Skip to content

Top 15 Albums

September 15, 2015

#top15onthe15th
September 15th, 2015 = Top 15 Day!

.

I’ll update this post with a bunch of links to fellow Top 15 lists as the day progresses.

*UPDATED* Check out these fantastic lists (each is an HMO favourite!), huge thanks to LeBrain for assembling:

LeBrain at mikeladano.com – Top 15 on the 15th
J at Resurrection Songs
– Top 15 on the 15th
Uncle Meat – Top 15 on the 15th
Iron Tom Sharpe – Top 15 on the 15th
James at the KMA – Top 15 on the 15th
Sarca at Caught me Gaming – My Top 15 Music Albums of All Time
Deke at Arena Rock – DeKEs All Time Top 15 (Kinda,Sorta)
Geoff at the 1001 – Top 15 Albums
Aaron at the KMA – Top 15 on the 15th
Danica at Living a Beautiful Life – My Top 15 Albums of All Time
1537 from 1537 – Top 15 Books About Music
We Left This World Today – 15 is not enough…
Andytallman from A Hole in the Head – Top 15 Albums of All Time
Pop Culture Forays – Top 15 Albums
Brian from Boppin’s Blog – Top 15 on the 15th
Ovidiu Boar at Tangled Up In Music – Top 15 on the 15th
80sMetalMan – My Top 15 Albums
Jimmy at kingcrimsonblog – Top 15 on the 15th
Another Bad Conversation – My Top 15 on the 15th
Nick from Nick Green’s Reviews – Top 15 on the 15th
Zack at The Audible Stew – #top15onthe15th
Quirky T at The Guitar Train – The Guitar Train’s Top 15 Albums
Ian at The 80s Didn’t Suck – Top 15 Albums (plus 54 others)

.

In the Meantime (to borrow a great Spacehog tune), here’s my contribution.

Note-for-note, there are likely superior albums.

But as at 11:59 p.m. on Monday, September 14th, these are the ones that are either ingrained, are constantly in my listening rotation, or make me feel better about the world.  In most cases, all of the above.  Enjoy!

.

IMG_0268

15. The Darkness – Permission To Land (2003)
The most fun record of the 21st Century thus far.

14. Bryan Adams – Into the Fire and Other Hot Tracks (1987)
My cassette has the studio album as program A and essentially a greatest hits as program B!

13. Billy Joel – Glass Houses (1980)
All For Leyna, Sleeping With the Television On, I’m shocked I see it as often as I do in the used bins.

12. The Beatles – Abbey Road (1969)
The side B suite is magnificent.  I’m not sure where my copy is, it’s absent for the photo-shoot!

11. The Cure – Wild Mood Swings (1996)
Cure purists would probably choose an earlier record but I especially adore this one.

.

IMG_0274

10. Morrissey – Your Arsenal (1992)
My gateway to Moz…

9. The Smiths – The Queen is Dead (1986)
…and therefore also The Smiths

8. Sloan – Twice Removed (1994)
Sloooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnn!  It goes deeper than its beauty.

7. The Beach Boys – Pet Sounds (1966)
I had no use for the Beach Boys before I heard this.  God Only Knows what I’d do without this one now.

6. The Tragically Hip – Fully Completely (1992)
A Hip essay is in the brainstorming stages as I type.  Perhaps the most important band & album in my early music fan years.

.

IMG_0269

5. Radiohead – The Bends (1995)
Thom sang “I wish I was…Bulletproof.”  This album is pretty darn close.

4. Weezer – Pinkerton (1996)
On any given day, spots #2 & 4 might be reversed.

3. Radiohead – OK Computer (1997)
One of those heavily praised records that is worthy of each & every accolade.

2. Weezer – Weezer (1994)
I like to keep a guitar tuned down half a step for when the weezer mood strikes (as it often does and should).

1. The Beatles – The Beatles (1968)
The Beatles is a flawed record.  Paradoxically, its flaws make it that much more perfect.

.

Thanks for reading, writing, and participating!

From → Uncategorized

50 Comments
  1. Great list, Geoff! Lot of great listening, there!

    We picked TWO records the same! Double twins!

    • Double twins! Excited to see which two, I`m guessing hip & sloan?!

      • For artists only, you’re correct. But no, we’re double twins on Artist/Album and it ain’t Sloan/Hip, though you were half-right.

  2. I like your list, Geoff! I’m particularly interested in your Cure selection. I’m going to have to give Wild Mood Swings a closer listen.

  3. Great list! I love seeing lists like these. And great choices! Both those Radiohead albums would probably make my list as well. 🙂 I was surprised that there were a couple on here that I don’t know! (The Tragically Hip & Sloan). I’ve never liked The Beach Boys at all – maybe I should check that album out. I became terrible in my later years for only really listening to “best of” complications. I’d find it hard to put together a list of favorite albums excluding “Greatest Hits”. I should try someday. 🙂

    • The Hip & Sloan are definitely bigger in Canada than elsewhere, though when I spent a couple summers in the UK, I tried my best to introduce them to anyone who would listen!
      It`s funny, that Beach boys album has none of the`surf, surf, surf“girls girls girls stuff, it was a big part of my university days so it has lots of nostalgia points!

  4. jprobichaud permalink

    Interesting list! I’m with Danica on your Cure selection. I’m not all that familiar with Wild Mood Swings. My vote would’ve been for Disintegration, I think.

