Skip to content

(My) Top 5 Orange Music Purchases

October 29, 2015

logo
awesome autumn art by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

One more autumn colour for the road!

Orange was not nearly as popular a song title colour as red, yellow, or gold. Perhaps because rhyming dictionaries come up empty for orange?

So a change of pace for this Top 5: The Top 5 orange CDs/Records in my collection.

.

IMG_0748

5. The Rural Alberta Advantage, Departing
Bonus marks for including a map of Alberta along with a digital copy of the record. As JP noted, they put on a great live show.

.

IMG_0741

4. R.E.M., Imitation of Life
The distinction of being the first colour record in my collection doesn’t hurt its case.

.

IMG_0744

3. Gord Downie, Coke Machine Glow
Pairs nicely with the accompanying poetry book.

.

IMG_0745

2. Pet Shop Boys, Very
“The Lego” case is brilliant, as are many of the tracks.

.

IMG_0742

1. The Smiths, “Louder than Bombs”
I could have also included Moz’s (orange coloured) Southpaw Grammar but I feared I might need epipens at the ready for those with severe anaphylactic Morrissey allergies.
This double Smiths LP was too good to leave off; proceed with caution allergy-suffering friends!

From → Uncategorized

34 Comments
  1. Super-cool! Great idea for a post! Lovely orange vinyls {drools…]

    I would argue the ordering, though. Smiths at #1 must be replaced by Gordie! πŸ™‚

    I have an autographed copy of Coke Machine Glow. That’s a story I should tell, someday!

    I would also add Rollins Band’s A Clockwork Orange Stage for orange cover art. ROLLINS!

    • THat’s a story I’d enjoy hearing!
      mmmmmmmmm orange vinyl, there is something quite pleasing about the coloured discs. And something pleasing about seeing our friend Henry where he belongs, in caps lock!

  2. Shoot, that’s cool vinyl! And great time to post pics of the “Very” cool Pet Shop Boys CD.

  3. Someone already mentioned Monster, but what about Orange Crush? And I believe Pearl Jam’s Vs. was also a lovely hazard cone orange.

    Love the Smiths album.

    Orange is a difficult color.

    • A fine tune Orange Crush – the song that taught me how to play harmonics on the guitar!
      I still have to upgrade to CD from my Vs. cassette πŸ˜€

      • I absolutely love that you still listen to cassettes πŸ™‚ How are yours doing? Most of mine are badly warped and can’t be played, but I keep them anyway, because they’re awesome.

      • The walkman was a vital part of my Marty McFly costume at school today – and it’s still operational! πŸ˜€

  4. That RAA vinyl looks pretty sweet in orange. It’s the only one of their albums I don’t have on vinyl yet. I agree with “sourgirlohio”: orange is a very difficult. There used to be a Canadian alt-rock band in the 90s called Rhymes with Orange. Their concert Ts had “rhymes with f*ck all” on the back, which I loved at the time.

    • Yet is the key word!
      I was thinking of them, the only song I could remember of theirs was ‘she forgot to laugh’ – like the sounds of that T, clever & crass all at once!

      • They do a fine cover of Small Faces’ “Itchycoo park”. I’m sure you could find that on YouTube somewheres. And yes, ‘yet’ is the key word there.

      • Thank you for suggesting, to borrow a hip tune, my music at work for today!

  5. Are we allowed to suggest orange songs? If so, my contribution is “Orange Blossom Special” by Merle Haggard.

    • I sure hope so, ‘cos here’s a bunch more!

      Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Orange
      Metal Molly – Orange
      Vandals – Aging Orange
      Beck – Burnt Orange Peel
      Guided By Voices – Marchers In Orange
      Hawksley Workman – Old Bloody Orange
      The Band – Orange Juice Blues
      Charles Mingus – Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Silk Blue
      Johnny Cash – Orange Blossom Special
      R.E.M. – Orange Crush

    • Suggestions always encouraged!

  6. Very nice indeed.

  7. Great idea! How do you think of this stuff? Ha!

  8. Phillip Helbig permalink

    No Tangerine Dream?

    R.I.P. Edgar Froese.

    I saw TD at one of their last concerts, just a few months before EF died.

    • No Tangerine Dream Yet that is – Phaedra is on the 1001 list but I haven’t heard/bought it yet. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled (pun sort of intented) for Tangerine Dream!

  9. You’re missing Jon Spencer Blues Explosion ‘Orange’? man, that’s a good ‘un! Nice post G.

  10. Very nice, Geoff … orange vinyl!

Leave a Reply

