Skip to content

Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young – Déjà Vu (1970)

February 21, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 518/1001]

Déjà Vu.

Already seen.

When you experience something familiar that shouldn’t be familiar.

Sort of like me wih Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young (CSNY)’s Déjà Vu.

In theory, it should be new-to-me: I didn’t grow up with it, I just bought the record semi-recently.

But from the first spin, it was as if I’d heard it before.

Which I can only assume means that there is a glitch in The Matrix.

.

.

If you haven’t seen the original film, or haven’t seen it in the 18(!) years since its release, a brief description courtesy of imdb:

“A computer hacker learns from mysterious rebels about the true nature of his reality and his role in the war against its controllers.”

Almost two decades later, I’m still processing many of the ideas presented in the film, but I think I’ve at least got the gist of the film’s title.

“The Matrix” is the name of the artificial reality, created and controlled by machines, where choice is only an illusion of choice.

When someone experiences a feeling of Déjà Vu? As explained by Carrie-Anne Moss in the clip above, it means the controllers of reality have “changed something.”

.


My sentiments exactly, when trying to process the film

.

With CSNY, something’s certainly changed here for me.

A few years ago? I don’t think I’d have had any use for CSNY’s Déjà Vu.

But now I quite enjoy it.crosby_stills_nash__young_-_deja_vu

I just can’t tell if it’s a case of free will or fate.

Did I intentionally leave this album to review #518, somehow knowing I wouldn’t have been ready to appreciate it until now?

Am I conciously choosing to enjoy this record or was I destined to like it all along?

Is it due to Déjà Vu (a glitch in my perceived reality) that I now enjoy Déjà Vu (the album)?

Or perhaps Keanu’s reaction above is relevant here, both to express my bewilderment in arriving at this level of CSNY album appreciation, while also summarizing how impressed I was with the record?

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I love that although my love for Keanu has subjected me to plenty of ridicule over the years, critics are starting to appreciate the “stillness” in his performances.

He’s earning praise at every turn for giving up his seat on public transit, for being generous, and for generally being a decent dude. Cheers Keanu!

 

From → 1970s

17 Comments
  1. I used to appreciate Keanu as well while growing up. But then I discovered the act of being a critic/snob, and I have to say, he was pretty awful in Much Ado About Nothing. I’ve stopped being a snob now, and if there’s somebody responsible for the success of both Bill and Ted and The Matrix (honourable mention to Speed) then he deserves an approving “Whoa” in movie history.

    And I think you’re in serious competition with Keanu with your “Whoa” performance. That’s some impressive acting there, my friend!

    • Haha, thanks Amrita – it took me a while to work out my character’s back story & motivation, I was hoping that shone through in the performance!

  2. I feel like I read this review before! uh oh!

  3. I love this album, but you need at least a moderate level of cheese tolerance for songs like ‘Our House’ and ‘Everybody I Love You’.

  4. Accent aigu. Accent grave. Well done.

  5. best 2 seconds of video EVER!

  6. The best bits hold up really well, I reckon. Great to hear you’re aboard, Geoff.

    Woo-hoo! (as Keanu might say)

  7. I picked up a copy of this a while back for a £1 and couldn’t believe my luck. Certainly an album that feels very familiar even during a first listen, though I expect that’s the nature of those involved. Few pedestrian tracks aside (Our House being somewhat like wallpaper) I’m pretty fond of this one despite it never really doing much to excite me.

Leave a Reply

