Skip to content

Top 5 Everything OR the Girl

February 3, 2017

unnamed

Everything ‘Bout the Logo by Sarca @caughtmegaming

.

In addition to being among the chattiest band names on the 1001 list, the idea of ‘Everything But The Girl’ as a one-or-the-other/this-but-not-that offer also represents a curious dichotomic choice.

If you had to choose between these options, would you take Everything OR the Girl?

Here are 5 bands, each with a song title containing “Everything” and each with another song title containing “Girl.”

Based on the head-to-head battle results of each group’s “Everything” song vs. “Girl” song, I’m hoping to finally be able to conclusively answer the great band name riddle:

Would I take the Girl? Or Everything But?

.

5. Everclear, EVERYTHING to Everyone vs. Heroin GIRL
Both have memorable lines but 22 years later, Heroin Girl‘s “Just another overdose” hasn’t lost any of its potency.
I choose: The Girl
Girl 1, Everything 0

.

4. The Temptations, You’re My EVERYTHING vs. My GIRL
Well, I guess you’ll say…most likely the same thing as me, the echoing “my girl” backup vocals are tough to top.
I choose: The Girl
Girl 2, Everything 0

.

3. The Wallflowers, EVERYTHING I Need vs. Be Your Own GIRL
Though I like the sentiment “You don’t have to be his girl, You don’t have to be my girl, You can always be your own Girl,” Everything I Need is the stronger song.
I choose: Everything
Girl 2, Everything 1

.

2. Sloan, EVERYTHING You’ve Done Wrong vs. The Life of a Working GIRL
Sloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooan!
I choose: Everything
Girl 2, Everything 2

.

1. The Smiths, Money Changes EVERYTHING vs. GIRL Afraid
Though Morrissey-voice anaphylaxis sufferers would choose the instrumental Smiths track, I’m afraid, to borrow a Good Will Hunting line, I gotta go see about a Girl.
I choose: Girl
Girl 3, Everything 2

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate that dcwo731 @ forgottenrockclassics shines a light on deserving yet underappreciated artists & artistry, like his Baby’s on Fire post in praise of Robert Fripp.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Stephan Thank you for the shout out!!!

  2. Jings. That’s a tough one. My brain is trying to sort through artists and album track lists in order to add one… Radiohead – Everything In Its Right Place vs A Wolf At The Door (It Girl. Rag Doll). Points go to everything.

    • Everything in its right place was the first song that came to mind for me – I forgot about the parentheses in Wolf At the Door, good call J!
      and yes, it would be a tie between those 2 beauty tracks!

      • I wasn’t sure if Wolf At The Door was a bit of a cheat!

      • It’s legit in my books – I just wish I had thought of it myself!

    • Haha I JUST TYPED THIS BELOW, and now I see you beat me to it!

  3. SLOOOOO-OOOOOAAAAANNNNNN!!!!!!

  4. Was looking for Radiohead’s Everything In Its Right Place versus A Wolf At The Door (It Girl. Rag Doll). 🙂

Leave a Reply

