Skip to content

50 Book Pledge: Third time’s the charm!

January 2, 2017

Happy 2017!

A new calendar year means a new 50 Book Pledge – last year I made it to 32/50, one book shy of being able to use The Smashing Pumpkins song 33 in this post.

Lots of great reads though, some of which came highly recommended from you folks, my thanks for your suggestions.

2016-bookshelf
.

Excluding re-reads (and there were several, as I could re-read Jurassic Park/Klosterman/Gatsby/The Making of the White Album every year!), here are my Top 5 from 2016:

5. Andy Weir, The Martian

4. Chuck Klosterman, But What if We’re Wrong?

3. Terry Fallis, Up and Down

2. Stephen King, The Shining

1. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

.

.

Anyone interested for 2017?

Sign up for free at 50bookpledge.ca. You can sign up for different amounts (25 books, 100 books, etc.). Perhaps unsurprisingsly, I personally like having the mission of ’50’ for the year. 🙂

And please keep those book recommendations coming.

Here’s to hitting that elusive 50 in 2017!

…..

Verbalize the Positive

I enjoy Cinema Parrot Disco‘s enthusiasm for both Top 10 Lists & Stephen King. Not to mention the author pseudonym of “Table 9 Mutant,” brilliant!

From → Uncategorized

32 Comments
  1. I’d love to participate! But, 50 books is a lot. Considering, I started but never finished one book this year, this might be too ambitious for me to take on. But, I will gladly watch from the sidelines!

  2. I have a one book pledge. Finish one book in 2017. Start to finish. Didn’t do it in 2016.

    • I think that’s an attainable goal for 2017 – I look forward to congratulating you on the pledge before the year is done Mike!

      • Thanks sir! In psychiatry and employment, they talk about “SMART” goals. The A stands for attainable, the R stands for realistic. Considering I finished 0 books last year, 1 seems a realistic attainable goal. Here’s to a better 2017!

    • One book? Dude! You can do this!

  3. I got two books that i’m going to get into and thats Springsteen’s Born To Run and Chris Wards Is This Live.
    Now Geoff I think you need to hit up and get some Brent Jensen books…..

    • Just looked up the name – it sounds familiar, did you review no sleep til sudbury on your site Deke? What a great book title!

      • That one i have to do but have reviewed both Leftover People and earlier this year I reviewed All My Favourite People Are Broken…check em out…

    • And I’m keen to hear more about Springsteen’s book – it’s on my ‘to read’ list!

      • Yes I like the fact that it’s straight from The Bosses mouth. Around 1990 I bought this Lennon Biography. Paid $40 at the time on Hard cover and it was the biggest waste of cash.
        After that I vowed only to buy Authorized Bio’s not UnAuthorized Bio’s like the Lennon one was….

  4. Good luck on your new year of readings, Geoff!

    I dunno if I oughta sign myself up for a pledge like that – I get obsessed about such things and reading might take over my listening to musics… and there needs to be balance in the Force! My reading in 2016 dropped right off, from previous years too. Life got busier…

    Recommends? Anything by Raymond Carver. Don Delillo’s White Noise and Falling Man. A zillion more. Let me know if you run out of ideas!

  5. Impressive. I do about 12-14 books a year. I don’t think I could ever make it through 50.

  6. reading your post last year convinced me to try, I managed 29 so I’m going to have another go. I think I forgot a few as well. I did realize however that a 50 is a lot but may be achievable.

    • Cheers Neil – 29 was my total in my first year of the pledge, glad to hear I’m in good company! Good luck this year!

  7. Congratulations! I think 32’s a good number. Very pleased to see P & P at no. 1! Have you seen the cinematic adaptations?

    I’d hoped 52, as part of the Goodreads challenge, but only got to 25. Some very good reads in there though, including a magnificent coffee table book on David Bowie. I am setting it to 52 again this year (one for each week). It’s the third time for me too!

    • Thanks Amrita – P&P was splendid! I have yet to see any of the adaptations, my family adores the Colin Firth version, and I gather the Keira Knightley one is a good one too.
      52 vs. 25, I like how the digits ended up inverted on the pledge vs. actual.
      That Bowie book sounds magnificent – good luck with the third try!

  8. That’s a good number there, Geoff – I tip my hat to you. I think I read, eh, possibly two. It’s quite possible that I read half of a third, but I can’t quite remember what it was. I know that I read The Secret Life of Houdini: The Making of America’s First Superhero and To Kill A Mockingbird.

    This year I’ll aim to read a couple that I have sitting – Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Total Recall, Heavier Than Heaven (Charles R. Cross’ Cobain bio), Peter Guralnick’s Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley, and Roger Lewis’ The Life and Death of Peter Sellers.

    I imagine I’ll get through at least one.

    Anyhoo, I’ll be cheering on your efforts to hit 50!

    • If only the childrens books counted J – we’d have both hit 50 in no time at all!
      That looks like a solid list of books waiting to be read, enjoy!

      • Haha! Indeed – I would have broken the 100 mark if that was the case. Multiple times, too. I realised earlier today that I no longer need to read the words in half of tiny man’s books!

  9. Jenn permalink

    Bam! P&P at #1!
    That deserves a celebratory listen in extreme abridgment on 2 cassette tapes!

    I’ve put in for a clean 75 again. Fell short in 2016, but aspiration is half the battle or something.

    • My teenage self would be surprised!
      I’m curious as to what got trimmed to somehow boil it down to two tapes!

  10. Like Jenn, delighted to see P & P at #1. The words timeless and classic go well together here.

    And like Sarca, I’ll happily cheer you on from the sidelines while I aim for a much more modest (and perhaps even achievable) 12 in twelve months!

    Happy reading!

  11. I read about 200 in a given year. I’m an insomniac, did I mention that?

  12. Aw, thanks for the mention! 🙂 I totally missed it… : ( Don’t think WordPress pingbacks always work! I loved The Martian as well. And, of course, The Shining! I’ve never read Pride & Prejudice and not heard of the other two so I’ll have to look those up. I just finished another King (Finders Keepers). I’m reading The Circle right now, which will be a Tom Hanks movie this year. Enjoying it so far. Is that 50 books in a YEAR?! Won’t manage that but I do around 12 to 14. : )

    • My pleasure!
      I quite liked the circle – remembered thinking it would make a good movie, just looked at the cast, looks like it’s in good hands!
      I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts when you’re done the Eggers book!

      • Oh, cool! So you’ve read that one. Will be interesting to see it on the big screen. I’ll review the book before the movie comes out. : )

Leave a Reply

