Skip to content

Top 5 Idle &/or Wild Songs

February 1, 2017

unnamed

Everything ‘Bout the Logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

With the Artist of the Week Series, I’m hoping to do at least a Top 5 with each Artist.

In honour of Everything But The Girl’s album Idlewild, I give you the Top 5 “Idle” &/or “Wild” songs.

Enjoy!

.

5. Outkast, Idlewild Blue
Andre 3000 has such a terrifically distinctive voice.

.

4. The Cult, Wildflower
Stellar intro especially.

.

3. U2, Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
Great guitar chorus pattern.

.

2. Rolling Stones, Wild Horses
Perhaps there’s enough quality material for a purely Wild + Horses Top 5!

.

1. Oasis, The Importance of Being Idle
A hidden later-year Oasis gem. A fine Noel vocal & a pleasant surprise seeing Rhys Ifans in the video!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate that Phillip always leaves thoughtful & thought-provoking comments on many community music sites. One recent question of his I’ve had on my mind: is there a band that’s gotten better with age? I’d say The Beatles definitely got more & more interesting as their career evolved!

From → Uncategorized

33 Comments
  1. Oasis above The Rolling Stones? I think you might be in trouble with that one! Oasis used to be my guilty pleasure growing up, and I was just about to suggest this track until I saw it. I would like to add Steppenwolf’s “Born to be Wild” and The Runaways’ “You drive me wild”. I’m sure there are plenty more “wild” songs, but “idle” songs would be an interesting research in itself!

    • But did The Rolling Stones have Rhys Ifans in their video?!
      Oasis wasn’t as consistent with later albums but when they hit the target, it tended to be a direct hit.
      Growing up, I was always firmly on The Beatles side of the Beatles/Stones debate (the gap has started to narrow) and seeing as Oasis has been accused of being a ‘Beatles cover band’ – perhaps that’s why I’m such a fan!

      • Ah, now if you had a list of “Respectable actors in music videos” then music snobs (I do not include myself in that category, of course) would be more open to having rock gods beaten by more recent legends. Might I contribute Robert Downey Jr.in Elton John’s “I want love” in case you make that list, and I’m sure Christopher Walken in “Weapon of Choice” would be on it, if not no. 1.

        I think the problem with Oasis started in their native country. A combination of the Gallagher sibling rivalry and Liam’s Manchester walk. However, it has to be argued that everyone tries to emulate The Beatles (even if they say they don’t) and Oasis actually were one of the few who were successful at it. Great tunes and lyrics, one of my favourites being “Is it my imagination, or have I finally found something worth living for?”

        Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t give much weight to music rivalries, as they’re always media-sponsored. Now, if an artist takes them on personally (like McCartney took on Pete Townshend’s assertion of having the heaviest song, and recorded “Helter Skelter”) then it’s interesting. Lennon said the Stones are not in the same “class” as The Beatles. You could take that as a snobbish remark, or simply as the fact that they’re two different groups that are too different from each other who happened to be in the same place at the same time.

        IMO, The Beatles are way better!

      • I always enjoy your comments Amrita – we’re both full sentence/paragraph enthusiasts!
        I too am a fan of that cigarettes & alcohol line, not to mention the rest of Definitely Maybe!

      • Yes, I did realise that I may have written you an entire blog post but I guess it won’t be too much of a shock to admit I have too many opinions!
        I change my former opinion though. I watched that Oasis video, and a few others, and no.1’s well-deserved! Rhys Ifans was wonderful in it, and I love the last line of the chorus.

      • And “I can’t get a life if my heart’s not in it” ties in nicely with the cigarettes & alcohol “something worth living for” too!

  2. The lack of W.A.S.P.’s’ Wild Child’ has caused a ripple of discontent in the exploding codpiece community. And, trust me, that’s not a community you want to be on the wrong side of!

  3. Only two of those tracks would make my top 5, Geoff.

    I would have Johnny Cash’ You Wild Colorado in there, The Guttrr Twins’ Idle Hands, and Lou Reed’s Walk On The Wild Side.

    • I like that you didn’t say which 2 J!
      I’m guessing…The Stones and The Cult?

      • It was actually accidental! The Stones is one, the other is probably surprising … U2.

  4. Yeah Dude that Number 4 pick is the Deal! I still say that album has the best drum sonics on any album ever…..soooooooooo gooooood!

  5. I Am A Wild Party….Rah Rah Ole!

    • Deke stole my answer so a new one for me! LOL

      Wild Child SCORPIONS! Good songs from a meh album.

      • Can’t believe I forgot Akimbo!

      • He is a wild party.

      • shakin’ like a human being!

      • I don’t know if you remember this. MuchMusic asked viewers to submit video of their “wild party” for the Kim Mitchell music video. Anyway I didn’t submit but I did film a video for it. It was me running around with my guitar miming and making faces…still got it.

      • I’d enjoy seeing that – perhaps on a future Kim review?!

      • I don’t have the tech (yet) to get my VHS stuff online. But it’s a goal. I have hours and hours of rare MuchMusic interviews too.

    • I know I’m a lot of feathers and not much chicken!
      Deke, I foolishly forgot Kim, that should be on here!

      • No worries it’s easy for the reader to pick this stuff out…..I was going with a CanCon connection though….hahaha

  6. Bow Wow Wow’s “Go Wild In The Country” springs to mind, however it’s so bad I feel embarrassed even mentioning it…sorry

    • Haha, not to worry – I remember getting a question about Tom Cruise/Katie Holmes correct at a trivia challenge once, I was happy to get the team to points, but somewhat embarrassed the answer jumped to mind so quickly!

  7. I call recount. NO WAY does Oasis top Stones. Dude! 🙂

Leave a Reply

