Skip to content

Neil Young with Crazy Horse – Everybody Knows this is Nowhere (1969)

December 19, 2015

Music of the World_Canada

exemplary artwork by sarca @ caughtmegaming

Made in Canada Artist #1: Neil Young

[Album 439/1001]

How do you react when asked about your favourite Neil Young (NY) recordings?

Do you:

A) Show your Unwavering Devotion…

Neil

…like Neil Osborne (of 54-40). In the March 1996 issue of Chart Magazine, he selected 10 NY albums as his Top 10 Canadian Albums of All Time.

or

B) Show your visible discomfort at the question, wincing…

…like Paul Henderson (1972 Summit Series game winning goal scorer). This video is from Game 6 of the 1994 Leafs vs. Sharks playoff series, *spoiler alert* the Leafs are going to win in OT!

.

I used to be a card carrying member of group B.

4 years ago, I was almost offended by the number of times Neil Young appeared on the 1001 albums list.220px-EverybodyKnowsThisIsNowhere

Seriously, something like 10 times? Is that really necessary?

4 years later, I might have to say, yes it is!

.

Perhaps it’s like training yourself to like broccoli, try it enough times, you begin to enjoy it?

Perhaps I’m now hearing the profound influence he’s had on many of my beloved artists.

Perhaps Neil benefited from my personal listening experience here: I enjoyed multiple listens of Everybody Knows This is Nowhere while driving on country roads to & from Napanee for album shopping & hockey tournaments.

Perhaps it’s fitting that my Neil Young memories from 20 years ago were also about albums & hockey.

Perhaps some things never change.

Though not all things; I’m pleased I’ve changed my tune about Neil in recent years.

While my Top 10 Canadian albums of all time would not be entirely comprised of NY, he might make an appearance or two, something that would have been unfathomable at the beginning of this project.

No more wincing from me!

From → 1960s

12 Comments
  1. Great post, Geoff! Welcome to the club! 🙂

  2. Great read and nothing wrong with your heros hogging your fav albums…that’s whey there favs! Makes you feel any better I could put the first 6 Roth fronted VH albums in my all time top 10 easily! Great stuff…

    • Thanks Deke – I remember thinking in ’96, what’s Neil Osborne doing putting 10 Neil Young albums as his top 10? Thinking about it now, my top 5 was likely all Tragically Hip at that time, if they’d released 10 albums by ’96 it probably would have been all 10!

  3. One of my favourite Neil Young albums this. I dare say if I was asked to compile my top 10 Canadian albums all 10 would be Neil. Well, Maybe 8 … (need space for Cohen and The Sadies!).

  4. I was raised on a strict diet of CSN+Y and all their solo stuff, so I’ve been totally conditioned to like this. There’s no free will involved at all.

    • My kids will probably say the same about some of the artists that I’ve ensured are a part of their balanced diet – enjoyed this free will idea Joe!

  5. I only own one Neil album, the greatest hits from 10 years ago. I don’t know what else I need!

    • I’d ask Neil Osborne!

      • I always get confused when I hear that name. I went to school with a Matt Osborne, same spelling, who was a very talented musician, and unfortunately he died very young.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Rush – 2112 (1976) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

