Skip to content

Circle Jerks – Group Sex (1980)

November 27, 2016

usatunesoftheworld

Unbelievable USA logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

USA Artists (so far): Aimee Mann, Marty Robbins, D’Angelo, The Modern Lovers, Bruce Springsteen, Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott, Steely Dan, Grant Lee Buffalo, 2Pac, Harry Nilsson, Linkin Park, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris, Randy Newman, The Monkees, Liz Phair, The Byrds, Anita Baker, Circle Jerks

.

[Album 498/1001]

Say what you will about the band name. About the album name. About some of the track names. About many of the lyrics…

But I will say this: when I make a rule that I have to listen to an album at least twice before reviewing, while also trying to meet a self-imposed deadline of 501 album reviews by November 30th, I thoroughly appreciate bands that can run through 14 songs in just over 15 minutes!

Now I may know less about hardcore punk than anyone else. But I’m guessing ‘achieving widespread acceptance’ wasn’t exactly the ethos of the genre.

In a way, someone like me finding good things to say could be perceived as bad news by the band!220px-circle_jerks_-_group_sex

But I’m afraid thanks to the exemplary running time, regardless of the content of the album itself, this one has become critically immune for me.

If you’ve seen the response that Fozzie Bear’s speech receives in The Muppet Christmas Carol, you’ll know what I mean.

The Circle Jerks are Fozzie Bear (obviously?) & I’m both Statler & Waldorf, the balcony hecklers.

And despite any concerns about what was actually said/played on this record, I can’t help but approve.

“It was short? I loved it!”

 …..

Verbalize the Positive

Compared to the album & artist names that Heavy Metal Overload (HMO) listens to, these guys seem relatively tame!

I appreciate that while we have considerably different ‘wheelhouses’ (Black Metal vs. Sad Bastard Rock), I’m always entertained when reading HMO’s posts & comments and I’ve enjoyed finding unanticipated common ground, like Rod Stewart & Frankie Goes to Hollywood!

From → 1980s

24 Comments
  1. HAHAHA….That’s awesome ,Sad Bastard Rock! Great title for a Blog Series or an actual site! haha….
    As Geddy sings on Vital Signs from Moving Pictures “Everybody Got To Deviate From The Norm”

    • Moving Pictures quotes are always encouraged here Deke – even if Rush doesn’t meet the elusive Sad Bastard Rock categorization!

  2. Thank you for the kind words. Back at ya! And I’m going to start a site called SBRO now so we can find even more common ground!

    Only saw Circle Jerks in the first Decline movie but they were pretty good. Wouldn’t mind hearing this… especially given that it wouldn’t take up very much of my time!

  3. Yes! One of my all time fave US punk albums. ‘You don’t know shit’ being a particular favourite of mine and were I the tattooed sort, a candidate for getting inked on my forehead.

    • Nothing screams ‘job interview success’ like Circle Jerks-inspired forehead ink!

    • That tat would look nice with my “Don’t ask me for shit” hat I bought at a redneck flea market in Florida.
      I suspect they were filming Deliverance 2 while I was there.

      • I suppose one ought to co-ordinate headwear with ink, consistent messages if possible!

  4. I, for one, welcome our Circle Jerks overlords and think they made one of the best punk records ever. I love it unreservedly.

    • The efficiency is inspiring! There’s a couple more late 70s/early 80s punk records on the list, I have a feeling you’ll approve of the one featuring Rollins, or rather, ROLLINS!

  5. I went through a punk phase in high school…oy…..

    Nice Muppet tie in 🙂

  6. 14 songs in 15 minutes! Yikes!

  7. I’ve yet to hear this, but Circle Jerks is the band singer Keith Morris formed after leaving Black Flag (which eventually made it big with Henry Rollins as the lead singer). Morris only did one EP with Black Flag called Nervous Breakdown and that’s what got me hooked on hardcore punk. I’ve played it so, so much. It’s sort of halfway through between the classic late-70s punk (Sex Pistols) and the hardcore wave that would follow in the 80s. You can give it a listen if you want, it’s only 5 minutes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (1976) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Wilco – Being There (1996) | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Bon Jovi – Slippery When Wet (1986) | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Bon Jovi – Slippery When Wet (1986) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

