Skip to content

Dolly Parton – Coat of Many Colors (1971)

September 20, 2015

September
(Lovely Logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming)

.

Songstress #1: Loretta Lynn

Songstress #2: Neneh Cherry

Songstress #3: Dusty Springfield

Songstress #4: Dolly Parton

 

[Album 424/1001]CoatofManyColors

“How I love my coat of many colors”
– Joseph, from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat (JATATD)

This album takes me back to the early 90s.

Mind you, I had no idea of this record’s existence at the time.

But when I picked up this Dolly Parton LP, I was somehow 10 years old again and:

  1. Picturing Donny Osmond, who looked somewhat like my hockey hero Doug Gilmour, singing about his Coat of Many Colors in the Toronto production of JATATD
  2. Thinking of Whitney Houston, pausing dramatically before hitting the big “and I” in the Dolly Parton-penned I Will Always Love You
  3. Unable to read cursive writing!  A calligrapher I was not to be.  Even attempting to read the back cover here in 2015, I struggled through a sentence or two before giving up.

cursive writing
(thanks to my daughter for being my photographer, yet again!)

Fortunately, not even that reminder of my curs-ed reading limitations could dampen my enthusiasm for Dolly.

I’m on a classic country kick.

My 10-year old self would not understand my new-found affinity for old school country (then again he would have a mushroom cut for years to come).

As with most crazes & phases, it’s tough to pinpoint the exact appeal.

In Dolly’s case, I think I really like Coat of Many Colors as it works equally well at 9 a.m. and 9 p.m.

While the singer is important, the songs are paramount.

And although my sample size is still admittedly small, from what I’ve heard, I reckon she wrote some of the finest songs the genre has to offer.

From → 1970s

29 Comments
  1. Another great album and another of those great country singers. It’s easy to forget that Dolly Parton was, and still is, one of the greats.

  2. I can honestly say that I just don’t like country music, then I have to remind myself that I love Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers:) Dolly is a great icon. For all of us girls workin’ 9 to 5. Ha. Good post.

    • Sour girl if I may interject, because I too like Kenny Rogers…the American Recordings of Johnny Cash can be a gateway to what I call “good country”. LOL

      • Agreed. Johnny Cash is amazing. I should be more specific about my distaste for country music being limited to modern country. Many artists I love were influenced by the era of Johnny Cash.

      • I know what you mean though. I don’t want to advertize myself as “I like country!” when chances are someone associates that with Taylor Swift.

      • It’s funny, when I was in high school, you would never wear socks and sandals Nor admit to liking country. Now kids in Kingston do both proudly, times have changed!

      • Geoff — socks and crocs over here!

        I understand that Alan Cummings wore Crocs to the Emmy’s last night.

      • haha, you’re in good company then!

      • I think so! There is also the great chef Mario Battali and his trademark orange Crocs, which he bought all remaining stock of when they were discontinued. Local celebrity Chef D also wears Crocs in the kitchen. And my camouflage Crocs are PERFECT for outdoor BBQing!

    • Thanks sourgirl – the more recent country that I’ve heard hasn’t spoken to me so much. But this vintage stuff, yes please!

  3. Wow this takes me back to being a kid too. Our local radio station played both kinds of music – country AND western. And my grandparents had this LP. I’m glad you’re on a classic country kick. It won’t (generally) steer you wrong.

    That’s weird about the cursive writing. Has it always that way, or is it just since we started spending most of our lives reading type on a computer screen? I mean, I’d understand if you couldn’t read my handwriting (only my lovely wife can decipher it) but all of cursive as a whole?

    • I can read it I suppose, but it just takes a lot more effort than reading printing for me.
      It comes down to a cost/benefit – if it was an endurance test, read this cursive writing and receive $100, I’d summon the energy! But it’s a deterrent otherwise

  4. Donny Osmond DOES resemble Gilmore is a non-goon-non-broken-nose way! My goodness!

    And is that really Dolly on the cover too? Wow.

    • I should say Gilmour with his teeth in of course!

      • Speaking of Dougie! He’s going to be on the morning show of our local rock station tomorrow morning. Very excited for this — will have to wake Jen up early!

      • Nice – that’s well worth getting up for!

  5. Look up Dottie West, she was an incredible singer. Dolly is great too, quality songwriter.

  6. Phillip Helbig permalink

    “In Dolly’s case, I think I really like Coat of Many Colors as it works equally well at 9 a.m. and 9 p.m.”

    Later, she was more 9 to 5. 🙂

  7. Phillip Helbig permalink

    Dolly Parton: It takes a lot of money to look this cheap!

    • Phillip Helbig permalink

      That is a direct quote from Dolly about herself!

      Another one: If I have another face lift, I’ll have a beard!

  8. Phillip Helbig permalink

    Dolly has done some good stuff, including bluegrass. But also a lot of fluff.

    She has written a huge number of songs. Huge.

    Someone suggested that it would be good for her to get together with Rick Rubin.

  9. I don’t think I have heard this one…
    As for cursive writing, I had trouble with it too, but I adjusted. I have had a succession of teachers and profs with awful handwriting that I have had to decipher, and at one point I was known as the handwriting whisperer, as I managed to figure out what teachers were writing at the end of my classmates’ assignments! Cursive is a dying “art”, as my understanding is that it is no longer taught in school.

    • The handwriting whisperer – I would have loved to sit near you in university to help with some decoding!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Le Tigre – Le Tigre (1999) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Emmylou Harris – Red Dirt Girl (2000) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

