Skip to content

Snoop Doggy Dogg – Doggystyle (1993)

October 4, 2015

[Album 427/1001]

I’ve been listening to a pair of albums on repeat this week.

First, I’ve continued to spin Red Dirt Girl, terrific stuff.

The second album was somehow equally, if a dramatically different brand of, terrific.

The second artist?

As Will Farrell called him in Old School, that would be Snoop-a-Loop.

.

.

Snoop’s debut, Doggystyle, is irresistible.

Yes, the violence, misogyny, profanity, and marijuana cigarettes individually & collaboratively run rampant.SnoopDoggyDoggDoggystyle

This was not surprising.

I was surprised however by:

a) how much I looked forward to subsequent Doggystyle listens

b) how disappointed I was when a listening session was cut short

c) how grateful I was for the cooler, windows-rolled-up-in-the-car-while-listening weather

One minor complaint: there’s not enough Snoop.

It may seem like an odd request for an artist to be more selfish but I found the constant Dr. Dre name-checks and the long list of guest spots somewhat distracting.

But not enough of a distraction to bump it out of the rotation; the laid back grooves & delivery should keep this album within an arm’s length of my car stereo.

Though maybe not actually in the stereo when the kids are in the car.

From → 1990s

25 Comments
  1. I don’t know too much about Snoop, except whatever I’ve heard on my hip hop compilations, but I know enough about him that I’m going to take this post as a recommendation to check out this album!

    Also: I used to play the Beastie Boys for my daughter late at night, driving her around the block to get her to go to sleep when she was a baby. Is Snoop that bad?

    • Haha, I did the late night hip hop drives with my infant daughter when I was listening to Jay Z’s the blueprint – something about the basslines with the beasties and I guess most hip hop, seems to do the trick!
      It’s strange, I knew going in the lyrics would be what they were, so they weren’t shocking per se.
      The attitudes towards women were deplorable on the CD but the grooves & his laid back delivery were terrific.
      Difficult to reconcile the two but when listening I found I focused more on ‘how’ he said things vs. ‘what’ he said

      • I think you’d find attitudes towards women deplorable in many places in hip hop. It’s one thing that always disgusted me. But then you’d get 2Pac giving shout-outs to the ladies every now and then, and it would help, but not enough. There’s probably a whole thesis paper to be written in the societally dangerous elements in the music. Ain’t gonna be me, but somebody smarter could do it!

        I never thought about the bassline being what knocked my girl out, I figured she was just a funky kid who dug the Beasties’ overall groove! But yeah that throbbing bass would work (even at the low volume I was playing it – she had to sleep, after all). I think it worked – she’s still a funky kid.

      • I’d read such a paper – or at least the abstract summary!
        It’s refreshing hearing the 2Pacs of the world give the ladies shout-outs, I remember being impressed with an Ice T song where he was concerned about the welfare of kids in his community. Socially conscious rap, my favourite kind!

  2. I forgot about Old School! I need to watch that again. I was never a big fan of Snoop, though he’s quite a character. He pops up in a lot of movies.

    And getting to drive with the windows shut means we can sing louder in the car without people hearing us!

    • Great film!
      and cheers to loud car singing – people likely get a good visual show (if not audio) when I pull up at a red light!

      • Snoop. Snoop-a-loop. We’re going streaking. Come on. Bring your green hat.

      • Through the quad to the gymnasium!
        So good

      • Watched parts of it the night before I got married. I brought some of my fave wedding movies to the hotel…watched the bits I like.

        You three darts in your f*****g neck, man!

        You…you’re…you’re crazy.

      • haha, I remember howling at that scene in the theatre!

      • Oh, that happened to me once. It was really early in the morning. I thought I was safe. I can’t remember what I was singing so expressively, but I turned and accidentally made full eye contact with the guy in the car next to me. Oy.

      • Haha, it happens to the best of them, I’m sure he enjoyed the performance!

  3. Snoop! He contributed quite a bit to Dre’s debut album the year before. There seemed to be a lot of collaboration especially in the early days of Death Row Records. Dr. Dre and Suge Knight had quite a challenge during the recording of this album: Snoop was implicated in a murder and it looked like he’d be found guilty.
    Not only did Snoop not go to jail but his debut album was instrumental in putting West Coast hip hop on the map.

    • I haven’t heard the Chronic yet, I gather it’s on par with this one.
      Crazy name for a label, as he was actually on trial for murder.
      Thanks Danica!

      • You’ll probably really like it.
        Yes, the name seems rather prophetic doesn’t it? I don’t know much about the details of the case but by all accounts he wasn’t expected to walk. I’m not sure who paid for his defence (at that point he hadn’t sold any albums) but it seems like those at the label helped.

  4. I like Snoop. I don’t own any Snoop. I guess it’s obvious which to get.

  5. I can’t get with Snoop, I’ve tried but the sexism thing is a good 40% more than Steel Panther – and they were joking!

  6. He’s such a parody of himself now that it’s hard to even remember a time when he was innovative (in terms of style and flow). I need to dig this one out …

    I’d read an interview recently (well, after his rasta period (is he still in that?) where he was suggesting he was the reincarnation of Bob Marley!

    • Oh dear!
      My students were saying he called himself Snoop Lion for a week or so too? Perhaps it’s best I’ve stayed out of the loop, that does sound like he’s becoming a caricature!

      • Jings! I’d forgotten about that … he certainly was referring to himself as Snoop Lion! Don’t know what he’s called now. The Artist Formerly Known As … ?

      • Snoop-donna?

      • Oh he’ll be a symbol before too long as well!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Autumn Colours | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

