Skip to content

The B-52’s – The B-52’s (1979)

May 16, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 537/1001]

The B-52s.

Or apparently since 2008, The Artist formerly known as the B-52s.

The apostrophe dropping may be subtle but it got me thinking about the grammar emphasis on possession rather than plural.The_B-52's_cover

In this case, the album, The B-52s.

IS the album:

Like the B-52 hairstyle, a little top-heavy?

Like the B-52 cocktail, full of distinct layers while still being smooth & delicious?

Like the B52 opening chess move, a strategic way to make an entrance?

Like the B-52 aircraft, capable of operating at high speeds without stopping to refuel?

Probably a bit of all of the above.

But I’d argue B-52 is closer to a description of its expected academic grade range.

It’s better than a 52 (a pass to be sure) but it might not climb higher than a B (70-79%).

As far as report cards go, that’s generally considered ‘satisfactory.’

Though to their credit, The B-52s pictured below made for a satisfying collaboration!

b 52

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Cheers to bands that release eccentric records. Not all will be up my street but I applaud artists for venturing into largely unexplored areas!

From → 1970s

21 Comments
  1. I think that cassette has had enough to drink. There’s a definite slip in the slipcase.

    • And as you can see in the background, it’s still daylight, the cassette started the party early!

  2. I don’t know this one at all. I know a couple of tracks from it, right enough… I get the impression I’m probably sorted, then?

  3. Love Shack!

  4. I enjoy the B-52’s. I watched them in concert one day from start to finish. I wasn’t into every song but I was in awe with how the performed.

    • And I gather the performance is an important part of this band – I think they’re still a going concern, I may have to check them out if they swing through Ontario!

  5. I love their general oddness and quirky styling but I know they had consistency problems. They’re probably the kind of band a Greatest Hits collection is all you’ll need.

    • I believe it was Monty Python that had the line, “and now for something completely different” – it feels a bit like that with this group, definitely a change of pace, which can be refreshing!

  6. Thanks for not dismissing them as a quirky party band. I’ve spent decades defending the B-52’s and maintain there’s far more to them than wacky wigs and space travel. In their early years they often played as support to Talking Heads which seems appropiate as both bands dealt heavily in urban paranoia and alienation. In 1980 at least. I’ll grant you it’s difficult to make a case for the Flintstones theme.

    • Interesting to hear they supported Talking Heads – that’s another group I’m not terribly familiar with beyond a couple tracks (but their first 4 albums are on the 1001, so that will change soon enough!).
      From my limited experience with both, they feel like bands I admire more than enjoy, but perhaps when I dig further in, the enjoyment and admiration levels may start to balance out, thanks Kid Slender!

  7. If I may paraphrase your writing:

    Cheers to bloggers that listen to eccentric records. (So I don’t have to!)

  8. It was an energetic dance album…

Leave a Reply

