Skip to content

The Tourist & The Tour Guides

April 7, 2017

unnamed

Outstanding Artist of the Week logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

“`cause everybody hates a tourist. Especially one who thinks it’s all such a laugh.”
– Pulp, Common People

As I alluded to in yesterday’s review, though I’m immersing in these artists for a week at a time, I often feel somewhat like a tourist.

Hopefully not an obnoxious one!

In an effort to be a responsible/respectful tourist, I solemnly swear to never use a selfie stick & I will do my best to keep the noise down after 11 p.m.

When I decide on an artist of the week, I try to do a minimal amount of research/review-reading in advance.

I fear if I’m too well informed going in, I’ll end up just regurgitating more articulate posts by more experienced listeners; inevitably, I would do so with considerably less effectiveness.

So instead, I write what I write, ideally in a mildly diverting way, and then I like to go see what the experts had to say.

And I’ve decided that if I find there’s an expert that I think is particularly knowledgeable & passionate about a given artist, I’d like to give them a tip of the hat here.

In the case of Deep Purple, the foremost authority on the subject is a fellow Ontarian named Mike “LeBrain” Ladano.

Here’s why Purple matters, in the words of LeBrain, cheers Mike!

.

mikeladano.com
Visit Mike’s site for more info on all things Purple

.

Geoff asked me to write a few words on “What makes Deep Purple so special.”  As a fan since I was old enough to be, I think the best way to answer that is by asking “What makes Deep Purple so special…to me?”

I have always been attracted to bands who have had multiple lead singers over their careers.  That can often be the key to such a varied discography.  When I found out that the singer for Deep Purple was the same guy who I already knew as the singer of Black Sabbath (Ian Gillan, on Sabbath’s Born Again album) I was immediately intrigued.  Then I found out David freaking Coverdale (Whitesnake) was in Deep Purple once upon a time.  This lead to a slow, years-long exploration of classic British hard rock and heavy metal that continues to this day.  The family tree is a mighty, tangled redwood filled with brilliant names both legendary and obscure.

You can’t talk about Deep Purple without talking about the musicianship.  These are highbrow guys.  Their fourth album was an original concerto recorded at Albert Hall.  It sounds all very pretentious, but guitarist Ritchie Blackmore kept it on the very noisy side of rock with his impressively blazing six-string excursions that could go on for 10 minutes at a time.  The lynchpin in those early days was the late Jon Lord, a true maestro and gentleman.  His Hammond organ and trained classical schooling took Deep Purple to a level that few bands can explore.  Without Jon Lord, Deep Purple probably would have been a lot more ordinary.  Today, Deep Purple boasts the talents of jazz-rock fusion pioneer Steve Morse on guitar, surely one of the most esteemed players of the instrument.  Considering players like these, Deep Purple has very few peers.

All of this is well and good, but timeless songs are the real proof of value.  Look past “Smoke on the Water”.  Seek out deeper cuts like “Rat Bat Blue”, “You Keep On Moving”, “Bloodsucker”, “Pictures of Home”, “Child in Time”, “No One Came”, “Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming” and more.  Every Deep Purple album from start to finish has at least one quintessential cut on it.  You just have to find them and let them into your being.

– LeBrain, 04/02/2017

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Thank you in advance to all the people I’ll be looking to as Tour Guides as the year progresses!

From → 2000s, Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Ian Gillan once described Deep Purple as a “monster of the individual contribution”. Always liked that description… and Mike’s contribution here was appropriately mighty too!

  2. Nice write up Boys….

  3. Take the tourist and the traveller,
    The essential difference is,
    The traveller don’t know where he’s going,
    The tourist don’t know who he is!

    — David Lee Roth

    Thank you for the kind, kind words.

    • Thank you for sharing your Purple enthusiasm & expertise!
      I like that DLR quote – in my case with the 1001, I suppose I’m a bit of both traveller & tourist based on his definitions.
      Traveller in that I know what albums I eventually have to do but not the exact route to get there.
      Tourist in that I’m still learning what music I like!

  4. I like this idea, Geoff. I may adopt this approach if I’m covering something by a band that I know one of you guys dig.

    I tip my hat to you both.

    • Much appreciated J – I thought, I’m learning about all these bands, I wanted to share where I like to go for my music education.
      Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

