Skip to content

Artist of the Week V – Quiz #42

October 17, 2021
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is artist-of-the-week-series-5.jpg

Exceptional Artist of the Week V Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2021 Artists of the Week (so far):

Bruno Mars, Stone Temple Pilots, Carole King, 2Pac, “Weird” Al Yankovic, Sonic Youth, Lady Gaga, Lionel Richie, Kings of Leon, Kenny Rogers, Nina Simone, Alice in Chains, Neil Diamond, Cher, Nine Inch Nails, Phil Collins, Curtis Mayfield, Kelly Clarkson, Foo Fighters, The Roots, Bing Crosby, Hall & Oates, Drake, No Doubt, Buffalo Springfield, Keith Urban, The Velvet Underground, Destiny’s Child, Ozzy Osbourne, Crowded House, Brian Wilson, Fugees, Captain Beefheart, MC Hammer, Hole, The Mamas and the Papas, Pantera, Tori Amos, Sam Cooke, Moby, Yes

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Yes last week.

The results after 41 weeks (as of Monday morning – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

.

Ready for Quiz #42?

This is a one-time exclusive!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #42
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..American artist/producer, born in Virigina in 1971.

She has a pair of Hip Hop and R & B albums on the 1001 list: Under Construction (2002)…

.

.

.

.

.

400 points……………….and her debut, Supa Dupa Fly (1997), whose album cover also included her nickname, “Misdemeanor”

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………Word Puzzle #1, is it worth it?

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..Or how about the solution to word puzzle #2? Work It out!

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is M____y E_______

.

.

.

Answer: ميسي إليوت

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I’ll borrow from my previous review of Supa Dupa Fly, as on her debut, this artist delivered a line for the books that ought to be acknowledged again.

Now I recognize that insults are not necessarily something to celebrate (particularly in a section named Verbalize the Positive!).

But credit where credit is due, this week’s artist delivered a brilliant ‘complisult’ on her track, Pass da Blunt:

“My style is supa dupa fly and yours is so so”

I’m not sure who’s on the receiving end of this song-ending zinger but it’s a devastatingly effective closing statement.

If she’d said, “your style is stupid,” or some equally juvenile variation on an extreme point of view, it’s not a credible insult, it just feels like uninformed name-calling.

But, because she says “yours is so so,” it feels like she’s listened, contemplated, and delivered a lukewarm review.

Which makes such a ‘complisult’ so much more vicious as there’s no comeback for tepid praise!

From → Uncategorized

49 Comments
  1. Harrison permalink

    Not a clue, unfortunately

    • I think you’ll be back on the board next week, Harrison!

      • Harrison permalink

        Ooh. I like the sound of that.

      • I don’t think this week’s will necessarily be a personal favourite, more so the next couple quizzes you shouldn’t run into a ‘no clue’ scenario!

      • Harrison permalink

        I still like the sound of that.

  2. 500! I recall you being pretty enthusiastic about her.

  3. 300 because while I had an inking of a guess at 400, i enjoyed the 300 clue so much I am claiming it and owning it.

  4. 500 each for me and Mika. Thank you, BuzzFeed list of “you won’t believe who turned 50 this year..”

  5. Free corn for me! 500 points please

  6. 400 for me on this one.

  7. 300 today.

  8. 500 for me thanks to my lovely wife. I wouldn’t have got this one, except she really liked that 500 clue album for a while. I think it was still in the car right up until the new car (which doesn’t have a CD player).

  9. 200, I was 99% sure on 400 but 200 for a certainty

  10. I would have been baffled if not by the name of the second clue. My sister played the crap out of this disc at the time… In keeping with the theme for Sloan let’s go with my score of 400 metres…lol

    • Well said, Deke – and thanks to you & Kevin for inspiring my car soundtrack yesterday, Navy Blues!
      I forgot how terrific a closer ‘I’m not through with you yet’ really is

      • Yes that truly is a great album closer. Love that opening line…” She cried, Bingo, you finally clued in”

  11. Zack permalink

    500. It was a good guess.

  12. 300 out-of-puff dragons!

  13. jprobichaud permalink

    400. I somehow knew her nickname but I’m pretty sure I’ve never heard any of her work.

  14. Paul permalink

    400 this week!

  15. Sorry, zero points for me this week. But, thanks for the quiz Geoff!

  16. A lucky guess at 400. I know the name but I couldn’t tell you anything about her.

  17. 400! Sorry I missed this

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week V – Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment