Skip to content

The Jimi Hendrix Filing Experience

March 29, 2017

unnamed

Exemplary logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

3 albums in their discography, 3 albums on the 1001 list.

Not bad for a year and a half (May 1967 – October 1968) of studio recordings.

The question is, where/how does one file this hat trick of albums by The Jimi Hendrix Experience?

.

A) In the poll above, please advise!

B) If you’ve done a post (and I know some of you have written some entertaining ones recently) about how to properly organize a record collection, please share a link in the comments below.

C) Listen to the 3 Jimi Hendrix Experience albums at your earliest possible convenience!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

A tip of the hat to all those who have posted recently about optimal record categorization & organization.

You inspired this poll & you confused me (in a good way) as to what exactly I should do with my Jimi Hendrix Experience albums!

From → Uncategorized

27 Comments
  1. I don’t know if I’ve written anything about organizing! I know others have. I voted and I’m pretty sure you can guess how I voted. As a Record Store guy it’s the same method used in store!

    • So far your pick is out to an early lead!
      I suppose I should have put an option F – albums played too often to be put away, filing method unnecessary!

      • Yeah I have a few of those! And three shelves came down on Monday — that’s 75 CDs currently needing to be refiled when I fix the shelves.

  2. Most amusing, Mr S.
    Here was my introduction to the joys of filing…
    https://vinylconnection.com.au/2017/01/12/antisocial-in-the-inner-sanctum/

  3. And here was the main feature.

    https://vinylconnection.com.au/2017/01/16/file-notes/

    The comments are entertaining in both.

  4. Voted! Usually, I’d file under band name — which would be “J” — In this case, however, I’d file under “H” so all Hendrix material can be found in one place.

    • I’ve traditionally filed him under “H” as well – but I agree, theoretically the “J” is a logical spot, but with anything involving Hendrix, I picture the letter “H” immediately!

      • Yes! Now, if the only Hendrix albums in the collection were Jimi Hendrix Experience, then they’d be filed under “J”.

  5. Jenn permalink

    Huh. I just checked how we classify at the library and was shocked (and appalled) to see that there is no uniformity. “Are you experienced” and “Axis: Bold as Love” are under Hendrix. “Electric Ladyland” and “BBC Sessions”, as well the Blu-Ray of “Live at Monterey” are under JimiH. From a rules of classification perspective, I voted band name.

    • That’s curious that the first 2 albums were sorted differently – I just checked, the Kingston system is equally puzzling.
      The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s Live at Berkeley is CD Popular “Jimi” & their Live at Monterey is CD Popular “Hendr.”
      Yet the Monterey Blu-Ray is JimiH in Vaughan!

  6. Personally, I file it under “S” for “The 60s” and in reverse chronological order within that.

  7. Definitely under H for me. What would you file The Steve Miller Band under?

    • Good question – likely “M” (I file Dave Matthews band under “M” but I recently saw I’d filed the Matthew Good Band under “M” as well).
      So I suppose I’m consistently inconsistent!

  8. In most cases I’m a last-name filer so all of Hendrix goes under “H” in my collection. Sure, the JHE were a band, but it’s really Jimi’s show, and it makes things easier than having some titles under “J” and others under “H.”

    • I would have to agree – if it’s featuring Hendrix, it’s going to be under “H” for me too!

  9. I have no views on this issue.

  10. I just went through a whole filing thing. It’s all on the KMA. Of course, I’m not completely done the project yet, but when I am it oughta be pretty straight forward.

    Hendrix is easy to file. He goes under ‘W’ for ‘whizzbanger.’

    • You were one of the bloggers who inspired this filing question Aaron – and that W filing is apt!

  11. Late to the discussion, but it’s a case of ‘file under H’ from me.

    • And I just checked the results, 10 out of 15 say “H.”
      So a reduced fraction of 2 out of 3 say “H” – that ain’t bad!

Leave a Reply

