Skip to content

Artist of the Week – Quiz #41

October 15, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Artists of the week (so far): Brian Eno, U2, Stevie Wonder, Everything But The Girl, Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, CSNY, Bob Marley, Miles Davis, Pavement, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, Deep Purple, Leonard Cohen, Marianne Faithfull, Cream, James Taylor, The Eagles, The B-52s, LL Cool J, The Dictators, Judas Priest, Johnny Cash, Alice Cooper, Bob Dylan, Christina Aguilera, Jane’s Addiction, The Doors, The Beta Band, Talking Heads, Bee Gees, Megadeth, The Ramones, Guns n’ Roses, The Libertines, B.B. King, Beck, Coldplay, Madonna, Willie Nelson

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Willie Nelson last week.

The results after 40 weeks:

.

after 40

*Plus 10,000,000 bonus points for giving birth to our third daughter 😀

.

Ready for Quiz #41?

The time to hesitate is through!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #41
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points……………….. Al Jardine has been the rhythm guitarist of this band for last 54 years

.

.

.

.

.

400 points………………..On their 1992 album Gordon, The Barenaked Ladies paid tribute (in song & song title no less) to another of this American group’s members

.

.

.

.

.

300 points…………………The Beatles’ Back in the U.S.S.R. & The Dictators’ (I Live For) Cars and Girls are a pair of practically perfect pastiches of this band’s signature sunny sounds

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………….Despite their plethora of songs on the subject/sport/leisure activity, only the drummer was actually a surfer

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is The B______ B____

.

.

.

.

.

Answer: الأولاد الشاطئ

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Their 1966 album is in my all-time Top 15!

From → Uncategorized

62 Comments
  1. Perfect sunny Spring day here. Almost had me playing this artist. 500 please Mr Music.
    PS. The drummer’s solo album is highly regarded by many. Is it on the list?

    • Exemplary score Bruce! And the solo album is – I haven’t heard it yet, but I’ve heard only good things about it thus far

  2. jprobichaud permalink

    The 500 was a tough one but the 400 almost too easy. 400 for me and kudos to anyone who gets 500.

    • I suppose the 400 clue was slightly generous for quiz contestants from Canada – nice work JP! 😀

  3. 500, I’m a fan boy.

  4. Another artist I own nothing by but seem to know every song and Mr. Jardine is worth 500 points.

  5. Zack permalink

    300. A group I keep meaning to explore, but that life thing gets in the way.

  6. 400 for me! I don’t know Al Jardine, but I know Gordon front to back!

  7. 500! Saw the person mentioned in the 500 clue play arguably this artist’s best album live w/ that album’s creator about 18 months ago, it was v cool…

    • That sounds like a great show – and I appreciate how you did a nice job describing it without actually saying anyone’s name!

  8. 300p today!

  9. 300 for me. I blame Al Jardine personally.

  10. 300 for me. Not a fan.

  11. 500, a favourite of the Mrs.

    • Well played Mike – and I’m guessing the Ladano household was in a celebratory mood just before 10pm last night, I tuned in just in time to see the nice OT winner by Matthews!

      • It sure was a rowdy night here!

      • I quite enjoy listening to leaf games on the radio with Joe Bowen doing the play by play – rowdy is an understatement for when the game’s close and the leafs score!

  12. 500. I grew up on these guys – my Mom had a ton of their 45s in her jukebox!

    • Well played Aaron – and nice work on the musical education by Aaron’s mom!

      • Yeah I can thank my Mom for a lot of musical education, these guys, Elvis, and even burning me out on the Beatles at a tender young age! Haha

  13. No problem today. 500!

  14. 400 like the rest of the Canadians

  15. 500! Yae!

    Though, I believe Al is a bit short of 54 years with them, as he hasn’t been an active member since that reunion a few years back. I may be wrong, right enough.

    • Yae J!
      Admittedly, I was relying on wikipedia – I think they said Jardine was in the group in 1961, then 1963-present. Not sure what went amiss in 1962 and it’s possible “Present” is actually 2014 or whenever the page was last updated!

      • He went to dentistry school I think.

      • I believe he’s still part of the ‘company’, but doing a wee bit of research, it appears he hasn’t been an active band member since the end of the 90s, but toured for a while a few years back.

      • … and of course I’m not suggesting you didn’t do ample research! Just that I had to check my own statement over his status!

      • Oh not to worry J – I saw the bar graph on the wikipedia page, assumed it was someone like LeBrain (who did the wikipedia Helix page) that was meticulous in their research, and I just banked on that.
        That was a Cute photo of the family on facebook today!

      • That seems like a perfectly reasonable assumption!

        And thanks! I thought I’d share that wee moment, as it summed up some of the fun we’ve been having the last few days (as you know, it’s not all fun, so it’s nice to grab those wee moments when possible).

        How’s the wee yin settling in?

  16. 400. He is the only member I know!

  17. Yes, 500!

  18. 500 points! Al’s a funny little fella.

  19. kmad5 permalink

    I got it at 500 (after all, how can you not Love this classic band?). The 400 point clue is a good one.

    • My thanks kmad5 – and I didn’t use to love this classic band, but I would now agree, how did I not love them before?!

  20. guessed at 500 and confirmed correct guess on 400

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

