Skip to content

Artist of the Week V – Quiz #31

August 1, 2021
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is artist-of-the-week-series-5.jpg

Exceptional Artist of the Week V Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2021 Artists of the Week (so far):

Bruno Mars, Stone Temple Pilots, Carole King, 2Pac, “Weird” Al Yankovic, Sonic Youth, Lady Gaga, Lionel Richie, Kings of Leon, Kenny Rogers, Nina Simone, Alice in Chains, Neil Diamond, Cher, Nine Inch Nails, Phil Collins, Curtis Mayfield, Kelly Clarkson, Foo Fighters, The Roots, Bing Crosby, Hall & Oates, Drake, No Doubt, Buffalo Springfield, Keith Urban, The Velvet Underground, Destiny’s Child, Ozzy Osbourne, Crowded House

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Crowded House last week.

The results after 30 weeks (as of Thursday evening – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

.

Ready for Quiz #31?

Hang on to Your Ego!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #31
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..American artist, born in Hawthorne, California in 1942. He appears on the 1001 list numerous times, on a few occasions as a member of a group and once as a solo artist (for his 2004 album, Smile)

.

.

.

.

.

400 points……………….In a song that references the complex legacy & life of this artist (who Just Wasn’t Made For These Times), the missing 4th track name from The Barenaked Ladies’ (BNL)* 1992 album, Gordon.

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………God Only Knows, a quiz just isn’t a quiz without at least 1 puzzle clue!

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..And Wouldn’t it be Nice if there was another equation clue?!



.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is B_______ W__________

.

.

.

Answer:  بريان ويلسون

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

*Is it even possible to reference ‘BNL’ without linking to this brilliant Community scene?!

From → Uncategorized

75 Comments
  1. Love all the clues, especially the Tom Hanks one. Fortunately, however, less than one clue was needed today.
    Nice one Geoff.

  2. 500. I was picking Frank Black from the bonus clue though…

    • It was strange hearing I Know There’s An Answer with different lyrics – in hindsight, I Know There’s An Answer would have worked as the bonus clue!

  3. I wish they all could be 500 pointers. But this one certainly is. Please, thank you, thank you for having me

  4. Zack permalink

    Only 300 this week.

  5. It’s 500 for me today.

  6. 400. I was lying in bed just like he does when I got it.

  7. I will gladly take 500 today sir!

    • Terrific work, John – and your recent post inspired my yard work listening yesterday, I had Tiny Music + Listen Without Prejudice on back to back, I think it boosted my productivity!

  8. Harrison permalink

    200 please

    • Nice work on the family guy / cast away clue, Harrison!

      • Harrison permalink

        I can always count on some random pictures to snag me some points, unless they’re hockey related.

      • Holen permalink

        Come on, Harrison! You didn’t know Smile?

  9. 400 this week!

  10. Man I’m almost a 1000 points back of Mars!! What an awful year lol In saying that 400 points as I’m going back to bed!

    • I’m pleased you got the Gordon clue, Deke!

      • I bought that on CD when it came out. ‘Be My Yoko Ono’ is my fav on that. They need to bring Page back as they are clearly lacking a frontmen.
        Caught em here maybe 5 years ago and Ed us talented but he’s not a front man.

      • Enid probably isn’t the best song, but because it was my gateway to the band, it will always be my favourite!

      • It’s all about the entry point Geoff! As Judas Priest says ‘Point of Entry”! lol

  11. jprobichaud permalink

    500 for me as well. The bonus clue had me going in two directions though because I am so familiar with that Frank Black cover.

    • I think I’ve done the Pixies (and now this artist), but I suppose I could still do a Frank Black solo as an artist of the week – so that knowledge may yet come in handy!

  12. 500 I had to stop and think of it though because I always associated Smile with the band.

  13. I’ll have 500 points today, Geoff.

  14. A surfin’ 500 points! Loved the pic clues too!

  15. 500 each for me and Mika.

  16. Holen permalink

    500, Geoff.

  17. 400 for me also.

  18. May I take a late 500 please?

  19. See I know the band, I just don’t know the members’ names lol! Zero points for me this week. Thanks for the quiz, though, Geoff!

    • I find I’m getting like that with song names, Lana. I can often sing along but can’t recall what the songs are called!

      • I have that struggle too! I hear a song so many times, yet I don’t know the name of it.

  20. Paul permalink

    She’s real fine my 409 (+91) for 500 this week!

  21. Yup, it’s another 500 thanks to the fine influence of my Dad, the man who usually says “there was music?” but always perked up when it was the Beatles and these guys.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #32 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #33 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #34 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #35 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #36 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #37 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #38 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #39 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #40 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  12. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  13. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  14. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  15. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  16. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  17. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  18. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  19. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  20. Artist of the Week V – Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment