20. Stephen I’ll go for 400 this week. Like Ovidiu the Motown reference was the key.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week: Quiz #5 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #6 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #7 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #8 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #9 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week – Quiz #10 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week – Quiz #11 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week – Quiz #12 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week – Quiz #13 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week – Quiz #14 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week – Quiz #15 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week – Quiz #16 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week – Quiz #17 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week – Quiz #18 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week – Quiz #19 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week – Quiz #20 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week – Quiz #21 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week – Quiz #22 | 1001albumsin10years
  19. Artist of the Week – Quiz #23 | 1001albumsin10years
  20. Artist of the Week – Quiz #24 | 1001albumsin10years
  21. Artist of the Week – Quiz #25 | 1001albumsin10years
  22. Artist of the Week – Quiz #26 | 1001albumsin10years
  23. Artist of the Week – Quiz #27 | 1001albumsin10years
  24. Artist of the Week – Quiz #28 | 1001albumsin10years
  25. Artist of the Week – Quiz #29 | 1001albumsin10years
  26. Artist of the Week – Quiz #30 | 1001albumsin10years
  27. Artist of the Week – Quiz #31 | 1001albumsin10years
  28. Artist of the Week – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  29. Artist of the Week – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years
  30. Artist of the Week – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  31. Artist of the Week – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  32. Artist of the Week – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  33. Artist of the Week – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  34. Artist of the Week – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  35. Artist of the Week – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  36. Artist of the Week – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  37. Artist of the Week – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

