Skip to content

Top 5 ‘Shack’ Tracks

May 18, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

Did you ever play that game ‘MASH’ as a youth?

Where you counted around a square to see if you were going to live in a Mansion, Apartment, Shack, or House?

We shan’t play it here today, but in honour of The B-52s during their residency as Artist of the Week, I give you the Top 5 ‘Shack’ tracks.

Enjoy the list & good luck in your next MASH game!

.

5. Jimmy Gilmer and the Fireballs, Sugar Shack
Incidentally, splendid backup band name.

.

4. The B-52s, Love Shack
The musical equivalent of the Leaning Tower of Pisa perhaps, but both draw crowds regardless.

 

.

3. The Temptations, Psychedelic Snack
If the song is to be believed, this is where it’s at.

.

2 New Order, Rock the Shack
Maybe the most rockin’ New Order track I’ve heard.


.

1. Weezer, Back to the Shack
I’ll happily rock out like it’s ’94 any day.

…..

Verbalize the Positive

It’s been really nice biking to work this week!

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. In my itunes I only have 4 songs with Shack in the title, and three of them overlap – don’t have the Weezer or Jimmy Gilmer. So I’m not much help.

  2. Would it surprise you if I said numero uno ought to be ZZ Top’s Ninja Shack? Another one in there would be One Room Country Shack by Mercy Dee Walton.

    Also, I’m intrigued by the effect of a Psychedelic Snack 😉

    • It would appear that you can have your fortune told and learn the meaning of soul. Still intrigued? Then you can find it right around the corner and just across the track.

    • I’m not familiar with that ZZ tune – what an intriguing title though, doesn’t seem like a likely ninja hangout!

  3. ‘One room country shack’ has been recorded many many times. There’s a suburb of shacks, right there.

    My contribution to the shack attack?

    Jimmy Smith: Back at the Chicken Shack – groovy jazz organ from THE Hammond man.

  4. Fun read. Very impressed with your restraint to not include Shaq.

  5. I have an awesome dance routine worked out to Love Shack, if anyone’s interested.

  6. “Fun read. Very impressed with your restraint to not include Shaq.” or “Boom Shakalaka” by Apache Indian….awful song which I’m hoping you never have the inclination to seek out

  7. I would go with Teenage Heads “Shag Shack’
    Check it out on youtube!

  8. I’m most impressed that you came up with five songs with Shack in the title! Well done! So of course I checked my iTunes and I had Rheostatics’ Shack In The Cornfields off 2067…

Leave a Reply

