Skip to content

Top 5 Purple-ish Albums

April 5, 2017

unnamed

Excellent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

“Start wearing purple, wearing purple”
– Gogol Bordello, Start Wearing Purple

Deep Purple should have the #1 spot locked up in terms of Top “Purple” group.

But how about the top “Purple-ish” album?

How about another Top 5?!

.

5. The National, High Violet
Hence the purple-ish cateorgy! Wikipedia has a nice section explaining the distinction between purple & violet here.

.

4. Deep Purple, Deep Purple in Rock
Most descriptive album title on the list.

.

3. Stone Temple Pilots, Purple
No sophomore slump here.

.

2. The Tragically Hip, In Violet Light
As Don Cherry (featured in the video) might say, good Kingston boys!

.

1. Prince, Purple Rain
The movie, the soundtrack, the title track, his wardrobe, I can’t help but admire the full commitment to the colour.

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Cheers to Top 5s for allowing me to give lots of deserving non-1001 artists (like The Hip & STP) plenty of airtime!

From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. Zack permalink

    The salt we use to melt snow in the parking lot at work is Purple Flame brand.
    I get that song stuck in my head every time I see the bag.

    • Haha, if it was my job to put out the salt, that melody would help make the job a bit easier for me!

  2. Purple track – “Purple Haze” by Jimi Hendrix

  3. My go to for Deep Purple is 84’s Perfect Stangers…one of my all time favs actually as they fused there 70s sound with a mash up of sounding present. That albums still holds up well today…sounds current…sounds well….like Purple!
    That STP album is stellar as well….

  4. R.E.M. – Shiny Happy Purple?

  5. Good to see STP there. Naturally that would be my number one, but there’d be no space for Purple Rain. No sir. Ry Cooder’s Into The Purple Valley would also make an appearance…

    • Haha, I anticipated you approving of STP but I hadn’t expected the lack of love for The Artist!
      It’s funny, usually I have no time for artists that I perceive as arrogant but for some reason Prince was given a free pass there.
      I know you’re not a big Beatle fan (and now I know you’re not a Prince enthusiast either!) but I’d be interested in hearing if 2 wrongs make a right with this version of While my Guitar Gently Weeps:

      • I can confirm that, while not a fan of that version, I have watched it a fair few times cause Prince is outstanding. I remember it doing the rounds after he passed and I thought “wow”. Filled with so much joy, isn’t he?

        I’ve actually enjoyed every bit of footage of Prince live that I’ve seen, but I just done feel all that much love for the studio stuff. Some of it is very good, but some of it left me quite underwhelmed.

      • I hear you J – I of course can’t think of an artist right now, but I’ve had that feeling of being really impressed by someone live and then the studio recordings just didn’t speak to me in the same way

      • It’s just a bit disappointing, eh?

  6. Hahahah! I wasn’t sure where you were going with this, by the title. Good one. Great call on STP.

  7. I read Violet and immediately thought Hip. And Price, of course. Actually, that was good timing. Stay tuned.

  8. Stephen Duffy (Duran Duran’s original singer) was in a band called The Lilac Time. Does pastel purple count?

Leave a Reply

