Skip to content

The Dictators – Go Girl Crazy! (1975)

June 3, 2017

unnamed

Sensational logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 539/1001]

“I’m so excited, I’m so excited, I’m so scared”
– Jessie Spano on Saved by the Bell
(original episode here & Jimmy Fallon reunion here)

Switch the order the slightly, and the Saved by the Bell quote above conveniently summarizes my emotional rollercoaster with Go Girl Crazy!

Quite frankly, I’ve never been more excited about a record, then more frightened about a record, and then more excited about a record again.

The obligatory charts & graphs to explain:

1. I’m so excited…to see the delightful front cover

I_m so excited,

.

2. I’m so scared…that the lyrics will be like the racist phone-in callers from Public Enemy’s Incident at 66.6 FM

I_m so excited2

.

3. I’m so excited…that my fears were unfounded and I couldn’t wait to re-listen to the album repeatedly!

I_m so excited3

.

The Dictators remind me a lot of The Darkness.

Not necessarily musically, but more in terms of their creative branding and the immediate buy-in they received from me.

The aforementioned front cover redefines sore thumb marketing – how could I possibly NOT invest in this CD?

Prior to the opening track, when the lead singer, the sequin-jacket & unitard-sporting Handsome Dick Manitoba, informs the listener, “I didn’t have to show up here, with my vast financial holdings…” – how could I possibly NOT give him my instant & undivided attention?

Not to mention the closing Beach Boys pastiche, (I Live For) Cars and Girls, with the not-so-expletive-laden chorus, “there’s nothing else in this gosh darn world, except for cars and girls” – how could I possibly NOT sing this ad nauseam ever since? (sorry family & friends 🙂 )

.

It’s possible that this Dictators album was a right place/right time album for me; that being said, I don’t see my enthusiasm level dipping any time soon.220px-TheDictatorsGoGirlCrazy

If The Dictators have as much in common with The Darkness as I believe they do, they’ll be sticking around the listening rotation indefinitely.

Finally, I quite admired their special thanks from the CD liner notes, “Special Thanks to Epic Records who obviously know a contender when they see one.”

While it’s still way too soon to say, Go Girl Crazy! could end up being my favourite new-to-me album of the 1001 project.

Or at the very least, I’d like to think I know a contender when I see one.

.

Verbalize the Positive

Cheers to HMO for writing about this album recently, I think I found the CD later that week/month as it was in my top-of-the-mind awareness after his post.

I intentionally didn’t re-read his review before posting, but I’m off to do it now – please join me!

 

From → 1970s

18 Comments
  1. Any album featuring a man in a leotard and fake afro named ‘Handsome Dick Manitoba’ just has to be a classic, nicht war?

    As always, educational graphics, though minus half a mark for not plunging naked into maximum excitement photos.

    • Haha, I’ll grudgingly accept the deduction!
      If I had somehow been able to procure the leotard/fro/sunglasses/boxing boots, I might have been able to express my excitement accordingly!

  2. jprobichaud permalink

    I think, based on your graphics and photos, my reaction would be scared, scared, question mark. (Question mark because I’ve never heard these folks before). The album cover and track listing were quite scary…

    • JP – don’t fear the photo, it’s so ridiculous it works!

      • jprobichaud permalink

        I know it’s ridiculous and I know it works but I can’t help being a little bit scared nonetheless.

  3. Are you a Two Tub Man now then?

    Loved this. Best new-to-you album of the project? That is high praise!

    The rarities comp Every Day Is Saturday is also great. Worth it even for the liner notes… I think you’d enjoy it a lot.

    • Cheers HMO – if the liner notes are anything like this one, that does sound like a comp I’d enjoy.

      This is just a hobby for me, ya hear!

  4. I just can’t wait to review this album Geoff. I hope I get as much excitement as you do and you’re right, great album….even better cover.

    • I look forward to that review – and seeing that smiling Handsome Dick Manitoba with his sequin jacket again!

  5. Not a Dictators fan, but the solo offshoot Manitoba’s Wild Kingdom were incredibly great. May I?

    • This is so, so good.

      • Isn’t it just?! The LP is called ‘And You’.

    • That is exemplary!
      I like how I have no idea if the video was made in 1982 or much more recently – either way, I endeavor to learn the choreography so I can break it out the next time I’m wearing sports equipment!

  6. This is on my list (thanks to HMO), but I just haven’t gotten around to doing much about it yet. Such a great, great front cover.

    • If it doesn’t end up being my favourite new-to-me album, it will surely remain among my favourite new-to-me album covers!

  7. It’s been ages since I heard this, but I love it unreservedly. Somehow I think my copy is missing, though. Lent out and not returned? Possible. Time to replace. Glad you dug this record!

Leave a Reply

