Skip to content

The Tragically Hip – Man Machine Poem (2016)

August 20, 2016

Man Machine Poem

.

The Hip released Man Machine Poem on June 17, 2016.

Shortly thereafter, my friends Aaron, Brian, and Mike wrote thoughtful reviews.

I planned on finally having my review ready to go for today…and now for Plan B.

Eventually I’d like to write a proper album review but at the moment, considering I’m still floating after seeing The Hip on Thursday and we’re a free city bus ride away from the Kingston festivities tonight, I’m not in any sort of space to string together anything resembling a coherent post!

So in the meantime, please read and enjoy Aaron, Brian & Mike‘s Man Machine Poem reviews, wonderful reviews of a truly wonderful record.

I’ll be back with an epilogue to this series when I can write something that doesn’t feel like I’m shouting in Caps Lock about how excited I am!

Enjoy the show tonight everybody!

.

hipThe Hip Tour/My Post Schedule

Jul 22 2016 The Hip played: Victoria, BC. I played: The Tragically Hip (1987)
Check out these TTH (1987) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Jul 24 2016 The Hip plays: Vancouver, BC. I played: Up to Here (1989)
Check out these Up to Here (1989) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Jul 26 2016 The Hip plays: Vancouver, BC. I played: Road Apples (1991)
Check out these Road Apples (1991) reviews by: Brian, Aaron, Deke

Jul 28 2016 The Hip plays: Edmonton, AB. I played: Fully Completely (1992)
Check out these Fully Completely (1992) reviews by: Brian, Aaron, Sarca

Jul 30 2016 The Hip plays: Edmonton, AB. I played: Day for Night (1994)
Check out these Day for Night (1994) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 1 2016 The Hip plays: Calgary, AB. I played: Trouble at the Henhouse (1996)
Check out these Trouble at the Henhouse (1996) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 3 2016 The Hip plays: Calgary, AB. I played: Live Between Us (1997)
Check out these Live Between Us (1997) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 5 2016 The Hip plays: Winnipeg, MB. I played: Phantom Power (1998)
Check out these Phantom Power (1998) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 8 2016 The Hip plays: London, ON. I played: Music @ Work (2000)
Check out these Music @ Work (2000) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 10 2016 The Hip plays: Toronto, ON. I played: In Violet Light (2002)
Check out these In Violet Light (2002) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 12 2016 The Hip plays: Toronto, ON. I play: In Between Evolution (2004)
Check out these In Between Evolution (2004) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 14 2016 The Hip plays: Toronto, ON. I played: World Container (2006)
Check out these World Container (2006) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 16 2016 The Hip plays: Hamilton, ON. I played: We are the Same (2009)
Check out these We are the Same (2009) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 18 2016 The Hip plays: Ottawa, ON. I play: Now for Plan A (2012)
Check out these Now For Plan A (2012) reviews by: Brian, Aaron

Aug 20 2016 The Hip plays: Kingston, ON. I attempted to review: Man Machine Poem (2016)
Check out these Man Machine Poem (2016) reviews by: Aaron, Brian & Mike

Epilogue to be posted..

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. HAVE FUN TONIGHT!!!!!!

    (I’m excited for you)

    P.S.

    I would seriously be walking around in your city with a “I need 1 Hip ticket” sign if I were you

  2. Enjoy it all my friend!

  3. Jenn permalink

    Have a great time tonight! Looking forward to hearing about the Ottawa concert next weekend. We’ve given out over 200 tickets for our streaming, so its gonna be a full house at Vaughan Public Libraries tonight!

  4. Geoff, thanks for linking up. It was a very emotional night for all of us last night. A wonderful time. What a performance. One I’ll never forget.

    • My pleasure Mike – speaking of having a tough time having much to say, I’m trying to picture a scenario where I’ll be able to disconnect the emotions & successfully review Man Machine Poem, I don’t think I’ll be able to anytime soon.
      These tracks were a real highlight to me during Saturday’s show – Tired as fuck & In a world possessed especially!

      • Yes agree, and I liked that they did a little mini-set of songs from that album. And it was cool how great the new songs stood up against the old, as my wife and I bopped familiarly to them!

      • And I liked how they grouped the songs by album, a nice sequence. Glad to hear Jen enjoyed the show too!

  5. Thanks for all the links, through this series, Geoff. I’ll sit here and patiently await your (surely glowing) review of MMP.

    In the meantime, get out there and give ‘er!

    • I really enjoyed checking your posts & Bop’s after I’d written mine, to see if we had similar stand-out tracks.
      When I’m eventually able to review MMP, it inevitably will be glowing – a beautiful album!

      • Funny, I often have a hard time picking stand out tracks, it’s like choosing between children – you just don’t do it! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 “I’m Grateful For…” | 1001albumsin10years
  2. 1978 | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a comment