Skip to content

Top 5 Yellow Songs

October 17, 2015

logo
awesome autumn art by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Perhaps not quite the same quantity of tunes as found with Red, but the quality keeps up reasonably well!

.

5. Coldplay, Yellow
Coldplay, according to the superb/still-working-on-constructive-criticism essayist Chuck Klosterman:

“their greatest f*cking artistic achievement is a video where the blandly attractive frontman walks on a beach on a cloudy afternoon…’For you I bleed myself dry,’ sang the blockhead vocalist, brilliantly informing us that stars in the sky are, in fact, yellow.”

If you can get past that, and the overexposure from the roughly 2000 times you heard Yellow in the year 2000, it’s an enjoyable song!

.

4. Pearl Jam, Yellow Ledbetter
I haven’t the foggiest idea what Eddie’s singing. No matter.

.

3. Arctic Monkeys, Old Yellow Bricks
Get on your dancin’ shoes indeed.

.

2. The Beatles, Yellow Submarine
Bonus marks for the “sky of blue, sea of green” backup vocals.

.

1. Elton John, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
Sourgirl’s fine post today reminded me of how great the Elton John/Bernie Taupin songwriting team can be.
Rhetorical question: has their been a better soaring chorus entry note?

From → Uncategorized

58 Comments
  1. Nailed it on all five. My favourite yellow song isn’t here but that’s OK!

    • You realize I simply have to know what that song is Mike!

      • In the town…where I was born…lived a man…who sailed the sea…

        First heard it around age 10, not having a clue who it was and if I did it wouldn’t have mattered because I didn’t know them!

      • Good news – much like Robert Wagner’s character in Austin Powers, Yellow Sub’s my #2!

      • OH MAN…I saw the video and it didn’t register…LOL!!!!

      • haha, not to worry – it should have had Ringo or the animation as the video preview!

      • No kidding!!!

        But there’s the damn words and it still went over my head!

      • I’m having a bad night!

      • I’m betting it’s Tie A Yellow Ribbon ‘Round The Ol’ Oak Tree.

  2. I was immediately gonna say Yellow Ledbetter and then you got it. Yes!

    Another cool colour post. Well done!

  3. May I also submit:

    Joni Mitchell – Big Yellow Taxi
    Gord Downie & The Country Of Miracles – Yellow Days
    Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Yellow Eyes
    Pearl Jam – Black Red Yellow
    Pearl Jam – Yellow Moon
    Rollins Band – Yellow Blues
    Throwing Muses – Bright Yellow Gun

    and at least three songs with โ€œyellowโ€ in the title by Robert Pollard solo, and with his various side project bands.

    • Naturally no permission needed to discuss gordie baby around here! Nice additions, thanks A!

      • No worries. And in fact I would vote Rollins Band over all of those other songs. ROLLINS!

  4. Excellent list, Geoff! Aaron guessed my favorite yellow song.
    I’d like to add:

    Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Yellow Polka Dot Bikini, by Brian Hyland
    Mellow Yellow, by Donovan
    Old Yellow Moon, by Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell

  5. Mellow Yellow?

  6. Nothing by the band Yello?

  7. Nice call on Coldplay (I do still like that song an awfy lot) and Pearl Jam. I too have no idea what Vedder sings … opening line “on the ceiling”?.

  8. Glad to see Donovan finally made it into the comments at least!
    And here’s another: ‘Yellow sunshine’ by Thirsty Moon. Obscure krautrock, but brill. Ha!

  9. Thanks for the mention, sir!

    I love Yellow Ledbetter. We never find out whether it was the box or the bag. We probably never will. I thinks his voice is more of an instrument in that one. But it’s a great song;)

    And of course, Sir Elton. Cheers.

  10. I do like me some Donovan, but this list here is solid.

    • My thanks Sarca, I like to think a list is only as solid as its art ๐Ÿ˜€
      Currently enjoying a mug of PC’s Great Canadian Coffee, I’d love to hear your thoughts on that blend (I think of it as a ‘swiss chalet’ valued product = a decent ‘fee for a decent fee!)

      • I don’t frequent No Frills, so I have to make a special stop for the PC prods – and will make a stop for this coffee, I promise!

      • Stellar!
        Surprisingly, the tin is often cheaper at the typically higher-priced Loblaws.
        Looking forward to the review whenever it may arrive!

      • If I can add here, there are two PC coffees to try. There’s the Great Canadian, absolutely. And I think I told you once about another of theirs, it’s a dark blend, the can’s label is all black… for the life of me I can’t remember. All I know is that a smaller tin of it costs the same as a big tin of other coffees, but every once in a while they put big tins of it on sale for the same price as everything else… Gah that bugs me, I can’t remember what it is. Next time I’m in Zehrs I’ll write it down and let you know. It’s a great coffee anyway, I always buy it when I see it on sale…

      • Haha, I was going to guess the one with ‘gourmet’ on the label but I couldn’t remember the details!

      • That’s me, your typical gourmet! Haha just remember, regular price is too high, but when it’s on sale snap it up quick. It’s awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. jprobichaud permalink

    As far off-track as Coldplay has since gone, “Yellow’ was a great single.

  12. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is one of the greatest pop songs ever, imo. Can’t really stand Coldplay, though.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. (My) Top 5 Orange Music Purchases | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

