Skip to content

Artist of the Week V – Quiz #22

May 30, 2021

Exceptional Artist of the Week V Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2021 Artists of the Week (so far):

Bruno Mars, Stone Temple Pilots, Carole King, 2Pac, “Weird” Al Yankovic, Sonic Youth, Lady Gaga, Lionel Richie, Kings of Leon, Kenny Rogers, Nina Simone, Alice in Chains, Neil Diamond, Cher, Nine Inch Nails, Phil Collins, Curtis Mayfield, Kelly Clarkson, Foo Fighters, The Roots, Bing Crosby

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Bing Crosby last week.

The results after 21 weeks (as of Monday evening – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

.

Ready for Quiz #22?

How does it feel to be back?!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #22
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..American duo, formed in Philadelphia in 1970.

Alas, none of their albums are on the 1001 list…but, you know, it don’t matter anyway.

As you can rely on their 1984 compilation, Rock ‘n’ Soul Part 1, definitely on My List of the best things in life!

.

.

.

.

.

400 points……………….In the 2010 Jay Baruchel film, She’s Out of My League, T.J. Miller’s character ‘Stainer’ played in a cover band named Adult Education, with a setlist comprised entirely of songs by this duo, such as the ballad, Everytime You Go Away.

And speaking of entertainment from 2010, the gentlemen in this duo share first names with the TV characters featured below:

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………Still not sure of the artist? Say it isn’t So!

Hopefully a photo clue* or two will help make your (quiz point accumulating) dreams come true!

*apologies for the imperfect spelling / backwards numbers in the St. Louis Blues circa 1991 image, I simply had include Brett & Adam and place them in the appropriate order!

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..Oh-oh here she comes….with another equation clue!

(Arsenio _____ + Quaker _____ )

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is H_____ & O______

.

.

.

Answer:  القاعة والشوفان

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I consider myself fortunate to have a calendar of this duo from 1984 (it was included in one of their LPs).

The countdown is now on until 2040 when I’ll finally be able to use it again!

From → Uncategorized

90 Comments
  1. 500! Lots of info in that first clue!

    • It’s funny, in the first year of these quizzes, I think I only gave 1 piece of info per clue.
      These days, Graham? Only 1 piece of info per clue? I Can’t Go For That!

      • The artists are getting more obscure.

      • Absolutely – if I was sticking to just the artists with albums on the list, it would be getting even more obscure!

      • This week’s artist is maybe the biggest seller of the past decade though. But maybe not matching the demographics of your contestants.

      • In hindsight, I should have included a clue with Nick ______. Next time!

      • You know you have a bunch of ageing music nerds when Nick Drake is more famous than Drake.

  2. Harrison permalink

    100 please

    • On the board, Harrison – I’m looking forward to the lists this coming weekend!

      • Harrison permalink

        I hope it’s not too boring for you listening to us rabbit on about Judas Priest. I accidentally volunteered you without first checking if you were interested. Oops.

      • I’m excited to participate – it was fun to be watching the LeBrain Train live when the plan for the Priest show all came together!

      • Harrison permalink

        It had been in the works for a little while, but that was the official confirmation to the public. I’ve been waiting so long for it. It’s going to be monumentally epic.

      • Sounds promising!
        For spreadsheet purposes – should I be focused on studio albums, or all types of compilations?

      • Harrison permalink

        It will only be studio albums.

      • That simplifies the COUNTIF formulas, excellent!

  3. 200 for me this week!

  4. Easy 500 for me as they are one of my all time favorite duos as a matter of fact.

  5. 500 today, thank you.

  6. Speaking of Columbia House yesterday I had gotten this one through them at the end of the 80s along with Fleetwood Macs Greatest Hits etc…
    Awesome that my Columbia House purchases paid off 30 plus years later lol
    500 points so watch out boy she will chew u up…

    • Whoa there Deke goes – with another perfect score!
      And yes, 3+ decades later, I’m delighted that the 12 for 1 cent deals are still paying off with dividends!

  7. Paul permalink

    500 please! Back on track. Another time guessing on first clue but needing additional ones to confirm.

  8. Zack permalink

    500 thanks to the hidden lyrics in the clue.

  9. jprobichaud permalink

    500! I can’t believe they’re not on the 1001 list!

    • As Jackie Chiles said on Seinfeld, it’s outrageous / egregious / preposterous!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        As Vizzini would say: “Inconceivable!!!”

      • I of course read this in Wallace Shawn’s voice!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        And Andre the Giant saying: “You keep using that word! I don’t think it means what you think it means.”

  10. A tough one I knew at 500 but was not sure until 200. You figure it out sir.

  11. 500 each for me and Mika. They have a Mounties song named after them and it’s a delight.

  12. 500 this week 😀 Been a while.

  13. Only 400 this week. I was thinking of someone else at 500. I learned all about Lyme disease from one of them on The Howard Stern Show.

  14. Sorry, I have no clue who these guys are. Zero points for me, but thanks for the quiz Geoff!

    • Holen permalink

      Really? They were freakin’ huge. I thought they still were.

    • Holen permalink

      You never heard this song?

      I figure no one goes this far down in the comments before figuring out the question, plus it’s been up a while.

    • Holen permalink

      I bet Arsenio Hall would be really upset that his name wasn’t the clue for you though. Unless you really don’t like oatmeal.

      • Yeah, I’ve never heard of this duo or the Arsenio Hall dude. Looking at his picture though, I believe Richie Sambora was on his show in 1992. The song is lame. I can’t believe you brought up their names, Geoff should penalize you for that!

    • Not to worry, Lana – the honesty is appreciated!

  15. Holen permalink

    200! Kinda surprised how ignorant of them I am. All I really know is a song or two and the really homoerotic H20 album cover.

    I didn’t listen to them in their commercial zenith. I’ve never listened to them since either. Haha. And I know shit about hockey (American), so those hints are always totally lost on me. Give me a baseball clue!

    • I’ll see what I can do about a baseball clue – I compared the band Yes’s 3-4-5 albums to the 3-4-5 heart of the ’93 Blue Jays lineup (Molitor-Carter-Olereud) at one point, perhaps it can be repurposed as a future quiz clue!

  16. 200 please.

  17. 500. My favourite is their appearances in the Henry & Glenn comics as satanists that live next door. Oh man.

  18. Somehow i missed answering this quiz, but it’s 400 for me.

  19. Late repose I was travelling last week. So I was out of touch. 500 points please

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #23 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #24 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #25 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #26 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #27 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #28 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #29 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #30 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #31 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  19. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  20. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  21. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  22. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  23. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  24. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  25. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  26. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  27. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  28. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  29. Artist of the Week V – Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment