Skip to content

Artist of the Week – Quiz #27

July 9, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Artists of the week (so far): Brian Eno, U2, Stevie Wonder, Everything But The Girl, Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, CSNY, Bob Marley, Miles Davis, Pavement, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, Deep Purple, Leonard Cohen, Marianne Faithfull, Cream, James Taylor, The Eagles, The B-52s, LL Cool J, The Dictators, Judas Priest, Johnny Cash, Alice Cooper, Bob Dylan, Christina Aguilera

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Christina Aguilera last week.

I don’t have access to a computer with excel this weekend – so alas, no spreadsheet results update today.

Though I imagine Aaron’s still in the lead!

So without further ado, ready for Quiz #27?

¡fantástico!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #27
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..Joseph Mazzello name-checked this late-80s/early-90s Los Angeles band in the 1994 film The River Wild, “So you saw _____ _______, I wish I could’ve seen them before they broke up”

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..Lollapalooza, initially intended to be this band’s farewell tour in 1991, has since evolved into an annual international musical festival

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………This band’s guitarist, Dave Navarro, played with the Red Hot Chili Peppers in the mid-90s

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….They have a pair of albums on the 1001 list, Nothing’s Shocking and Ritual de lo Habitual

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is J___________’s A____________

 

.

.

.

.

Answer: إدمان جين
(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Thanks to the opening track of Ritual de lo Habitual, many of us learned how to say “ladies and gentlemen” in Spanish!

From → Uncategorized

57 Comments
  1. Never having seen the film in the first question, I’ll have to settle for 400 this week. I say “settle”… but that’s my best score in weeks I think!

  2. 400 for me too.

    • Nice work Joe – am I remembering correctly that it was this band you spent an overnight sleeping outside/in a stairwell waiting to get tickets to see?

  3. 300. I don’t think I know any of their songs.

  4. 300. 400 point hint is a really interesting bit of trivia!

  5. 400 for me. I may have seen that movie in the 500 question but it was os long ago and, apparently, not at all memorable – not even for quotes that reference bands!

    • And I can’t recall much about the film beyond the band name check I’m afraid,
      Apparently in the movie Sneakers, Dan Akroyd wears a tragically hip shirt – I have yet to see it, but I have a feeling I’m going to like it based on that wardrobe selection alone!

  6. 300. I know nothing about them.

    • Now we’ll have to get the River Wild on Blu-ray! 😉

      • I haven’t seen it in 20+ years – I remember liking it, perhaps because they name-checked this band, but hopefully also because it was a good film!

    • At least you knew enough about them for 300 points!

  7. 400. And nothing witty to say. As usual.

  8. 300 and I havenever knowingly listened to them.

  9. 400 for me please! Back on track after last weeks debacle!

  10. 400 for me!

  11. Zack permalink

    400. I’m not a big Kevin Bacon fan. He was in The River Wild, right?

  12. 500! Yas!!

    • Yas!
      If you didn’t get 500 this week J, the quiz questions would be to blame – I’m pleased you picked up the perfect score!

  13. 500 for me too! Lucky guess, I had not seen the movie, but you gave just enough info.

    • Well guessed! I hoped the LA + late80s/early90s + breakup + river wild would be enough, I’m pleased it was in your case Mike!

  14. jprobichaud permalink

    Haha! 500 for me on this one. Haven’t seen River Wild either but I guessed based on the same clues as LeBrain and the second hint only confirmed it.

  15. 400 points. The first clue was tough, but good

  16. Damn, only 400 for me.

  17. 400 for me.

  18. 300 for the week

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week – Quiz #28 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #29 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #30 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #31 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