  5. This is my favourite of the lists! You’ve got Sloan on it which is a big no-no but The Darkness managed to compensate for that.

    • Haha, thanks HMO!
      I`ll have to make sure my fellow Canadians included Sloan on their lists as part of our citizenship requirements 😀

  6. And are all these on the 1001? I bet Sloan aren’t.

    • Alas not even Sloan!
      the weezer, sloan, the hip, bryan adams, the cure, and billy joel albums are not, the rest are.

      • Oh wow, I thought more of them would have been on it… even the Billy Joel charity shop one!

      • The Stranger’s on the 1001 (and deservedly so!) – and if greatest hits were permitted, that vol 1 & 2 is a gem!

  7. Did NOT expect to see The Darkness!!!!

    ANOTHER vote for the White Album, I see I’m in good company.

    • And it’s my only post-2000 album, but what fun! I have to admit I don’t always listen as an album as I frequently have it on in the car with my daughters – so we hear Friday Night a lot more than Get Your Hands off my woman!

  8. I think so far this is the most complete list of participants, feel free to copy all the links: http://mikeladano.com/2015/09/15/433-top-15-on-the-15th/

  9. Nice work! I have just finished my own list and there is some definite crossover. I’m particularly curious about the Beatles white album (know plenty of the songs but never actually listened to it properly) and Sloan (I’ve noticed that you’ve mentioned them quite a few times but I don’t know if I’ve ever heard anything by them before). Hope to check them out soon!

    • Fantastic Andy!
      I’m excited to see where we overlap – and yes, cannot reccommend those 2 highly enough. It’s interesting, the beatles definitely had stronger singles than those found on the white album, but as a package it just works magnificently

  10. Couple of interesting choices in there, Geoff. Particularly like 7, 5, 4, 3 and 2. The Beach Boys missed out an appearance on my own list cause I couldn’t locate my CD! It’s lost (or someone has it … it’s been stolen!)

    • Stolen Pet Sounds, to quote Weezer, Say it ain’t so!
      Thanks J – the mid 90s were wonderful weezer/radiohead years!

      • Mid 90s rocked, Geoff!

        … I searched high and low for Pet Sounds – someone’s definitely ‘knocked it’, as they say.

  11. After reading your post on this topic, I made my own Top 15 list. It’ll be fun reading all the lists and adding new music to my “must listen to list”.

    • Awesome Quirky T – I look forward to your Top 15, I’m guessing the Beatles may make at least 1 appearance!

  12. I’m totally breaking my social media fast….

    I love your list! Of course I do, you have both the Radiohead album and the Smiths album I couldn’t fit on my list. And Pinkerton, my favorite Weezer! And Glass Houses!

    Most excellent list, sir. Awesomesauce.

    • Haha, if a social media fast has to be broken, sourgirl I’m glad you chose today!
      Many, many thanks – I picked up the Glass Houses LP years ago for $3 and wow, I’ve got my money’s worth!
      I had pinkerton on this week, what a record. And if I may say, your list would definitely be awesomesauce in my books!

  13. ‘ My gateway to Moz… ‘ – Quick seal it up, sprinkle holy water over it and walk away!!

  14. Really cool list btw Geoff, I so rarely listen to OK Computer these days and it is such a great LP.

    • Many thanks Joe, when I hear those opening notes of Airbag, my day gets quantifiably better – glad to hear you’re a fellow wild mood swings enthusiast too!

  15. Awesome Geoff….Glass Houses is a classic! So good to see that one listed ….still to this day the only Billy album I own! Weezers Blue album like I say is a 37 minute ass kicker! Darkness man imgotta Dig that one out! …
    Great,stuff brother!

  16. Some parallels in our list, eh? The Hip, Sloan, Smiths…a fine list, indeed!

  17. “Each is an HMO favourite” — TRUE! Hahah!

  18. Greg permalink

    I really like your list, we have a couple in common. The rest are very near my top 15 as well.

    • I’d like to think it’s great minds thinking alike as opposed to fools seldom differing – thanks for participating Greg!

  19. Well Geoff, I have to say this was a lot of fun. I think we should look for another excuse to do a big multi-site event, in a couple months. There was a lot of interest and I’m sure everybody hits had a spike yesterday! I really, really enjoyed this!

    • I think a sequel (high quality sequel a la Empire Strikes Back, not cash-in sequel a la Speed 2) is definitely called for!

  20. I am with you 100% on 14 of these – great records no dispute – one (and only one)made me twitch a little— it cut like a knife — I keep seeing this dude (I think it was a dude) jumping in a pool with no water, it plays on a loop in my head—–oh no and 80’s flashback! ok – I am good it stopped now.
    Great job Geoff!

    • Thanks Wayne!
      Even though you’re not a fan of his, I’m glad your song-title-filled comments were still ‘straight from the heart!’

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 15 On The 15th | keepsmealive
  2. Fifteen on the Fifteenth: Favourite Albums | Resurrection Songs
  3. Top 15 on the 15th | Nick Green's Reviews
  4. Top 15 on the 15th: | KingcrimsonBlog - The official Blog of Kingcrimsonprog
  5. My Favourite 15 Albums on the 16th | All You Need Is The Beatles
  6. Top 15 On The 15th | Tangled Up In Music
  7. My Top 15 Albums Of All Time | Living a Beautiful Life
  8. My Top Fifteen Autobiographical Albums | Of Opinions

Leave a Reply

