Skip to content

Stevie Wonder – Fulfillingness’ First Finale (1974)

January 26, 2017

unnamed

Magnificent logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

[Album 508/1001]

There’s probably a way to review Fulfillingness’ First Finale (FFF) without basing it on the album title alliteration.

But I’m simply not comfortable reviewing this album outside of an acrostic poem framework!

.

F – Follow-up to my favourite

While I loved (and love) Innervisions, I needn’t have worried about any drop-off here.

I’d say he was head & shoulders above the competition but to borrow a distance measurement unit from FFF, Stevie was probably closer to 10 Zillion Light Years ahead of the pack.

.

.

F – Funky Clavinet/Fender Rhodesfulfillingness_first_finale

Certain instruments played by certain artists will inevitably draw a smile from yours truly.

Although I have an unprecedented ability to close at least one eye during family photos, if you want me to smile for a photograph, instead of saying ‘cheese,’ just put on Stevie’s Smile Please.

Not only will I appreciate the song-relevance-to-current-photographer-request but more importantly, those smooth Fender Rhodes 7th chords will do the trick every time.

.

F – Fêted (celebrated)

FFF won a pile of awards and it’s probably among the least challenged inclusions on the 1001 list. And deservingly so.

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I appreciate Jeff77 @ playitloudforever‘s countdowns, including the recent Top 20 Hard Rock & Metal Albums of 1989. No complaints here about his pick for #1!

From → 1970s

15 Comments
  1. I like the poetry, Geoff! 🙂

  2. I only own one Stevie album. Talking Book. If I owned two, this would be it for the cover art!

  3. Fender Rhodes is a marvellous sounding contraption, eh? I wouldn’t mind one of them…

  4. fyfeopedia permalink

    I’m glad you like this one – it always seems like the most over-looked in his 1971-1976 run of albums, but it’s always been my favourite.

  5. hanspostcard permalink

    Stevie Wonder was on a roll in the 1970’s! Great album after great album.

  6. This one’s the underrated, unsung album from his glorious 70s heyday. Love it!

  7. Fantastic stuff. So far ahead of everyone else. Oh man.

Leave a Reply

