Skip to content

Pavement – Slanted and Enchanted (1992)

March 20, 2017

unnamed

Fabulous logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 524/1001]

Objectivity’s overrated.

Or at least it was well out of reach for me this past week.

1) My wonderful wife & I spent most of the March Break in Las Vegas. Sunny skies, 30 degree weather, wonderful wife, I was incapable of complaining.220px-Slanted_and_Enchanted_album_cover.jpg

2) On Saturday, I had the privilege of seeing my brother perform in the titular role of Pinocchio in the National Ballet of Canada’s production. No chance of an unbiased review there either.

3) Attempting to review a long-beloved album, Pavement’s Slanted & Enchanted, with at least a trace of impartiality.

I put it off throughout the week (I even missed getting it done during Pavement’s week as Artist of the Week), hoping to distance myself from the album a bit, trying to approach it from a different angle.

But it’s simply not going to happen.

Inevitably, any Pavement review of mine will be slanted; I’m unable to be anything less than enchanted by their debut album.

Three strikes, I’m out.

P1110364

…..

Verbalize the Positive

Wendy/Robert/Pavement?

Now that’s an objectively great trio!

From → 1990s

13 Comments
  1. First! I looooooove this record. Objectivity be damned, I don’t blame you for not trying to put this into words.

    Do you have the 2CD remaster with all the extra stuff? I have all their albums in those versions and can fully recommend them.

    Vegas sounds fun. Renew your vows at the Elvis chapel, eh? 🙂

    • I do have the remaster (and crooked rain) – and the review brevity definitely isn’t for a lack of effort, I just eventually admitted defeat!
      And Vegas was glorious, we passed on the chapel though!

  2. I bought this and Kate Bush’s Hounds of Love at the same time – might be my favourite pair of albums I’ve ever bought at the same time.

    • That is a fantastic double purchase!
      I remember scooping The Pretenders & Dexy’s Midnight Runners LPs in a 2 for $10 combo, that’s probably my best recent one!

  3. Despite recognising the cover art, I don’t really know the music. Should investigate, eh?

  4. Would you say with regard to your attempt at objectivity “I’M TRYIN, I’M TRYIN, I’M TRYIN, I’M TRYIN, I’M TRYIN,…”?

    As a side note, I don’t think I’ve ever heard you say or seen you type the word wife without the qualifier wonderful in front!

    • YES I would shout that I’m tryin’ repeatedly!
      And it’s practically her official title yes, it would feel wrong just stating my spouse without an appropriate adjective in front! 😀

      • I definitely recommend adding a word like wonderful (or, in my case, lovely) in front of wife. In fact, did I start that in these pages? I don’t remember. Anyway, it’s a good idea!

  5. Haha! Brilliant! I think it’s difficult covering albums you love let alone approaching them with any sort of objectivity. But, I tip my hat to you for trying!

Leave a Reply

