Skip to content

Top 5 Musical ‘Taylor’s

May 5, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

James Taylor already made an appearance on my Top 5 Guitarists named James.

But is he among the finest Taylors?

We shall see!

.

5. Taylor Swift
She’d be #1 on my daughter’s list.

.

4. Taylor Hawkins
Based on his work with Alanis Morissette (adhering to HMO’s strict “No Grohl” policy)

.

3. James Taylor
Now don’t you cry for James.

.

2. Mick Taylor
On any given day, Sway might be my favourite Stones track

.

1. Roger Taylor
The Roger Taylor from Queen (with an honourable mention to the Roger Taylor from Duran Duran)

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Bonus marks to Duran Duran for likely having the most ‘Taylor’s on a 1001-listed album – their album Rio featured 3 (John, Andy, Roger)!

From → Uncategorized

24 Comments
  1. Mick Taylor was my immediate thought, glad to see you got him covered!

    • I haven’t hear much of his work outside of the stones – but those albums that he recorded with the stones was more than enough evidence to earn his spot here!

      • Yes.

        His stuff in John Mayall and the Blues Breakers was worthy of 1001 inclusion.

        He replaced Peter Green and Mick Fleetwood, who had replaced Clapton and Jack Bruce.

        (Ok. Now I need to do a John Mayall and the Blues Breakers post)

      • I’d be happy to read such a post, not a bad collection of guitarists there!

      • I will add it to the ever growing list in my brain.

  2. 5 Taylor Hawkins
    4 James Taylor
    3 Philthy Animal Taylor
    2 Roger Taylor
    1 Mick Taylor

  3. Love Geoff’s comment for Grohl! Hahaha!
    Roger Taylor gets Numero 1 especially for that drum groove he lays down on Dragon Attack!

    • Cheers Deke!
      And Roger got extra marks in my books for all his vocal recordings too – I understand that whenever Queen did a 3-part harmony, the 3 singers each recorded each note, so you’d have that huge 9-voice sound – so he had to be #1!

      • Did not know that! Talk about being creative. Who thinks of doing that stuff just boggles the mind!

  4. Mick Taylor is a very nice inclusion. He features on my favourite John Mayall album, ‘Blues from Laurel Canyon’. Piece on it here: (shameless, I know, but this one I was quite pleased with)
    https://vinylconnection.com.au/2013/11/29/walking-towards-sunset/

  5. You missed fellow Canadian R.Dean Taylor. “Indiana Wants Me” I used to like that song when I was a little kid. It was one of the first songs I remembered, and in later years I remember his “There’s A Ghost In My House” which was also pretty awesome.

  6. oh and Rolling Stones had another Taylor. Dick Taylor if I recall correctly and he later went on to form The Pretty Things.

  7. Nice list, especially with the mighty Roger Taylor at #1. Since I’m 50 and don’t have kids I have very little knowledge of Taylor Swift other than what I’ve heard at the gym, so I can’t argue for or against her inclusion. I would just like to add a nomination for Taylor Hanson of the very under-appreciated Hanson and the one-off “supergroup” Tinted Windows with James Iha (Smashing Pumpkins), Adam Schlesinger (Fountains Of Wayne) and Bun E. Carlos (Cheap Trick).

  8. Roger, James and Swift out for Dallas Taylor, Taylor Hanson and John of Duran Duran. John being numero uno!

    • That’s a couple votes for Taylor Hanson – I must explore more recent stuff, I’ve heard from multiple reliable sources that it’s quite good!

      • Yeah, he’s quite handy with the ol’ power pop shenanigans.

      • Power pop shenanigans are among my favourite shenanigans!

Leave a Reply

