Skip to content

Top 5 Gold Songs

October 26, 2015

logo
awesome autumn art by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

“That’s gold Jerry, gold!”
– Kenny Bania, Seinfeld

After a week of living in the past &/or future, it’s time to return to the present colourful Autumn.

Though gold is no ovaltine, it’s still a fine colour overall for tunes, enjoy!

.

5. Soul Asylum, Black Gold
I’ve said it before but if you took the strongest 6 tunes from Grave Dancers Union and the strongest 6 (or 7) from Let Your Dim Light Shine, you’d have a formidable (baker’s) dozen.

.

4. Beck, Golden Age
I don’t mind the Radiohead-esque lullaby guitar one bit.

.

3. David Bowie, Golden Years
The 70s really were Golden Years for Bowie.

.

2. The Beatles, Golden Slumbers
This song gives me false confidence about my piano playing ability, a beauty from the Abbey Road side B medley.

.

1. Pavement, Gold Soundz
I’ll go back to these Gold Soundz any day.

From → Uncategorized

41 Comments
  1. PAVEMENT FTW!!

    • I’m pleased you didn’t reverse those capital letters Aaron!

      • Haha yeah you’re right. BIG Pavement fan over here. Huge. Oh baby.

      • I just had crooked rain on this week for research(?) for this top 5 ๐Ÿ˜€

        I think very few fans ‘like’ Pavement – from people I’ve spoken with, it tends to be either love or what’s their appeal?

      • Yup, no middle ground with those guys. And then you get the serious fans who like some of their output but not all, or even parts of albums… it gets crazy.

      • If you had to rank the 5 Pavements?
        My without thinking answer:
        5. Wowee Zowee
        4. Terror
        3. Crooked
        2. Slanted
        1. Brighten

      • Can’t do it. That’d be like asking me to choose between children. Ain’t happening.

      • Funny I was going to say that as a follow-up question – could you rank their albums? or is it like picking a favourite child? an impossible task!

      • Nailed it!

  2. Man I love that period of Soul Asylum. Nevermind Runaway Train, there were some great deep cuts on those two records, good call!

    • Cheers to great deep cuts! And there were some fine ones, String of Pearls, Homesick, Somebody to Shove, Just Like Anyone…

      • I think Somebody To Shove was a single? But yeah, they had tons of great tracks. Those two discs played well top to bottom.

  3. I was gonna add some Gold songs to your list, like After The Goldrush, or Tom Wait’s Diamonds & Gold or GZA’s Gold or Rolling Stones’ Everything Is Coming Up Gold or even another Pavement (Cream Of Gold), but my iTunes listed 295 tracks that either have gold in the title or come from an album with gold in the title, and I ain’t typing all of that up!

  4. Gold Cash Gold
    Goldcard
    Golden Seals
    Golden Smog
    Goldfinger
    Goldie
    Goldsboro
    Robert Plant with Lil’ Band Of Gold
    Hugh Marsh, Johnathon Goldsmith, Martin Tielli, Rob Piltch

    I read it wrong, it said “Show 6 More,” so it was more.

  5. My top 5 would be Golden Years, Heart of Gold, Sister Golden Hair, Gold Dust Woman, and Stone Roses-Fools Gold. Also rans Seven Cities of Gold-Rush.

    I like your list though. Some tunes I have to check out

  6. Well we can dig a little deeper and Adrian Smith(Iron Maiden) released a solo album and the title track was Silver And Gold! That’s the Banger talking here!
    Haha!

    • When you said Silver & Gold, I immediately started singing the Burl Ives ‘silver and gold’ from the Rudolph Christmas special!

  7. The album was from 1989!

  8. Hurrah for Gold Soundz and Beck’s Golden Age. Good call, Geoff.

    I would have to have Gold Dust Woman in there. Such a brilliant song. Even the Hole version is a winner.

    Hank Williams’ House of Gold would be one of my top choice, though. No question.

    • I heard the Hole version before the original – I agree, it’s a good one. House of Gold is new to me, I’ll check it out today, thanks J!

      • House of Gold is wonderful. One of those truly simple and genuine songs that Hank Williams seemed to pen and perform almost effortlessly. I hope you like it!

  9. I’d only add “Gold on the Ceiling” by The Black Keys.

    • Nice choice Danica – and the Black Keys mention makes me think a Black themed month has potential!

      • I agree! I’m guessing that Black Theme would be very popular and busy.

        I’m really enjoying your color themes. Your lists are wonderful and I like reading everyone’s additions.

      • Much appreciated Danica – I’m hoping to sneak in orange before the end of the month (and resist the urge to make orange-ya-glad puns!)

      • That will be awesome! If you don’t make those puns you know that someone else will. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. My first thought was Gold by Spandau Ballet. A bit of British 80’s music for you!

  11. Neil Young’s After the Goldrush is also worth mentioning. Oh, and GZA’s Gold, possibly my favourite of all of his solo tracks, featuring this great opening line:

    “I’m deep down in the back streets, in the heart of Medina
    About to set off something more deep than a misdemeanor.”

    • Nice – I haven’t hit liquid swords yet, quotes like that encourage me to check it out sooner!

  12. Zack permalink

    What about Yukon Cornelius’ ‘Silver & Gold’? Or was it Gold & Silver?

  13. Some wonderful selections here again Geoff!

    I had a “gold” song yesterday to post but now I can’t remember it. I’ll go with Yukon Cornelius too!

    • Not to worry, if it comes back to you (even if it’s in a few weeks), feel free to chime in – until then, Yukon the greatest Prospector in the North works!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. (My) Top 5 Orange Music Purchases | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

