Skip to content

Super Furry Animals – Fuzzy Logic (1996)

February 19, 2016

UK

exemplary artwork by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Made in the UK Artist #1: Duran Duran

Made in the UK Artist #2: The Charlatans

Made in the UK Artist #3: Elton John

Made in the UK Artist #4: Pet Shop Boys

Made in the UK Artist #5: Jim Dead & The Doubters

Made in the UK Artist #6: The Chemical Brothers

Made in the UK Artist #7: The Style Council

Made in the UK Artist #8: Super Furry Animals

.

[Album 449/1001]

Determining the source material of this album is as fuzzy as it gets.

Take the first 3 tracks:

1.God! Show Me Magic – Intro reminiscent of Bowie’s Watch that Man (1973), verse not unlike New Order’s Blue Monday (1983), guitars like treble charger’s self=title album (1995), and a chorus that feels like Sloan’s The Good in Everyone (to be released later in 1996).

2. Fuzzy Birds – Guitar walk-ups à la Big Star (1972), I’m So Tired (1968)-ish John Lennon vibe, horns foreshadowing Sloan’s Sinking Ships (to be released in 1998).

3. Something for the Weekend – Speaking of Lennon, here the verses are nearly identical to The Arkells John Lennon bridge (to be released in 2008) with a beautiful descending chorus pattern like…well, many of my favourites. This track is quickly becoming a favourite.

.

After 3 tracks, I stopped trying to keep track: the list of influences and future influencees(?) would just keep growing.

220px-FuzzyLogic-SFA

Somehow, and simultaneously mind you, Super Furry Animals (SFA) manage to sound behind/of/and ahead of their time!

And it sounds terrific.

.

When searching for an image of this SFA album, I came across the wikipedia page for Fuzzy Logic as a mathematical concept.

After reading a bit, I realize I tend to see the world through Fuzzy Logic.

For the most part, I’m not a believer in viewing things as absolutely true/false, right/wrong, 0s and 1s, or as I’ve since learned it is called, Boolean Logic.

Binary is nice and neat but the world is fuzzier than that.

That being said, I see this SFA album’s inclusion on the 1001 list as pure Boolean Logic, a classic case of True/False, Right/Wrong.

It truly is right where it belongs.

From → 1990s

19 Comments
  1. ianbalentine permalink

    Ah, SFA, everything they have ever done is fantastic, and to release a debut this perfect out of the gate is remarkable. I think I shall listen to this one tomorrow.

  2. One of the best things ever to come out of Wales this one.

  3. Cool. It’s a name I know, never spent much time with them. Bands that makes songs that sound like other things walk a fine line between parody, tribute, and copyright infringement. That they manage to still sound like themselves despite all the influences saves it.

    • I think I’m drawn to bands that sound familiar, yet repelled if they sound too familiar! These guys, like you say Aaron, walk that fine line as well as I think it can be done

  4. Hackskeptic permalink

    I like this album a lot Geoff as you probably know. It’s not as good as future recordings (see “Rings Around The World”) but it’s a fine debut. I love the fact that SFA sound like a lot of great bands we’ve heard before and yet still sound uniquely SFA.

  5. T-Rev used to be into these guys. That’s all I know about ’em!

    • T-Rev has good taste!

      • He has incredible taste. He helped expand my taste. Again I don’t really remember anything about these guys except that he would tell me “they rock” and I would probably like this song or that song.

  6. Great band. I know this debut less well than the later stuff but am with Hackskeptic on the brilliance of Rings Around the World.

  7. Nice post, Geoff. Great album this one. I mind being a tad weary of the praise some tgrew at it, but it won me on first listen. I don’t know if they have a bad album … I honestly don’t think so.

    • Luckily they’re relatively under the radar (still) in Canada so I escaped most of the hype going in – but like you J, I was won over on listen #1 and it still kept getting better with each subsequent listen!

  8. Interesting, I’ve never heard anything by them.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Iron Maiden – Iron Maiden (1980) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Dexys Midnight Runners – Don’t Stand Me Down (1985) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

