Skip to content

Top 5 Mary &/or Anne songs

April 19, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

To celebrate Marianne Faithful week, a Top 5 Mary &/or Anne songs.

Enjoy!

.

5. The WhoMary Anne With the Shaky Hand
How about that percussion!

.

4. Pavement, Ann Don’t Cry
Don’t you cry Ann.

.

3. Supergrass, Mary
I like to listen to this track on a basis daily.

.

2. Alice Cooper, Mary Ann
Splendid piano work.

.

1. Leonard Cohen, So Long Marianne
It doesn’t hurt that he was last week’s artist of the week…and I suppose bonus marks for the correct first name spelling of this week’s artist!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I’m sure this list only scratches the surface of great Mary &/or Anne tunes, which is a nice problem to have!

From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. Cooper! Yes, thats the one.

  2. Anne’s Song-FNM
    Proud Mary – Ike & Tina Turner or CCR
    Last Dance With Mary Jane -Tom Petty
    Mary Had A Little Lamb – SRV
    Mary Mary (why ya buggin’. Mary Mary I need ya huggin’) – Run DMC

  3. Mary Ann – Marshall Crenshaw

  4. Definitely Leonard.

    And Bop got SRV’s Mary Had A Little Lamb.

    Add Hendrix’ The Wind Cries Mary…

  5. Victoria Williams’ Crazy Mary. (Also covered by Pearl Jam).

  6. Then there’s Springsteen’s Mary Queen Of Arkansas. I think that was his first ever recording for Columbia, if my Tracks boxed set hasn’t steered me wrong…

  7. Mary Anne – Marshall Crenshaw
    Mary Jane’s Last Dance – Tom Petty
    The Wind Cries Mary – Hendrix
    Annie Get Your Gun – Squeeze
    Annie Waits – Ben Folds
    April Anne – John Phillips
    Leslie Anne Levine – The Decemberists

  8. I see some of my suggestions have already been covered (Proud Mary, Last Dance with Mary Jane, Dreamboat Annie) , so I’ll just add, if I may, the Italian form – “Maria” by Blondie!

  9. Great selections here, Geoff, with 4 out of 5 from artists who are very important to me. As Aphoristical already mentioned, Marshall Crenshaw’s “Mary Anne” deserves a spot in the Top 5 (and might be my #1).

  10. Nice selection there, Geoff. I would have Madeleine Mary (Bonnie Prince Billy), Mary of the Wild Moor (Johnny Cash take), Anne (Santigold) as well as Crazy Mary and Wind Cries Mary… and Mary Had A Little Lamb. And the Pavement, Supergrass and Leonard choices. So, not a top 5 from me! Ha!

  11. Along comes Mary – the Association

    • I didn’t recognize the group name at first D – but then I saw they also did Windy, definitely remember that track!

Leave a Reply

