Skip to content

Top 5 UK Albums (since ’05)

February 25, 2016

UK
Exemplary artwork by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

.

I attempted and failed miserably at creating Top 5 lists for UK Male Singers/UK Groups/UK Albums. Too many favourites, a fine problem to have.

However, seeing as my copy of the 1001 list only covers albums up to & including the year 2005, I can at least summarize my favourite UK exports from the last 10 years!

.

5. Morrissey, Ringleader of the Tormentors (2006)
Surprisingly, this is the most recent Morrissey album in my collection. Maybe I’m developing that allergic reaction to his voice that’s been affecting some of my fellow bloggers for years! But even Moz-allergy sufferers may find something to like here.

.

4. Keane, Under the Iron Sea (2006)
A tad front-loaded, but as strong a first half as any on this list…

.

3. Arctic Monkeys, Whatever People Say I am, That’s What I’m Not (2006)
…and this one boasts one of the strongest closing tracks in recent memory.

.

2. Babyshambles, Shotter’s Nation (2007)
Stephen Street might be the finest producer of the last 25 years.

.

1. Radiohead, In Rainbows (2007)
Not their best, but still Radiohead, and therefore the best active band in the business.

Apparently this list ended up being the Top 5 of ’06/’07!

From → Uncategorized

20 Comments
  1. For me, In Rainbows IS their best.

  2. Arggh! Morrissey!! Take it away – it burns!!!

    • Haha, I thought you might disapprove! If you can get past the voice (have ointment at the ready for the burning!) you may not entirely disapprove of the song here, a different vibe than usual

  3. Cool list, but I ain’t feeling any of this except the radiohead. And I’m with 1537 on the Morissey. Not my thing at all! Chacun son gout!

  4. Oh man, Book Of Souls. SO GOOD. Make sure you play it with the whole thing cranked to 11.

  5. Depends on how you feel about Blaze Bayley.

  6. Sorry for new comments everytime, it’s the only way I can reply in the Reader. I still cannot reply to a thread. It’s gotta be on my end somehow, but I googled and cannot find an answer. I’ve asked James, he’s an internet wizard. 🙂

    As for Blaze, I played both albums they did with him (I own them, even) and I didn’t much enjoy his voice.

    • Not to worry, I hadn’t realized it wasn’t in the thread, I’m just replying in the comment drop-down icon, so it’s just replying to your comment directly, wherever it was placed!
      Sounds like in my effort to get caught up on Maiden, I can skip that 90s phase

  7. Hackskeptic permalink

    Scary thing is Geoff, you and I have almost identical musical tastes…and my name is Geoff! Are you my doppelganger?

    • I may be!
      That’s funny, I bet we have zero physical resemblance but for music appreciation, identical twins!

  8. Oooft. This might be the first time that I say “oh no, Geoff!” Not all bad though, cause In Rainbows is there.

    I’d have to include Demon Days (Gorillaz), Back To Black (Amy Winehouse), Let England Shake (PJ Harvey), and Stay True (Danny & The Champions of the World). I might even substitute one of them for The Good, The Bad & The Queen depending on what kind of mood I’m in!

    • haha, not to worry J!
      I’m not familiar with those last 2 – Feel Good Inc would surely be on my top 5 UK singles since ’05 though!

      • Definitely worth checking out, Geoff. I reckon you’d dig. When I thought more about it (cause it’s a good question!) I could probably have replaced all of my suggestions!

Leave a Reply

