Skip to content

Limp Bizkit – Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water (2000)

March 10, 2015

[Album 382/1001]220px-Limp_Bizkit_Chocolate_Starfish_and_the_Hotdog_Flavored_Water

The 5 best things about this album:

5. Although I enjoy a good counting challenge (see RHCP’s California lyric distribution & Wu-Tang’s ‘know what I’m sayin’ tally), I appreciate that Fred Durst saved me a bit of time here.

The second track, Hot Dog, features the lyric,

“If I say ____, two more times
That’s forty six ____s in this ____ed up rhyme”

So thank you for anticipating my question and allowing me to listen the track without tabulating anything!

4. Rollin’ has the potential to be a solid rap/rock song (not unlike Kid Rock’s Bawitdaba).

3. Limp Bizkit can be effective at mid-song breakdowns & rebuilds.  They did it well with Nookie, they do it well here a few times.

2. The Mission Impossible 2 feature (Take a Look Around) was an interesting take on the familiar spy theme.

1. Limp Bizkit knew their audience: with more than a million units shifted in its first week, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water (CSATHDFW) was The fastest selling rock album (to that point) in history.

.

In hindsight, it’s amazing this album was so successful, given that:

– the title might be the least appealing album name in recent memory (not to mention the cover art)
– its lead singer might be even less appealing

Ignoring the person & the lyrics for the moment, Durst’s vocals are OK when he’s either yelling or singing.  Far too often however, he employs an obnoxious, whiny yet confrontational, voice that renders some of the songs un-listenable.

Though perhaps still more listenable than the extended Ben Stiller appearance on track 15.

When Stiller is on his game (Dodgeball, Zoolander) he can be very effective; when he’s not, it can be painful.

I’m afraid this on-CD appearance is another one of those misses.

But his lengthy cameo summarizes the overall CSATHDFW experience: some decent moments, overshadowed somewhat by delivery that was more annoying than enjoyable.  Some might say the same about this review!

Also not unlike this review, CSATHDFW the album/album title/even the 8-letter acronym, is too long.

From → 2000s

43 Comments
  1. One of the great things about store play CD rules is “no profanity”. Because of that clause I escaped having to listen to this, or any LB.

    But I do have to ask: Ben Stiller? Why? I know Durst had a cameo in Zoolander but did Derek Zoolander himself need a cameo?

    • Maybe that was the arrangement, a bizarre co-branding effort?
      I could have done without the Stiller cameo here – it was a spoken track at the end that went on for several minutes. It’s an endurance test, like listening to Pearl Jam’s Bugs!

      • Hahahahahhaahah! Tho I love “Bugs” now…I think I’d rather take “Bugs”!

        To me it smacks of Durst using a “name” to hype his crappy record.

      • And as would I!
        Yeah I was looking at other reviews at one point, I think Robert Christgau said something like this LB album features ‘the best rhymes money can borrow’ as there are a few other big name appearances.
        It may not stay in the rotation for me!

      • I think Bizkit’s real talent lay in two guys — Wes Borland and DJ Lethal. Borland’s out there, but he’s incredibly skilled and driven. When they lost Borland, they put out their worst record. I think DJ Lethal has since split the band too.

      • That sounds like what I read as well.

        I struggle with lyrics where the singer is addressing a DJ (it happened a few times here) – I find it takes me out of a song. Just let the DJ do his/her thing, quit namedropping them!

      • I think that’s all hype. DJ Lethal was well known from House of Pain…and he had a cool name, may as well name drop?

      • Ahh that makes sense – may also explain why after listening to “Rollin” I found myself singing “Shamrocks & Shenanigans” – similar feel!

      • I prefer House of Pain’s lyrics though – I could probably sing along, can’t remember alas without the music – ‘like Stephen King writes horror’ was one of the similes!

      • I’d have said My World, on UYI II…

      • YES – though at least it was mercifully shorter than 2 minutes I think? Can’t believe nobody voted for it in the choose your illusion!

      • Conversely, I’d have been shocked if anyone DID vote for it.

      • Ditto – my sarcasm doesn’t translate as well in text only!

      • Yeah, I learned long ago the sarcasm thing doesn’t work in type.. unless you use emojis, or re-word it so it’s really clear! No worries, now I read it back and I can see what you meant.

      • Excellent – I’ll add an emoticon or some sort of emphasis next time!

      • House Of Pain to Limp Bizkit. Ye gods. We all make life choices, I know, but…

  2. At the time, I heard the biggest songs and thought it was silly meathead music. I have totally avoided these guys all these years and hadn’t even thought about them until you posted this. Was this seriously on the list? Wow.

    • ’twas – but I think it’s since been removed to make room for post-2005 albums, while still keeping the magic number at 1001 albums.
      I’d say it belongs on the 1001 you ‘must hear’ (as opposed to ‘best’) list though in terms of appreciating the strange cycles that popular music takes.
      To be fair, the backing band sounds pretty cohesive -I’m just relieved Durst was never called things like ‘the spokesperson for his generation’ – yikes!

      • Yeah I gotta admit I’m still not feeling the pull towards them, even if it was for understanding popular music. Not my bag!

        Besides, we all know that Billie Joe Armstrong is our spokesperson, not Fred The Nookie Durst.

      • It would be rather unfortunate, our parents had Dylan, we get Durst?!

      • And who would it be now, Jay-Z and Beyonce? Like that’s any better.

  3. F-kin awful shite.

    (I do really like their earlier track ‘Break Stuff’ tho)

  4. My childhood. All in one album.

  5. Yeah I don’t think this deserves it’s spot in the 1001 albums list. Maybe I could grudgingly accept ‘Significant Other’ being there, mostly for the influence it had at the time and that it was relatively original.

  6. My word! This made the 1001? Really?

    Urgh.

    • No joke alas!
      I’d argue it’s on there for being ‘representative of its time’ as opposed to ‘timeless excellence’

      • … incredible. I have a genuine dislike of this ‘band’.

  7. You are one brave man for listening all the way through. I personally think they’re a complete joke.

    • Not meaning to brag, but I ended up listening all the way a couple times! Though admittedly, not the whole closing spoken track, once was more than plenty there

  8. I never liked this band at all…and to say they are in the 1001 albums? Ech! Questionable.

    • Yeah, seconded for sure on that one.

      At the store, we called him Fred Worst. Good on Geoff for staying true to his mission and listening though.

      • I kept hoping to read that Fred Worst donated 1/2 the earnings to a worthwhile cause (so I would say Oh, that’s nice, instead of ecch!) – and my thanks Mike, some albums require more perseverance than others!

  9. you listened more than once?! glad to see your still with us! phew!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Slipknot – Slipknot (1999) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Linkin Park – Hybrid Theory (2000) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

