Skip to content

Artist of the Week V – Quiz #40

October 3, 2021
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is artist-of-the-week-series-5.jpg

Exceptional Artist of the Week V Series logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

2021 Artists of the Week (so far):

Bruno Mars, Stone Temple Pilots, Carole King, 2Pac, “Weird” Al Yankovic, Sonic Youth, Lady Gaga, Lionel Richie, Kings of Leon, Kenny Rogers, Nina Simone, Alice in Chains, Neil Diamond, Cher, Nine Inch Nails, Phil Collins, Curtis Mayfield, Kelly Clarkson, Foo Fighters, The Roots, Bing Crosby, Hall & Oates, Drake, No Doubt, Buffalo Springfield, Keith Urban, The Velvet Underground, Destiny’s Child, Ozzy Osbourne, Crowded House, Brian Wilson, Fugees, Captain Beefheart, MC Hammer, Hole, The Mamas and the Papas, Pantera, Tori Amos, Sam Cooke

.

My thanks to all who have participated in the “Artist of the Week” quizzes so far.

Congrats to all those who correctly identified Sam Cooke last week.

The results after 39 weeks (as of Tuesday evening – results submitted after that time will be added to next week’s spreadsheet):

.

.

Ready for Quiz #40?

Ooh Yeah!

.

Quiz Rules/Format
(Same as last year, feel free to skip to the quiz if you know the rules already)

Your Task: Name the mystery Artist, ideally with as few clues as possible.

Correctly guess the artist on the first clue? 500 points.

After scrolling down to the second clue? 400 points.

Still don’t know after the fifth clue? 0 points, but a crisp high-five for participating.

I’ll use google translate to put the correct answer at the bottom in Arabic (if you read Arabic, that’s fantastic, but no cheating by reading ahead!) and you can translate it back to the language of your choice to confirm your answer.

In the comments, please enter your POINTS earned (not the artist name) and I’ll keep track of the running totals in a spreadsheet.

In addition to eternal bragging rights, the winner at the end of the year may even get something as prestigious as a digital certificate.

Here goes!

.

Artist of the Week #40
Record POINTS Earned (Not Artist Name) in the comments
(scroll down for additional clues)

For:

500 points………………..American artist (Birth name Richard Hall), born in New York in 1965.

His 1999 album, Play, is on the 1001 list.

.

.

.

.

.

400 points……………….His middle name is Melville (which may help to explain his stage name) and some of his hit singles include one-word track names such as Porcelain, Bodyrock, and Honey

.

.

.

.

.

300 points……………………Speaking of one-word titles, this artist (who holds the distinction of having the best selling electronica album of all time) is known mononymously, as shown in the puzzle below:

.

.

.

.

.

200 points………………..One-word, two syllables:

.

.

.

.

.

100 points………………..The artist is M____.

.

.

.

Answer: موبي

(Please post your points earned in the comments section)

Thanks for playing!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate his perspective on why he licensed his music for use in films/commercials, I remember seeing him being interviewed, very articulate in his reasoning.

From → Uncategorized

55 Comments
  1. Ah, the album Play was the big fat clue here! Thanks Geoff.

  2. 500. I never owned this album but I was the right age to know lots of people who did.

    • One of those albums I too was aware of but never got around to listening to until this project!

  3. 400 is hitch is better than last week

  4. Sorry zero points for me this week. But, thanks for the quiz Geoff!

  5. Whelp. 200 points for me please. I guess this artist is where I find My Weakness

  6. Harrison permalink

    Never heard of him, but I’ll take 200 please

  7. I’ll take a high five and a goose egg for this one.

  8. 400 for me. The Melville clue helped tremendously.

  9. jprobichaud permalink

    Thankfully, you named the only album I really know by this artist in the first clue. 500 for me.

  10. Dang only 300 points thanks to Maude for pulling this weeks score. lol

  11. Zack permalink

    400. Even though the bonus intro clue made me think of the Kool-aid man.

  12. 500 please. Play is an LP I go back to time and time again.

  13. 300. I only know the name from the Eminem song, lol

  14. 500 each for me and Mika. One time he had a blog post about what to do if you’re attacked by a bear. I don’t know why he did that. But later on I had a dream where I was confronted with a bear and I was super chill about it because I knew what to do from his blog.

    • That’s fantastic – both the scores & the blogging bear advice that made an otherwise stressful dream relaxing!

  15. Paul permalink

    400 please! The Melville clue was the charm!

  16. I get 500, but wouldn’t have if you’d stopped before you named the ’99 album 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #41 | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #42 | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #43 | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #44 | 1001albumsin10years
  5. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #45 | 1001albumsin10years
  6. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #46 | 1001albumsin10years
  7. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #47 | 1001albumsin10years
  8. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #48 | 1001albumsin10years
  9. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #49 | 1001albumsin10years
  10. Artist of the Week V – Quiz #50 | 1001albumsin10years
  11. Artist of the Week V – Final Standings | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment