Skip to content

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Axis: Bold as Love (1967)

March 30, 2017

unnamed

Exemplary logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 528/1001]

Well, Apple Music’s streak is over.

Until now, they’ve delivered on each and every one of my album search requests.

Astor Piazzolla & Gary Burton’s The New Tango? No problem.

Caetano Veloso’s eponymous solo debut? Almost too easy.

Marty Robbins’s Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs? It looks like there are at least 7(!) versions of the album available to stream, which version would you like?

OK then, how about The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s Axis: Bold as Love?

Really?

That’s how the steak ends?!

.

gunfighter ballads

Anyone for some Gunfighter Ballads &/or Trail Songs?

.

Fortunately, my friend Doug’s ability-to-provide-specific-music-on-demand streak is still intact, as he generously loaned me his copy of Axis: Bold as Love.

Things got off to a strange start with EXP; 50 years after its release, it still sounds like the future, a somewhat incomprehensible one at that.

In which case, maybe I can’t say that this album is a front-to-backer.

But from that point onward, there was no difficulty understanding this album’s enduring appeal.

So, at worst, Axis is a track 2-through-13-er.

And thus, Hendrix’s streak of solid albums is still very much intact as well.

.

Satisfactory YouTube clip of

.

What’s your favourite Hendrix guitar sound?

Plenty of Fuzz?

Wads of Wah-wah?

I’m not sure what you’d call the guitar tone in the intro to Little Wing.

But whatever it’s called, it’s my favourite.Axiscover.jpg

And it proves that Jimi’s ability-to-find-the-right-tone-at-the-right-time streak was still going strong at this stage of his career.

.

I imagine there’s some legal issue preventing Apple from streaming this particular album, perhaps some complex estate licensing details yet to be resolved. Ditto for YouTube.

So they likely have a valid excuse for not having Jimi & friends available on demand.

I however, do not.

Considering the strength of the tones & tunes on Axis: Bold as Love, my not-owning-a-physical-copy-of-Axis:Bold-as-Love streak simply needs to end, ASAP!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

The aforementioned Doug is also a contender for the title of ‘Best Name That Tune Contestant’ that I’ve met, cheers Doug!

From → 1960s

11 Comments
  1. I applaud you even trying to write about a Hendrix album. They just ARE, and will always BE. 🙂

  2. As quick as i got on Apple Music…I’m off it. Reason was for $9.99 I was still listening to all my stuff previous to joining Apple Music…
    The good thing is I can rejoin anytime but for now back to the Old School way of doing things! haha

    • Luckily I’ve got Electric Ladyland on LP – back to old school indeed DeKe!
      I’ve found Apple Music’s been good for those albums that just don’t seem to show up at Kingston garage sales/thrift shops but if given the choice, I’ll take the physical copy every time 😀

  3. Plenty of fuzz vs wads of wah wah? Difficult to choose. It’s the overall, distinctive, highly recognizable “experience”. As commenter above said – they just ARE. Everytime I put on Jimi Hendrix, I just let it BE.

    • Well said about his distinct sound Amrita, he may be the definitive example of having a ‘sound’ without ever sounding repetitive or formulaic!

  4. I listened to Hendrix’s three 1960s albums last year. I don’t love Axis as much as “Ladyland” and “Experienced”, but does have its great moments. The opening two minutes of “If 6 Was 9” is for me the most iconic stretch. Little Wing is strong too as you point out. Spanish Castle Magic has a great guitar riff.

    • I’d likely put it in the bronze medal position out of the 3 JHE albums as well – but a 3rd best in the Hendrix catalogue would likely be a career peak for many others!

  5. Quite possibly my current favourite Hendrix album (usually that’s Electric Ladyland). Hard to find a fault, really.

    • What an opening 3 albums out of the gate, I can’t think too many artists who were that consistently great so early!

      • I can think of a couple, but it’d be difficult to name many.

Leave a Reply

