Skip to content

Made in Canada

December 8, 2015

Music of the World_Canada(Magnificent Canada logo by Magnificent Canadian Sarca @ caughtmegaming)

Welcome to the 5th year of my 1001albumsin10years project!

In year 5, I plan on traveling the world, spending a month in 12 different countries.

To begin, I’ll travel all the way to…my own country!

Top 5s this month will likely include Bands, Male & Female Singers, Songs, and Albums.

Rush & Leonard Cohen will also kick things off later this week in terms of album reviews.

.

But first – a word of thanks to someone who is quickly becoming one of my favourite Canadian visual artists!

The artwork used during the months of September, October, and November on this site was generously provided by Sarca, a fellow blogger from this fine blogging community.

I thoroughly appreciate her stellar monthly theme logos & I hope you folks are enjoying them too!

From → Uncategorized

53 Comments
  1. HAIL SARCA!

  2. Can I take it we can look forward to Wales being January’s country of choice?

    • Are they ever anything less than the country of choice? 🙂
      Are there any Welsh acts on the 1001?

      • Manic Street Preachers- I’ll get back to you on any others!

      • I haven’t got to the Holy Bible yet – I reckon I could spend a month immersed in it!

      • What about Super Furry Animals or Stereophonics?

      • And let us not forget Tom Jones, even though we may have tried occasionally.

  3. I approve of your 2016 plan, cool idea! Canada first, of course! hahaha.

    I also am curious which Leonard you’ll choose. Bring it on!

    • It’s funny how it’s sometimes cheaper to travel internationally than it is to fly within Canada – I figure this is an inexpensive/convenient way to see more of our country!

      • I know, it’s crazy. We used to book flights from Saskatoon to Toronto at Christmas time, and then look at the price of flights to the UK and Europe and it was sad – I just don’t get why it’s so expensive to travel here. Fewer flights per day, sure, but come on.

      • There’s good reason I haven’t gotten around to visiting my mother in NWT.

      • I can only imagine the flights, would love to see each province/territory, but the budget’s not permitting a NWT/Nunuvut/Yukon flight at the moment!

  4. That’s a spiffy logo! Great stuff, Sarca. Looking forward to the world tour!

  5. Thank you for the opportunity, Geoff! At least my Visual Arts degree is not going to waste! 🙂 Let me know when you go visit Wales. 😉

  6. Canada, eh? Nice choice, and given I am a full 50% Canadian I am sure I’ll be mightier impressed with your picks. Rush is a great start…looking forward to this!

    • It’s funny, I didn’t use to be terribly fond of Rush – I’ve changed my tune though in the last 10 years, thanks Ian!

  7. Full Kudos to Sarca! Look forward to this…..

  8. Oh Canada! Can’t wait to see some of your picks!

    • My thanks JP!
      I was thinking yesterday that I might have to borrow your mixtape idea in lieu of a Top 5 for bands – there’s just too many deserving ones!

  9. Congratulations on a milestone, Geoff! Great work, Sarca!

    I’ll hope for a “Chelsea Hotel” feature.

  10. Congrats on the 5th birthday Geoff and full kendos to Sarca for the awesome artwork. I like the idea for the series too. I was toying with doing a similar thing for a while but didn’t get it off the ground!

    • Many thanks HMO – I’d love to have a travel companion if you feel inspired!

      • I’d be up for that! It’s one of those ideas that’s just been percolating for ages. How many countries do you think you’ll be visiting?

      • The vision is 1 per month – so Canada for December, unclear destinations from the on. So far I’ve been hearing nothing but nice things about Wales!

      • Not from Mr 1537 I hope! He lives in England!

      • Shhhh! You’ll blow all my cool, in one go.

  11. Well done Sarca!
    And well done you – such ambition! Love Cohen.

  12. Looks very exciting, looking forward.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Next stop: The UK! | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Greetings from The USA! | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

