Skip to content

Top 5 Last-Named Band Names

February 23, 2017

unnamed

Splendid logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

With the Artist of the Week Series, I’m hoping to do at least a Top 5 with each Artist.

In honour of CSNY’s band name consisting entirely of the band members’ last names, I give you the Top 5 ‘Last-named Band Names’

Enjoy!

.

5. Wilson Phillips
Though I suppose technically 2 Wilsons/1 Phillips. Either way, I enjoyed the cameo in Bridesmaids!

.

4. Emerson, Lake, and Palmer
Will likely be featured as an Artist of the Week later this year.

.

3. Crosby, Stills, Nash, and (sometimes) Young
With Ol’ Neil in this case.

.

2. Hall & Oates
The video fashion may be dated but the tunes hold up nicely.

.

1. Simon & Garfunkel
Here’s to you gents.

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate that when I make a Top 5, many readers suggest (quite politely too!) other artists that I’ve overlooked.

Which is half the fun for me: I get to come up with my list but also learn about many other artists, so my thanks!

From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. Another excellent list, Geoff! I’d add Van Halen…and early Bon Jovi. 🙂

  2. Fleetwood Mac are up there for me. White Stripes and The Ramones are options as well.

  3. I’d vote for the Walker Brothers… although none of them were actually called Walker. Or maybe Run DMC at a push. Can I also apologise for breaking the rule about mentioning the artist when entering my score earlier this week. I know, nobody likes a smart-arse.

  4. This makes me think of Yes spin-off group Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman and Howe. And the suggestion that they sounded more like an accounting firm than a rock band!

  5. Bourgeois Tagg….Climie Fisher urm…McFadden & Whitehead…I’m on a roll

  6. Van Halen as well 🙂

    • I saw a headline the other day that “Eddie Van Halen supports music education programs in schools” – he’s got my vote. And if they can somehow get another Van Halen family member to do lead vocals, they’ve got all the last names covered in the band name!

  7. May I be so bold as to suggest LNZNDRF (Ben Lanz and the Davendorfs – see what they did there?)

  8. Dio! Santana! Ummm… does Bachman Turner Overdrive count or does the ‘Overdrive’ eliminate it? Then what about Bachman Cummings? Ooo and that LP I sent Mike, Beck Bogart Appice… what about Montrose? And for our benevolent infernal HMO, there’s always Danzig!

Leave a Reply

