Skip to content

Culture Club – Colour By Numbers (1983)

October 8, 2015

logoawesome autumn art by Sarca @ caughtmegaming

Autumn Colours Artist #1: Culture Club

[Album 428/1001]

“Loving would be easy if your colours were like my dreams:
Red, gold, and green”
– Culture Club, Karma Chameleon

While I am quite fond of each of the aforementioned colours, I can’t say I love Colour by Numbers.220px-CultureClubColourByNumbersAlbumcover

That being said, my opinion of the album has been remarkably consistent: listen #1 was on par with listen #5.

Now in the game of golf, “par” is a respectable score for a pro.  A “par” score is achieved when a golfer completes the course in the expected number of strokes.

I’d say this album can be considered par for the course: it delivers what can reasonably be expected and doesn’t necessarily thrill or disappoint.

.

I was impressed that I didn’t grow tired of Karma Chameleon, I had suspected it would get really annoying, really quickly.

It’s an interesting feeling when a song or an album leaves you feeling the same after subsequent listens.

Well crafted records tend to get better with repetition; weaker ones wear increasingly thin.  As neither outcome applies here, it appears Colour By Numbers would fall somewhere in between the two.

In terms of my consistent enjoyment, this Culture Club album might also fit between a pair of other consistent-regardless-of-number-of-times-listened ’83 releases, Cyndi Lauper’s She’s So Unusual and Eurythmics’ Sweet Dreams (Are Made of These).

Surprisingly, if ranked by voice appreciation, I’d go Annie Lennox-Boy George-Cyndi Lauper.

But when it comes to the overall album appreciation, the order would be the inverse.

And there’s a graph of course.

Consistent enjoyment

From → 1980s

17 Comments
  1. Graphs! Color-coding! Awesome. I like Karma Chameleon and the lyrics, but I don’t think I’ve heard the entire album.
    Interesting comparisons. I agree with your voice appreciation but I’m not sure what my graph for album appreciation would look like.
    I saw Cyndi Lauper perform some blues numbers a little while ago and she sounded amazing.

    • Nice call on the lyrics Danica, not too many pop hits talk about ‘conviction’ and ‘ambition’
      I’d be interested in hearing Cyndi perform the blues!

  2. All the Flat-lining would seem very appropriate here!

  3. Can’t say I’m familiar with the album, but I’m perhaps too familiar with the song. Boy George gets bonus points for his A-Team appearance, though …

    • And I haven’t seen it yet – no bonus points for me!

      • Don’t you worry, you get your bonus points for the infographic. And, if you really want to catch Boy George hanging with the A-Team I’m fairly certain YouTube will hook you up!

      • just watched the Boy George meets the A-team commercial, nice door kick-in!

  4. I had this.

    That’s all I have to say about that.

  5. THIS:

    “Surprisingly, if ranked by voice appreciation, I’d go Annie Lennox-Boy George-Cyndi Lauper. But when it comes to the overall album appreciation, the order would be the inverse.”

    When I first read this bit, I thought the Lauper was the best of the three. Nailed it.

    Also: Nice chart!

    Also: If you can listen to a record over and over and not feel any differently about it, one might also call that apathy!

    • What’s that old saying, I’d be more apathetic if I weren’t so lethargic!

      • Hahahaha I’d never heard that one. Doubt I’ll ever use it, though. Doesn’t fit my usual M.O.!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pixies – Surfer Rosa (1988) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. The Beatles – Revolver (1966) | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Goldfrapp – Felt Mountain (2000) | 1001albumsin10years
  4. Sonic Youth – Dirty (1992) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

