Skip to content

Air – The Virgin Suicides (2000)

April 21, 2016

madeinfrance1001albums

Le beau logo est par Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Made in France Artist #1: Manu Chao

Made in France Artist #2: Daft Punk

Made in France Artist #3: Jean Michel Jarre

Made in France Artist #4: Jacques Brel

Made in France Artist #5: Air

.

[Album 456/1001]

“It is also a nice way to re-immerse in the 1001 project…”
– me in April 2014, in my review of Air’s Moon Safari.

The Virgin Suicides.

Is there a more attention-grabbing title on the 1001?

With such provocative titles however, the challenge is maintaining listener attention.

Though he’s discussing car reservations, Seinfeld illustrates this grabbing/holding distinction splendidly:

“You know how to take the reservation, you just don’t know how to hold the reservation. And that’s really the most important part…”

.

The French duo Air was able to get my attention.

But could they follow through with the most important part, the holding?

.

I’ve been looking at this CD cover for the past few years at The Beat Goes On in Burlington.220px-Air_-_The_Virgin_Suicides

It always got my attention, but didn’t hold it after seeing the price tag of $7.99. Yes, it’s not outrageously priced, but if I were to spend $8 on each of the 1001 albums…!

So I streamed.

.

Should I find myself in Burlington again soon, I may have to bring $8 with me.

The album (the score to the film of the same name) didn’t necessarily reel me in right away; somewhere around listen #4, it really started to click.

This film score featured recurring themes, without being repetitive.

There were Elliott Smith-ish moments, without being derivative.

The Radiohead influence was everywhere, without feeling second rate. One could argue the soundscapes & seamless sequencing here are on par with much of Radiohead’s 21st Century output.

I didn’t recognize the vocals on the opening track. Turns out, it’s the lead singer of the French band Phoenix, performing under a pseudonym.

Earlier this year, I wondered whether Phoenix would be a future favourite. Now I’m wondering where The Virgin Suicides might be placed in an inevitable Top 5 Film Scores list.

In any event, I’m glad that Air got & kept my attention.

“It is also a nice way to re-immerse in the 1001 project…”
– me in April 2016, concluding this very review of Air’s The Virgin Suicides.

From → 2000s

14 Comments
  1. Beaucuop gracias. I bought the titles track as a single, hundreds of years ago and I have a vague association of disappointment with it – I must dig it out again.

    • It’s strange they released singles as it works so well as a complete piece – it’s like Oxygene in that sense, I would struggle to choose which “track” from I to VI I’d pick as the single!

  2. Hackskeptic permalink

    Now this is one I’m very familiar with although I haven’t reviewed it yet. The key to a good soundtrack album for me, is that it makes sense as a standalone record. “Virgin Suicides” is one of the few that sounds great and you don’t need to watch the movie to get enjoyment from it.

  3. I only know Playground Love but its a bit of a fave. Did that one stand out for you?

  4. Nice post, Geoff. I had this on CD a good while back, but other than a few tracks I really struggled to get into it. Dark Messages, Cemetery Party and Ghost Song were favourites for the odd mix, though (I think)

    • Thanks J – it’s funny the streaming experience vs. the physical copy. If I have the CD/LP in front of me, I’m quite aware of the track names. But since I streamed this one, I had to look up the ones you mentioned, especially with instrumentals, couldn’t remember which went where!

      • Very same experience when I’m not listening to a physical copy of an album!

  5. A good friend of mind posted an Air song on Facebook a while ago with the description “The French Daft Punk” haha. I liked what I heard though.

  6. How does this compare with Moon Safari?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. MC Solaar – Qui Sème le Vent Récolte le Tempo (1991) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. The Sugarcubes – Life’s Too Good (1988) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

