Skip to content

LL Cool J – Mama Said Knock You Out (1990)

May 31, 2017

unnamed

Exemplary logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 538/1001]

“I’ve got seven women on my mind,
Four that wanna own me,
Two that wanna stone me,
One says she’s a friend of mine”
– The Eagles, Take it Easy

Ladies Love Cool James.

But do they?

Is he really universally loved by ladies?220px-Mama_Said_Knock_You_Out_(LL_Cool_J_album_-_cover_art)

Or is it a scenario like the Eagles track, where given a group of seven women/ladies, four are fans, two most definitely are not, and one just wants to be friends?

This week, I turned to Facebook in search of answers.

Conveniently, seven of my female Facebook friends participated in this week’s LL Cool J quiz, and so I asked them to be a part of a focus group.

The results are below (thanks ladies, sorry LL Cool J), enjoy!

.

Slide1

.

Slide2

.

Slide3

.

Slide4

.

Slide5

.

Slide6

.

Slide7

.

Verbalize the Positive

Though they may not all appreciate the apparent Coolness of James, I thoroughly appreciate that Emily, Jenn, Katie, Kristin, Maressa, Steacy, and Wendy all participated in my first-ever 1001albumsin10years focus group!

From → 1990s

17 Comments
  1. jprobichaud permalink

    Great post! I’ve often wondered if ladies really did love Cool James and now I have my answer.

  2. What kind of mind altering chemical do you take to come up with this stuff? If so can I have some?

  3. Awesome post! I’m sure his mom loves him

  4. Marvellous. Simply marvellous.

  5. Wonderful, Geoff. Wonderful.

    Perhaps he should rename himself NALL Cool J?

  6. I always interpreted the line in the Eagles song as 2 women that want to get high with him, not like the old biblical sense of killing him.
    Since this was the 70’s it seemed to fit better to me.

    • So in that case, I suppose The Eagles would have been more frightened of the 4 women that wanted to ‘own’ him rather than get stoned with him!

  7. I’m with Bop on the “stone” thing – I always interpreted it as getting high, not biblically killing him, ‘cos holy mackerel ladies, calm down with the death threats haha!

    As for whether the ladies really do like Cool James, I can’t help but wonder if any of the answers might have been different if this survey had been conducted in 1990…

    • I suppose he wasn’t anticipating a focus group to question the continued accuracy of his nickname 27 years later!

  8. Not sure if you knew but Mama Said Knock You Out was a diss song towards Kool Moe Dee who had a long beef with LL Cool J. The beef all started with Kool Moe Dee’s “How Ya Like Me Now” in 1987. Strangely, both Kool Moe Dee and MC Shan (who also beefed with LL) claimed Cool J “stole” their style. Of course these were the good old days when rap beefs were strictly settled on record, not the streets. Cool post, stephen!

    • I was not aware of that!
      I think I much prefer beefs being settled that way – thanks aaronpkahle!

Leave a Reply

