Skip to content

Top 5 “Jane” Songs

July 13, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

Jane, a lovely name.

And, not so coincidentally, featured prominently in the following 5 tracks!

.

5. Nick Drake, Hazey Jane II
Track two on Bryter Layter was almost as strong as…

.

4. Nick Drake, Hazey Jane I
…track five on Bryter Layter!

.

3. Barenaked Ladies, Jane
I’m not sure many Torontonians would describe the intersection of Jane St & St. Clair as “sweet” but this descending guitar pattern certainly is.

.

2. Jane’s Addiction, Jane Says
Bonus marks for Jane in the artist + song name. The steel drum doesn’t hurt its case either!


.

1. Rivers Cuomo, Autumn in Jayne (also known as Autumn Jane)
Or perhaps it should be credited to a Rivers side project named Homie? In any event, finding high quality recordings of some of these unreleased Rivers gems would probably be dreaming the impossible dream!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

A tip of the hat to my personal favourite Jane, my mom!

From → Uncategorized

47 Comments
  1. Enjoying these lists! I’d have to add Sweet Jane, by Lou Reed and Velvet Underground. And Metallica. 🙂

    • Cheers Danica!
      And darn it – I forgot Sweet Jane (as covered by the Cowboy Junkies), that would probably be my #6!

  2. Jane by BNL is a great song. Thanks for the reminding me.

  3. Glad I didn’t see the awful “Baby Jane” by Rod Stewart in this list! However I would possibly sneak in the very wonderful “Mary Jane” off Alanis Morissette’s “Jagged Little Pill”

  4. For me it would be
    Oh Jane-Anvil
    Lady Jane – Rolling Stones
    Jane – BNL
    Jane Says – Jane’s Addiction
    Sweet Jane – Velvet Underground

    • I’m not familiar with the Anvil track – but I’m pleased to see it boost the CanCon percentage!

  5. Sweet Jane by VU wins for me.

  6. You all forgot Mary Jane by Megadeth. Shame on you all!

  7. Definitely Lady Jane by the Stones.

    And don’t forget Krautrock band Jane!

  8. Great list. I actually like Jane by Starship…one of only a few songs I like by them.

    • Cheers – and I can’t recall that track, I’ll check it out!

    • I love that song too. Each name transition from Jefferson Airplane to Jefferson Starship to Starship went from great to good to awful.
      This song by Jefferson Starship was a diamond in the rough though.
      It may even displace one of my top 5.

      • You are spot on with each transition of that band. By the end, it was really, really awful.

      • In my see-them-before-they-die concert visits, I saw the current incarnation with Paul Kantner just a few months before he died. (Trivia: Signe Anderson died on the same day.) Probably better than the later incarnations of Starship. I was never a fan, but it was a good live show.

        Another in the series was Tangerine Dream, and a few months later Edgar Froese died.

        Paul Simon hasn’t died yet. I was nonplussed by his concert, though, probably because I am more a fan of Simon and Garfunkel.

        A recent Art Garfunkel concert was really, really good. Go see him before he dies.

        Simon and Garfunkel really should do another reunion tour. The other two were pretty good.

  9. Yeah, ‘Jane Says’ is the first one that comes to mind. What about The Vines’ ‘Mary Jane’ ?

    • A good call – highly evolved would be in my top 5 opening tracks, #1 if I had a Top 5 ’94 seconds or less’ tracks!

  10. Let’s up the funk quotient with “Mary Jane” by Rick James!! (Yes, it is about marijuana.)

  11. Plain Jane by Sammy Hagar from his Live 1980 album…Good yet simple catchy rock ditty!

  12. jprobichaud permalink

    Sweet Jane by VU would likely be my number one as well and BNL track is pretty great. What surprises me is that no one has mentioned Janie’s got a gun on here.

    • I thought about that song as well but did not since like Mary Jane, it’s a different name.

    • A lot of votes for Sweet Jane – I’m hoping to get to a couple of the VU albums on the list before the end of the year!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        Oh oh oh. Do the first one. Do the first one.

  13. What about having Jane (the German band Phillip Helbig mentioned) as patron Saints? I like Jane.

    • I have a Fender Dual Showman guitar amplifier which has the Jane logo stamped on the back. I bought it used in Hamburg. Presumably it once belonged to someone in Jane.

      • That is very cool indeed. Perhaps even on the “At Home” Live album!

      • There are now (at least) two incarnations of Jane, sort of like Barclay James Harvest in that respect. 😦 I saw at least one of the later incarnations, but that was 30 years ago! I don’t have any albums but have heard some, long ago. On my very long list of things to check out.

        Any photo of Jane with the Dual Showman (not that common) is probably my amp!

    • I hadn’t heard of them before this list – but I suppose that’s part of the fun of doing these lists!

  14. Wait! Jane Says second to Weezer and no Sweet Jane (Cowboy Junkies version for me) or Queen Jane Approximately!? This does not compute! I’d also have Crow Jane in there (Nick Cave’s is pretty great).

    Jane Says being #1, of course.

Leave a Reply

