Skip to content

Dusty Springfield – Dusty in Memphis (1969)

September 18, 2015

September
(Lovely Logo by Sarca @ caughtmegaming)

.

Songstress #1: Loretta Lynn

Songstress #2: Neneh Cherry

Songstress #3: Dusty Springfield

[Album 423/1001]DustyInMemphis

This might be among the greatest albums of all time.

But I’ll never know for sure.

Alas Dusty had the misfortune of being the first album I reviewed following the #top15onthe15th festivities.

So even if it is off-the-charts incredible, it’s not an easy task to follow my all time favourites.

.

That being said, Dusty in Memphis may be the optimal re-entry to the 1001 project for me and more specifically, for the September Songstress Spotlight.

It doesn’t sound like anything from my Top 15, therefore it’s not really in competition with them either.

It’s as inoffensive as they come, the arrangements and vocals blend together, seemingly seamless, as if they were combined with very little effort.

I often find the mark of a good record is when the big hit (Son of a Preacher Man in this case) is among the least interesting tracks.

I also appreciate that the album art falls somewhere between Macaulay Culkin’s Kevin & Bill Hader’s Stefon.

Kevin, Dusty, Stefon

A final sign it’s a winning album?  People didn’t lap it up at the time.  When the praise is a decade or two delayed, that sounds like my kind of record.

So if my gushing praise is delayed a bit longer, perhaps that’s the most favourable review there is?

From → 1960s

12 Comments
  1. Great feature, Geoff! Love this album. In fact, it was on my original looong list for my Top 15 on the 15th. It was bumped off when I implemented the “songwriting” criteria. Narrowing the list was no easy task, so I had to take drastic measures.

    • Thanks Danica – and I like that it made the original looong list!
      I have to give her bonus marks for being smart enough to surround herself with some world-class songwriters.
      When I was listening to the last couple of tracks, I kept thinking, this reminds me of Carole King – sure enough, she co-wrote them both!

  2. I haven’t heard this album in its entirety, but everytime I hear Dusty sing, I know she’s amazing. Gotta get me some of this!

  3. Well Geoff I’m a stranger to this one, but I like your photo collage at the end. That’s brilliant! (Mac wins though. Back in theatres this Christmas!)

    • Thanks Mike!
      And did you just say Home Alone will be back in theatres???
      I suppose it’s the 25th anniversary, I’m excited to see lines like “Buzz, your girlfriend, woof” on the big screen!!

      • That is my understanding, yes. I think I read that on one of the trash news sites I read on a daily basis. Yes it’s coming back to theaters for a special run this Christmas.

  4. I’m awfy fond of this one. Have this with an album worth of bonus cuts somewhere, too. Though I generally just listen to the actual album when I throw it on. Really splendid stuff.

    • J you have a knack for finding the right adjective – I think splendid is the right one here too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Dolly Parton – Coat of Many Colors (1971) | 1001albumsin10years
  2. Le Tigre – Le Tigre (1999) | 1001albumsin10years
  3. Emmylou Harris – Red Dirt Girl (2000) | 1001albumsin10years

Leave a Reply

