Skip to content

The Beta Band – Heroes to Zeros (2004)

July 28, 2017

unnamed

Fabulous logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 550/1001]

As shown in the 500 point clue from this week’s quiz, The Beta Band was featured prominently in a High Fidelity record store scene.

As the last 3 lines of dialogue essentially summarize my feelings for the band, here’s the scene!

Customer: Who is this?
Rob: The Beta Band
Customer: It’s good.
Rob: I know.

.

“And the music we make is not particularly good”
– The Beta Band, Eclipse

False.

Heroes to Zeros is good.

Yet I’m not sure if I have a satisfactory explanation for why the music they make IS particularly good.

But it’s good. And I know it.

Even if I can’t identify specifically just why it is, after listening to The Beta Band this week, I’m definitely feeling more confident in my ability to identify them in a game of name that tune.

Or at least if one of their songs comes on when I’m out record shopping, I won’t have to ask the shopkeeper who it is.

Though like both the customer and Cusack’s character in the clip, I’ll still bop along.

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Cheers to artists to write bop-along, indescribably good music!

From → 2000s

12 Comments
  1. Spinning as I read. Excellent. Thanks for the prompt.

  2. Yeah…I’ve never heard of the Beta Band…(Sheepish grin)

    • Apart from the High Fidelity scene, I don’t think I’d heard of them before this list either – I’ll join you in a sheepish grin!

  3. Hurrah! I’m glad you’re digging this lot. I truly am. I know what you mean about not being able to specify exactly what it is that makes them great… they just are.

    • And if the solo projects are quite good too, I’m happy to learn this is just the beginning!

      • I think there’s a lot there to discover (I haven’t been all that taken by Steve Mason’s latest one, though).

  4. Agree with J.

  5. Sometimes you don’t need to be able to verbalize what it is about a band’s tunes that hits you right – just go with your gut!

    • And my gut told me that it was good, even if my brain couldn’t articulate it any more specifically!

Leave a Reply

